Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #811  
Old 06-24-2022, 04:44 PM
kings79's Avatar
kings79 kings79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 270
Default Re: New "Mac Studio" from Apple

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Carnes View Post
Just ignore us. This is one of those early parts of the discussion where we can actually bring data to bear. And it may not be of particular interest to you. I'm looking forward to reports from people who've done a 2500-track job locked to 4K video. That's just as important to a full understanding of how mixers/editors are affected by this very radical architectural change. None of us on this thread are 'typical' users, whatever that might mean.
It's just a small portion of what people are doing with these new Mac Studios taking up alot of space and 'power'...
__________________
Re-Recording Mixer/Sound Designer
Sydney Australia
----------------------------------------
OS Monterey
ProTools Ultimate 2022.4
Presonus Quantum 4848
Mac Studio M1 10 Core, 64gig RAM
Sonnet Echo dual NVMe TB Dock
Blackmagic Decklink 3G
Reply With Quote
  #812  
Old 06-24-2022, 04:56 PM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 3,605
Default Re: New "Mac Studio" from Apple

Quote:
Originally Posted by kings79 View Post
Maybe you guys need a new thread about VI's/RAM/ARM/MacOS?
Speaking as the co-OP of this thread, this type of data is precisely what I was hoping to gather and quite useful as I'm setting up the new computer. The thread is bound to migrate as it has, from "what will this new machine be" to "which should I buy" to "how do I best set this thing up" to "hey, why is it doing that?"
Reply With Quote
  #813  
Old 06-24-2022, 05:11 PM
Michael Carnes's Avatar
Michael Carnes Michael Carnes is offline
Development Partner
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Salt Lake Valley
Posts: 243
Default Re: New "Mac Studio" from Apple

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marsdy View Post
I tried decreasing the Kontakt preload buffer from the default 60KB to 24KB and it didn’t seem to adversely affect streaming performance much...
I just went back to the mix and cut my preload size in half. I couldn't hear any glitches and got back about 12 GB from the original 50-ish. That's a reduction of nearly 25%--not exactly tiny. I could probably take it down more, but I've really heard this mix enough for now.
Reply With Quote
  #814  
Old 06-24-2022, 05:16 PM
kings79's Avatar
kings79 kings79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 270
Default Re: New "Mac Studio" from Apple

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric Lambert View Post
Speaking as the co-OP of this thread, this type of data is precisely what I was hoping to gather and quite useful as I'm setting up the new computer. The thread is bound to migrate as it has, from "what will this new machine be" to "which should I buy" to "how do I best set this thing up" to "hey, why is it doing that?"
Co-OP? No. OffTheWall was the OP. You commented 8min after his OP...

It was just a general discussion about the machine.

Gather away Eric..
__________________
Re-Recording Mixer/Sound Designer
Sydney Australia
----------------------------------------
OS Monterey
ProTools Ultimate 2022.4
Presonus Quantum 4848
Mac Studio M1 10 Core, 64gig RAM
Sonnet Echo dual NVMe TB Dock
Blackmagic Decklink 3G
Reply With Quote
  #815  
Old 06-24-2022, 05:36 PM
Michael Carnes's Avatar
Michael Carnes Michael Carnes is offline
Development Partner
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Salt Lake Valley
Posts: 243
Default Re: New "Mac Studio" from Apple

There was a general sentiment offered perhaps 3000 posts back on this thread. And that was basically to buy as much computer as you could practically afford. Some of the reasons for that are obvious: future-proofing and all that. But there's another reason that's rarely remarked on, and that's lost time in setting up a new computer. Even if you've kept a task-specific machine it's pretty easy for a complete port to take a week or two. The first 90% goes fast, but then it's death by a thousand cuts afterwards.

If you've got a revenue-producing room, then the port can cost you way more in down-time than popping down some more money at purchase. And if it involves a complete refactoring (moving to-from PCIe, HDX, new CPU architecture, etc) that's not an experience you want to go through any more often than you have to. That probably accounts for the continued prevalence of old 2012 Cheesegraters in some of the biggest facilities around.

I tend to agree with some of the sentiment expressed here and by the shouty guy on the Youtube video. For a huge number of people--folks mixing local bands, TV spots, hobby projects--then an M1 Pro will serve you for many years. But I'm not sure how many of those people are considering a Mac Studio anyway. A MacBook will serve them well and I'm sure will be seeing an up-spec'ed Mini before long.That will be the sweet spot for a lot of people.
Reply With Quote
  #816  
Old 06-24-2022, 05:46 PM
smurfyou smurfyou is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 844
Default Re: New "Mac Studio" from Apple

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Carnes View Post
I just went back to the mix and cut my preload size in half. I couldn't hear any glitches and got back about 12 GB from the original 50-ish. That's a reduction of nearly 25%--not exactly tiny. I could probably take it down more, but I've really heard this mix enough for now.
That is a big reduction. Much more than I would have expected. Good to know.

I'm hoping some day NI will actually improve the performance of Kontakt AAX. It's lagged behind the VST version for years.
__________________
~Will
Reply With Quote
  #817  
Old 06-24-2022, 05:59 PM
kings79's Avatar
kings79 kings79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 270
Default Re: New "Mac Studio" from Apple

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Carnes View Post
There was a general sentiment offered perhaps 3000 posts back on this thread. And that was basically to buy as much computer as you could practically afford. Some of the reasons for that are obvious: future-proofing and all that. But there's another reason that's rarely remarked on, and that's lost time in setting up a new computer. Even if you've kept a task-specific machine it's pretty easy for a complete port to take a week or two. The first 90% goes fast, but then it's death by a thousand cuts afterwards.

If you've got a revenue-producing room, then the port can cost you way more in down-time than popping down some more money at purchase. And if it involves a complete refactoring (moving to-from PCIe, HDX, new CPU architecture, etc) that's not an experience you want to go through any more often than you have to. That probably accounts for the continued prevalence of old 2012 Cheesegraters in some of the biggest facilities around.

I tend to agree with some of the sentiment expressed here and by the shouty guy on the Youtube video. For a huge number of people--folks mixing local bands, TV spots, hobby projects--then an M1 Pro will serve you for many years. But I'm not sure how many of those people are considering a Mac Studio anyway. A MacBook will serve them well and I'm sure will be seeing an up-spec'ed Mini before long.That will be the sweet spot for a lot of people.
I agree. You should buy as much computer as you can afford. Your last paragraph is just plain incorrect. I'm mixing 5.1 Shows with hundreds and hundreds of tracks. Same as the article I posted above...

All I'm saying. And I'm saying this for the final time.

The Ultra costs twice as much as the Max. You DO NOT get twice the net gain when you use Pro Tools on an Ultra.

I'm not a coder. In not making videos. I'm not using any VI's I'm a Audio Post Pro. If you're using 1000 VI's or making videos. Get the Ultra. If your recording and mixing music or a audio post Pro like me get the Max.

It's simple math. You just don't get twice the performance with PT on the Ultra now and in the short to medium term. Same as you don't need much more than 64gig of RAM. This has been said over and over again by pro's like the article I posted a page or two back.

There is a tendency to get obsessed with geek bench scores, full nerd out trying to do all this fake math about what uses single core/multicore, load files, test disk speeds & brag about the size of your computer rather than actually going out there being honest with yourself and use these things in a real world way. Because you ain't doing any of that when your using these machines for work or capturing that inspiration. Get real.
__________________
Re-Recording Mixer/Sound Designer
Sydney Australia
----------------------------------------
OS Monterey
ProTools Ultimate 2022.4
Presonus Quantum 4848
Mac Studio M1 10 Core, 64gig RAM
Sonnet Echo dual NVMe TB Dock
Blackmagic Decklink 3G
Reply With Quote
  #818  
Old 06-24-2022, 07:27 PM
Carl Lie Carl Lie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New York City
Posts: 1,220
Default Re: New "Mac Studio" from Apple

I'm not quite sure why this has gotten so far off track. People form opinions form various sources and they state their opinions as well.

There is no such thing as a correct or incorrect opinion!

Maybe it's time to close this one out.

C
__________________
PT 2021.10 HDX 16x24 -Mac Pro 12 Cores 48 GB RAM OS 10.13.6 - API 16 channel - AMS Neve 16 channel, AMS-Neve-SSL -Pres/Processing, Bock Audio, BLUE Bottle, Neumann, Josephson -Mics, Bogner, Kemper- Guitar, Chandler Zener-Curve Bender Outboard/Master. UAudio, Waves, Plugin Alliance etc.
Reply With Quote
  #819  
Old 06-25-2022, 01:31 AM
Marsdy Marsdy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: England
Posts: 2,099
Default Re: New "Mac Studio" from Apple

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Carnes View Post
I just went back to the mix and cut my preload size in half. I couldn't hear any glitches and got back about 12 GB from the original 50-ish. That's a reduction of nearly 25%--not exactly tiny. I could probably take it down more, but I've really heard this mix enough for now.
Ha! Those mixes that won’t go away!

If my memory serves me correctly (pun intended,) the Kontakt default of 60KB was a throwback to the age of “spinning” hard drives. NI have specifically said you can lower it if you’re using SSDs. They also say “ It is not necessary to store your libraries on a separate disk to your operating system.” Given how fast the Mac Studio’s internal storage is, especially above 4TB, it kind of makes sense to use it!
__________________
Dave Marsden
UK
Reply With Quote
  #820  
Old 06-25-2022, 09:49 AM
K Roche's Avatar
K Roche K Roche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wilds of Wyoming
Posts: 1,766
Default Re: New "Mac Studio" from Apple

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carl Lie View Post
I'm not quite sure why this has gotten so far off track. People form opinions form various sources and they state their opinions as well.

There is no such thing as a correct or incorrect opinion!

Maybe it's time to close this one out.

C
Close out Na.... But you are Correct,,, unfortunately there are some who feel their personal opinion "Should be" the guiding criteria for the purchase decisions of others
__________________
System :
Avid Carbon interface , PT Ultimate 2022.5 .....Mid 2020 iMac 27" 3.8GHz 8-core i7 10th Gen processor,,128GB 2666MHz DDR4 memory,,2TB SSD storage,,Radeon Pro 5700 XT with 16GB of GDDR6 memory,, on Monterey 12.4

"Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding" Albert Einstein

Enjoy the Journey
.... Kev...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Complete Recording Studio FOR SALE! Pro Toold Hd2 Accel, C24, Apple, Mogami, etc... sketchellis Buy & Sell 15 05-06-2013 06:27 PM
apple-m "mute region" clash with finder apple-m "minimize" wez 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 06-12-2007 05:19 AM
2 Power-Mac's on 1 Apple Studio Display? Optimus Prime 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 11-02-2004 01:11 PM
Has anyone had this problem with their Apple Studio Display? peter parker 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 09-29-2002 12:55 AM
Please advise on best setting on Apple Studio Display LCD Flatscreens - going blind! Jules Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 05-05-2001 12:54 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:48 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com