Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools | Carbon

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-24-2022, 09:50 AM
CHRIS AIKEN CHRIS AIKEN is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: WARSAW POLAND
Posts: 479
Default Db25 Inputs / Line

I was wondering if the db25 inputs (switching to “line”, no external preamps) is the same quality as using the xlr inputs and having it set to “mic”.

It’s more convenient for me cable wise but I want to make sure there’s no difference in quality.

Thanks!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Hackintosh 3.6 GHz 8 Core Intel Core i9 - 12.4 Monterey -32 gigs Ram - Carbon - Protools 2022.6 Ultimate
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-24-2022, 09:55 AM
dominicperry dominicperry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 447
Default Re: Db25 Inputs / Line

Line the same as Mic. No.
Line in the same as DB25 line in. Yes.
Look in the manual, page 42-43. Specifications cover both DB25 and TRS as the same thing.
Line "True Bypass" (also available on both DB25 and TRS) gives you 1dB better SNR and 1dB better dynamic range. Good luck with hearing that.

Dominic
__________________
MacBookPro M1Max 16" 10/32 64GB 2TB, Monterey 12.5, Pro Tools 2022.7, Carbon.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-24-2022, 04:28 PM
CHRIS AIKEN CHRIS AIKEN is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: WARSAW POLAND
Posts: 479
Default Re: Db25 Inputs / Line

Quote:
Originally Posted by dominicperry View Post
Line the same as Mic. No.
Line in the same as DB25 line in. Yes.
Look in the manual, page 42-43. Specifications cover both DB25 and TRS as the same thing.
Line "True Bypass" (also available on both DB25 and TRS) gives you 1dB better SNR and 1dB better dynamic range. Good luck with hearing that.

Dominic

Interesting, I’m used to no gain boost on line ins. On the db25 connectors they give the same amount of adjustable gain as the “mic” setting. (50db I think).

That’s why I asked, it seems to function the same as using the mic setting.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Hackintosh 3.6 GHz 8 Core Intel Core i9 - 12.4 Monterey -32 gigs Ram - Carbon - Protools 2022.6 Ultimate
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-27-2022, 10:55 AM
musiczebra79 musiczebra79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2022
Location: Huntington
Posts: 1
Default Re: Db25 Inputs / Line

Did some drum recording the other coming in to the line inputs of the carbon from my console, sounded great
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-29-2022, 08:43 AM
K Roche's Avatar
K Roche K Roche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wilds of Wyoming
Posts: 1,766
Default Re: Db25 Inputs / Line

Quote:
Originally Posted by CHRIS AIKEN View Post
Interesting, I’m used to no gain boost on line ins. On the db25 connectors they give the same amount of adjustable gain as the “mic” setting. (50db I think).

That’s why I asked, it seems to function the same as using the mic setting.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Well they both spec 60 db But I am a bit confused are you asking if Line in via the combi connectors is going to be noticeably better than with the DB 25 connections ?... I am thinking the quality would be the more or less same

I use the DB25's for my external HW effects ( a stereo reverb and a 2 channel compressor). BUT I have those DB 25 channels set to +4 and "True Bypass" and set the gain on the HW units themselves
__________________
System :
Avid Carbon interface , PT Ultimate 2022.5 .....Mid 2020 iMac 27" 3.8GHz 8-core i7 10th Gen processor,,128GB 2666MHz DDR4 memory,,2TB SSD storage,,Radeon Pro 5700 XT with 16GB of GDDR6 memory,, on Monterey 12.4

"Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding" Albert Einstein

Enjoy the Journey
.... Kev...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-30-2022, 04:27 AM
CHRIS AIKEN CHRIS AIKEN is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: WARSAW POLAND
Posts: 479
Default Re: Db25 Inputs / Line

Quote:
Originally Posted by K Roche View Post
Well they both spec 60 db But I am a bit confused are you asking if Line in via the combi connectors is going to be noticeably better than with the DB 25 connections ?... I am thinking the quality would be the more or less same

I use the DB25's for my external HW effects ( a stereo reverb and a 2 channel compressor). BUT I have those DB 25 channels set to +4 and "True Bypass" and set the gain on the HW units themselves

Thanks for the reply. I was wondering if using the db25 connectors with a mic plugged in directly (no external preamp) would be the same sound quality as using the combi jacks set to mic.

I tried it finally the other day and it works but isn’t the same quality.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Hackintosh 3.6 GHz 8 Core Intel Core i9 - 12.4 Monterey -32 gigs Ram - Carbon - Protools 2022.6 Ultimate
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-30-2022, 07:58 AM
K Roche's Avatar
K Roche K Roche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wilds of Wyoming
Posts: 1,766
Default Re: Db25 Inputs / Line

Quote:
Originally Posted by CHRIS AIKEN View Post
Thanks for the reply. I was wondering if using the db25 connectors with a mic plugged in directly (no external preamp) would be the same sound quality as using the combi jacks set to mic.

I tried it finally the other day and it works but isn’t the same quality.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Interesting never tried anything like that .
Question
#1 How does one plug a mic directly into a DB 25 ?
__________________
System :
Avid Carbon interface , PT Ultimate 2022.5 .....Mid 2020 iMac 27" 3.8GHz 8-core i7 10th Gen processor,,128GB 2666MHz DDR4 memory,,2TB SSD storage,,Radeon Pro 5700 XT with 16GB of GDDR6 memory,, on Monterey 12.4

"Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding" Albert Einstein

Enjoy the Journey
.... Kev...

Last edited by K Roche; 06-30-2022 at 10:18 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-30-2022, 08:22 AM
dominicperry dominicperry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 447
Default Re: Db25 Inputs / Line

Using a dedicated line in for microphone input is not advisable. Setting aside the lack of phantom power, they are designed to take entirely different signal levels and often have rather different impedances. It's no surprise it didn't sound good.

Dominic
__________________
MacBookPro M1Max 16" 10/32 64GB 2TB, Monterey 12.5, Pro Tools 2022.7, Carbon.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-30-2022, 05:34 PM
CHRIS AIKEN CHRIS AIKEN is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: WARSAW POLAND
Posts: 479
Default Re: Db25 Inputs / Line

Quote:
Originally Posted by K Roche View Post
Interesting never tried anything like that .
Question
#1 How does one plug a mic directly into a DB 25 ?

I have a db25 to xlr snake.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Hackintosh 3.6 GHz 8 Core Intel Core i9 - 12.4 Monterey -32 gigs Ram - Carbon - Protools 2022.6 Ultimate
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-08-2022, 08:09 PM
Bookerv12 Bookerv12 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: No fixed address
Posts: 888
Default Re: Db25 Inputs / Line

Uuuugh?....
Lots of basic signal flow/routing/levels misunderstanding in this thread....
__________________
bookerv12
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Avid DigiSnake 12 ft. DB25 to DB25 Cable (9940-29651-00) TVPostSound Buy & Sell 0 03-27-2017 12:14 PM
DB25 Male to DB25 Female Ext. Cable Barry Johns Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 11 06-12-2016 11:30 AM
How do I utilize the Line inputs when all my XLR inputs are being used? 007audio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 09-23-2009 08:21 PM
Mic/Line and Line inputs on Mbox2 Pro DAT11 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 12-16-2007 08:06 PM
Control 24 Pin Out For DB25 "Line Out" Kevin101 ICON & C|24 2 01-31-2003 09:56 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:32 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com