Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 06-23-2022, 03:08 PM
innerbooty innerbooty is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 245
Default Re: Dumb question - Can I run PT Ultimate on a Macbook Pro?

The thing is, I'm looking for a cheap, temporary solution for the summer, so paying $375 for a 2015 MB Pro with internal SSD and 16GB RAM I might grab tomorrow is just right. Any M1 machine is outside of what I want to pay for now. And since it's just audiobook/podcast editing, should be fine - hopefully...?
__________________
--------------------------------------------
2009 Mac Pro 5,1, PT 2021.3.1, HDX, Mojave, RX 560, Apogee AD/DA-16X, HD I/O 8x8
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-23-2022, 05:33 PM
seanmccoy seanmccoy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 619
Default Re: Dumb question - Can I run PT Ultimate on a Macbook Pro?

Quote:
Originally Posted by innerbooty View Post
The thing is, I'm looking for a cheap, temporary solution for the summer, so paying $375 for a 2015 MB Pro with internal SSD and 16GB RAM I might grab tomorrow is just right. Any M1 machine is outside of what I want to pay for now. And since it's just audiobook/podcast editing, should be fine - hopefully...?
You'll be fine. I use my 2012 MBP for all location recording, up to 20 or more simultaneous tracks for a continuous hour and it's never even broken a sweat. I don't mix on it much, but when I've had to do medium-sized post work on it while travelling, again, no problem whatsoever, even when utilizing fairly high plugin count.
__________________
Custom i9-12900K, 64GB RAM, W10 Pro, PT Ultimate 2022.5, HD Native, OMNI, Digi 192, UAD-2 Octo; Mac Pro 12-core 3.46, 64GB RAM, Mojave, Logic Pro 10.5.1, Apogee Rosetta 800, UAD-2 Quad, MOTU 2408 Mk II: MBP mid-2012, 16GB RAM, Mojave, MOTU 8-Pre-ES, Pro Tools 2021.7
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-24-2022, 06:57 AM
daeron80 daeron80 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 3,996
Default Re: Dumb question - Can I run PT Ultimate on a Macbook Pro?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dominicperry View Post
My 2015 i7 MBP [snipi] Fans would come on and stay on.
Yes! That is an important point that I'd forgotten about. A 2015 MBP will be fine if you only use it in an environment that stays below 75 F while you're working. I was in Oxford, England during their heat wave in a Airbnb with no AC. I had to buy extra ice trays and keep bowls of ice near the air intakes on both sides all afternoon to keep it running. That was with one audio track with EQ, compression, and de-essing. For a couple days, I had to switch to working at night, though it was almost impossible to sleep during the day when it was over 80 in the flat. So do take that into consideration.
__________________
David J. Finnamore

PT 2022.6 Ultimate | Omni | macOS 12.4 on a MacBook Pro M1 Max
PT 2022.5 | Saffire Pro 40 | Win10 latest, HP Z440 64GB
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-24-2022, 07:10 AM
innerbooty innerbooty is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 245
Default Re: Dumb question - Can I run PT Ultimate on a Macbook Pro?

Hmmm, that fan / overheating issue doesn't sound too good!

I'd be open to thoughts for the best value vintage of used Macbook Pro to run basic PT sessions...
__________________
--------------------------------------------
2009 Mac Pro 5,1, PT 2021.3.1, HDX, Mojave, RX 560, Apogee AD/DA-16X, HD I/O 8x8
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-24-2022, 07:21 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 16,403
Default Re: Dumb question - Can I run PT Ultimate on a Macbook Pro?

This is the reason "disable turbo boost" was added to Pro Tools 2021.6 on Mac/Intel platforms. Presumably this description was prior to that. Without disabling Turbo boost these things can be horrible.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video Playback Question - PT Ultimate 2022 on MacBook Pro M1 Pro/Max sheinke Post - Surround - Video 2 06-15-2022 05:35 AM
Ultimate portable solution? macbook pro vs. air tonejunkee 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 17 01-03-2011 12:22 AM
General Venue Automation Question - (Maybe dumb question) TwoPort VENUE Live Sound Systems 5 12-21-2007 02:41 PM
One more dumb question, please help! nycoach 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 09-16-2006 04:59 PM
Dumb question, help anyone :) Ssaidvox1 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 04-26-2001 02:43 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:09 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com