Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-06-2010, 09:18 AM
quadraphonics quadraphonics is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 411
Default Server based iLok authentication?

All,

I need to find a way to protect/secure iLoks in a medium sized Post Production facility. We have several pro tools systems, each of these systems has two to three iLoks that need to be with the system (ie, ProTools, Waves,etc) as well as a few that need to move from station to station as needed (Dolby/DTS encoders, Pro Logic encoders, etc).

I was looking at something like this: http://www.seh-technology.com/produc...le-server.html

My hope with this, or something like it, is that the editor can long on to our network, pull the license that he needs and not think about having to find whatever iLok that license is on (like how the HASP network license works).
This would also help me make sure that no more of my iLoks go missing .

Randall
__________________
Randall Smith
Audio Editor/Mixer
Starz Entertainment Group
Denver, CO
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-06-2010, 09:37 AM
amorlando amorlando is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Suburbia
Posts: 33
Default Re: Server based iLok authentication?

that hardware looks pretty cool. I dont have any experience with that but we do lock our iLoks down pretty hard.

you can physically lock (mini pad-locks) the non mobile iLoks inside the tower. lock the tower and run the usb through an unused PCI slot and physically lock the handle of the iLok to something sturdy inside. and the wandering iLok should be locked in a drawer between uses and last guy with it, bought it when it goes missing. should clear that up pretty quickly.
__________________
Studio Troll
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-06-2010, 10:25 AM
quadraphonics quadraphonics is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 411
Default Re: Server based iLok authentication?

Thanks..I know that I could put USB hubs inside each of the computers and be OK. I do like the idea however of having all of the iLoks in one place. I can't be the only person looking for this kind of thing. I am a little surprised that iLok themselves don't offer something akin to this for larger studio applications.

Randall
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-06-2010, 10:27 AM
diamondschwin diamondschwin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Nashville/NYC
Posts: 476
Default Re: Server based iLok authentication?

Seems pretty cool, but there is no Mac client software that I can see... big bummer.
__________________
Max Holland
Producer / Re-Recording Mixer
Nashville / NYC

MKD Creative

HOBO Audio
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-06-2010, 11:39 AM
FajitaTone FajitaTone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,239
Default Re: Server based iLok authentication?

Put a hubcap on the iLok, like a gas station rest room key.

It's kind of a shame that there is no Mac client for that box. It's a very cool concept. I could see not having a "floating" iLok with it. You'd just have the client machine connect to the iLoks that have the licenses needed for the session, and and they all stay locked up.
__________________
Ray Trujillo
Freelance Audio Engineer
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-06-2010, 11:56 AM
quadraphonics quadraphonics is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 411
Default Re: Server based iLok authentication?

I have an email into the company to see if there is any progress on a Mac client/server.

Another idea I had was to get RFID or some type of GPS tags and a location based reader to track them.

It seems a bit over kill, but when you have 30 or so iLoks to keep track of...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-06-2010, 04:22 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Server based iLok authentication?

there would need to be some kind of interrupt/redirect for this to work

interesting...
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Missing iLok Authentication upon loading pro tools 10.3.x CottersJ macOS 7 08-14-2013 06:05 PM
iLok Authentication Problem jbisirri Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 1 03-20-2011 01:10 PM
iLok Authentication codes 440Hz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 06-04-2010 12:29 AM
Files transfered server-server relay still downloaded from remote server Phill Barrett Aspera DigiDelivery 1 03-19-2010 02:58 AM
Recording Server-based audio clips raffaella Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 2 12-29-2006 08:31 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:30 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com