Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-27-2018, 02:46 AM
mikeyman's Avatar
mikeyman mikeyman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: L.A.
Posts: 640
Default Avid Crane Song - Phoenix II

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QY7qxEt2ff8

I believe Avid sells this one
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-28-2018, 09:06 PM
mikeyman's Avatar
mikeyman mikeyman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: L.A.
Posts: 640
Default Re: Avid Crane Song - Phoenix II

any guys or girls using this plugin.If so do you use it on the mix buss or on tracks...
I'd like to have it I think
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-29-2018, 04:10 AM
elicious elicious is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,385
Default Re: Avid Crane Song - Phoenix II

In much the same way that amp sims don't sounds much like amps,
(at least when driven hard),
have yet to find a tape sim that feels much “like tape”.
But the Phoenix II is the closest thing I have yet found that sounds “tape like”,
at least when it comes to saturating fizzy dirty DI’d guitars tracks that we receive from other studios.

Either own, or have demoed every similar saturator out there,
and to my ears this is the only one that performs in a way
that reminds me of rust coated plastic.

Still, only use it on a track by track basis, not busses,
as just mentioned in another thread,
still prefer to send mixes out to one of the decks.
__________________
ihatetyping
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-29-2018, 08:16 AM
Stephen Bond's Avatar
Stephen Bond Stephen Bond is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,475
Default Re: Avid Crane Song - Phoenix II

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=395424

Stephen
__________________
Mac mini M1 2020 16Gb Memory- 256Gb Storage, Big Sur, Pro Tools 2021.10, Focusrite Scarlett 2i2

Save an additional 10% off any purchase at Waves!

https://www.waves.com/r/9zsnwd
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-30-2018, 12:10 AM
mikeyman's Avatar
mikeyman mikeyman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: L.A.
Posts: 640
Default Re: Avid Crane Song - Phoenix II

Quote:
Originally Posted by elicious View Post
In much the same way that amp sims don't sounds much like amps,
(at least when driven hard),
have yet to find a tape sim that feels much “like tape”.
But the Phoenix II is the closest thing I have yet found that sounds “tape like”,
at least when it comes to saturating fizzy dirty DI’d guitars tracks that we receive from other studios.

Either own, or have demoed every similar saturator out there,
and to my ears this is the only one that performs in a way
that reminds me of rust coated plastic.

Still, only use it on a track by track basis, not busses,
as just mentioned in another thread,
still prefer to send mixes out to one of the decks.
oh track by track I always thought it was a mix buss type unit.Did you ever demo the ''Tape'' plug by Softube
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-03-2021, 08:26 AM
johnsimmons johnsimmons is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Londinium
Posts: 289
Default Re: Avid Crane Song - Phoenix II

anyone been able to use this on an M1 Mac mini as yet? I have Protools stop mid boot up when it's in the plugin folder. 1.9.2 version (latest) and pt 2021.6
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-30-2021, 11:46 AM
danik danik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 46
Default Re: Avid Crane Song - Phoenix II

Nope, same problem here with a MacBook Pro M1
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-04-2021, 11:18 PM
rhysesthesis rhysesthesis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5
Default Re: Avid Crane Song - Phoenix II

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnsimmons View Post
anyone been able to use this on an M1 Mac mini as yet? I have Protools stop mid boot up when it's in the plugin folder. 1.9.2 version (latest) and pt 2021.6
Same problem here too, on the M1 MBP. Major bummer, it's still one of the most useful tape-is plugins out there, I'd love to be able to use it again. Maybe we should all hit up Dave at his Crane Song email and respectfully ask for a bug fix?

Been using IK Multimedia Tape Machine 80 and 24 in the meantime, committing on tracks that really benefit from it (most things - those plugins sound incredible, but especially on vocals, drums, bass, piano VSTs) and they sound incredible but it's just not the same For one thing they're a lot more heavy handed than the good ol Crane Song plug.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-01-2021, 08:33 PM
redhotnate redhotnate is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 21
Default Re: Avid Crane Song - Phoenix II

Darn... I bought this while it was on sale recently, and still no luck with my M1 Mac Mini. I hope Dave gets an update out soon. Has anyone heard anything from him recently?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-01-2021, 11:31 PM
danik danik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 46
Default Re: Avid Crane Song - Phoenix II

I got an answer yesterday, he is aware of that problem and trying to geht that sorted out soon…
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB: Crane Song Phoenix II TrentWilliams Buy & Sell 2 03-29-2018 07:46 PM
Crane Song Phoenix II and Avid Heat Digitaliz Buy & Sell 2 11-27-2016 07:31 PM
WTB Crane Song Phoenix AAX Boombatty Buy & Sell 2 09-27-2016 06:06 PM
FS: Avid Revibe II & Crane Song Phoenix II AAX StymphalianProductions Buy & Sell 1 06-24-2016 04:38 PM
FS:Crane Song Phoenix and Phoenix II Digitaliz Buy & Sell 1 08-22-2013 01:30 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:12 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com