Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-24-2021, 12:29 PM
js_nyc js_nyc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 154
Default Thunderbolt Native Card/16 I/O not a Playback Engine Option

Hello all,
Working with a client- configuration:iMac 2013/Catalina/Thunderbolt Native Card to/from 16 I/O. System was "working" when client re-arranged his PT Aggregate I/O to the 16 I/O. I quoted "working" because even though the Outputs were operable, he could never get the low-latency Inputs to perform properly. He upgraded to PT 2021.12 and enlisted my services. On a remote call, I had him download and install the current HD Drivers, Restart, then reinstall PT 2021.12. Even though it shows up in the System Preferences as a Sound Option, it does not show up as a Playback Engine option in Pro Tools. I then deleted the altered PT Aggregate I/O Audio Device and then set up the HD Thunderbolt Native card. Restart/relaunch with same results. Quit/Restart computer and ran DigiTest on the card. It passed with no known issues. Please let me know if anyone has any other options. Thanks.
__________________
js_nyc
15" Macbook Pro (Mid 2012) 2.3 GHz Intel Core i7
16G Memory
PT 10.3.11/ 12.5.2
003 Rack
OSX 10.8.5
ProToolsConsultant.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-24-2021, 02:56 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 16,419
Default Re: Thunderbolt Native Card/16 I/O not a Playback Engine Option

Did your client realize that Pro Tools won't work with the CoreAudio HD driver directly or with an aggregate device? Not intended to. You have to use the HD device as the playback engine. Or were they trying to use a different DAW? In which case those DAWs won't know anything about the low-latency HD Native mixer (it that's what is meant by low-latency, I might be misunderstanding that).
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-25-2021, 05:24 PM
raypiasecki raypiasecki is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2021
Location: Escondido
Posts: 26
Default Re: Thunderbolt Native Card/16 I/O not a Playback Engine Option

ok im no expert, but I thought of this and I would like to post to see if u can try some things to get this working. good luck
try allowing microphone access to your Pro Tools app in these steps
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-25-2021, 05:25 PM
raypiasecki raypiasecki is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2021
Location: Escondido
Posts: 26
Default Re: Thunderbolt Native Card/16 I/O not a Playback Engine Option

from what I understand CoreAudio is an operating system level framework that allows macOS applications to access audio/microphone devices via macOS calls for devices in Audio/MIDI Setup. in macOS this is called, 'allow access to microphone'
what, I 'think', I am not experienced in this, is that any device assigned a device property in Audio Midi Setup in macOS can be used as a playback engine in Pro Tools, including Aggregates, once the 'allow access to microphone', as described above is enabled. I think this is because the macOS framework handles the drivers and lets Pro Tools, or in our case macOS applications/Pro Tools, use operating system calls to use audio devices via Audio MIDI Mapper. macOS handles these calls and it is the application's responsibility to use them to their own usage. this is why we get bugs and crashes.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-25-2021, 05:26 PM
raypiasecki raypiasecki is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2021
Location: Escondido
Posts: 26
Default Re: Thunderbolt Native Card/16 I/O not a Playback Engine Option

from what I understand so far, is you can make multiple Aggregates for different hardware, and I/Os in your case, with other devices. what this can allow you to do is save a preferences file from pro tools and keep it and load it when you use a specific aggregate. why do this? say you have a live rig, and a studio rig. you can simply switch the playback engine and load the preferences for that aggregate when you are using a different setup.

I appreciate everyone in the community who has helped me as well and I will do my best to provide knowledgeable information and help others at my best
-Raymond
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-25-2021, 09:14 PM
raypiasecki raypiasecki is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2021
Location: Escondido
Posts: 26
Default Re: Thunderbolt Native Card/16 I/O not a Playback Engine Option

How to allow microphone access on Mac
On your Mac, choose Apple menu > System Preferences.
Click Security & Privacy.
Choose the Privacy tab.
Select Microphone.
Check the box next to the app to allow it to access your microphone.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-26-2021, 08:04 AM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 38,161
Default Re: Thunderbolt Native Card/16 I/O not a Playback Engine Option

Quote:
Originally Posted by raypiasecki View Post
How to allow microphone access on Mac
On your Mac, choose Apple menu > System Preferences.
Click Security & Privacy.
Choose the Privacy tab.
Select Microphone.
Check the box next to the app to allow it to access your microphone.
I can see you want to help, but please stop posting multiples of the same thing, or "test". Its not helping. As someone that is new to the DUC, I suggest you do lots of reading here and refrain from posting until you get a feel for how things work here(as well as a feel for proper etiquette in this environment)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-27-2021, 08:24 AM
js_nyc js_nyc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 154
Default Re: Thunderbolt Native Card/16 I/O not a Playback Engine Option

Hello everyone. Thanks for your possible solution suggestions. I have tried everything mentioned and still in the Pro Tools Playback Engine window, there is no HD Native Thunderbolt option. I checked the version of the HD Driver, which is current. I do not think he uninstalled the previous driver when upgrading, but the new driver usually writes over the previous version (unless specified). Anyway, the Microphone Permissions had been established when I checked. As far as I knew, the PT Aggregate I/O was only designed to work with the internal Audio card on the Mac. The Thunderbolt HD Native driver would have the sophistication to access the features on the Native card. So for the Inputs, it would have access to all 16 channels both in the Low Latency domain as well as Delay Compensation on the output side, when not recording or overdubbing. From what I recall when I was testing Pro Tools from the PT Aggregate I/O my client "altered", the Low Latency Monitoring option was not accessible. As today is Monday here, I would appreciate some additional advice and/or an AVID Moderator's input. Thanks again.
__________________
js_nyc
15" Macbook Pro (Mid 2012) 2.3 GHz Intel Core i7
16G Memory
PT 10.3.11/ 12.5.2
003 Rack
OSX 10.8.5
ProToolsConsultant.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-27-2021, 01:48 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 16,419
Default Re: Thunderbolt Native Card/16 I/O not a Playback Engine Option

The story here does not really make sense. Again was your client using aggregate IO with a different DAW or what exactly? What exactly are you trying to get to?

Did you try to use the built-in HD drivers? There is a lot of hassles with HD drivers on recent macOS releases. I'd look over those. If this has been going on for a while have you folks got Avid support involved?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-27-2021, 01:52 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,988
Default Re: Thunderbolt Native Card/16 I/O not a Playback Engine Option

Darryl is trying to explain that if you have HDN, you forget Aggregate, install HD drivers, and there you go. Simple. But you do need Ultimate software (and DigiLink license) for it.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT 2021.7- iMac Catalina- Thunderbolt HD Native grayed out as Playback Engine Option js_nyc Pro Tools 8 11-20-2021 08:16 PM
HD native thunderbolt with thunderbolt card on desktop PC? martthie_08 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 9 10-12-2016 10:26 PM
PT 10 & 11 HD Native Thunderbolt not recognised as default Playback Engine aperez Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 7 07-26-2015 07:41 AM
No HD Native option in Playback Engine select ronstephens Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 9 07-02-2015 09:16 AM
Trade hd native PCIe card for hd native thunderbolt card and cash? Brandonx1 Buy & Sell 8 03-22-2015 01:45 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:52 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com