Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 03-29-2022, 07:00 PM

Default Cheapest route to Pro Tools Ultimate

I've been using the standard version of Pro Tools for a few years and I'm finally looking to make the jump to Ultimate for surround mixing, however I'm a little unsure about what I need, and wondering what the cheapest route is.

- With the Digilink I/O License, do I no longer need an avid HDX PCIe card to use a third party interface?

- I'm currently using the Focusrite Scarlett 18i20 interface, which I'm assuming wont work with Ultimate, I've seen a couple people saying the Focusrite Clarett+ works but I'm skeptical. Is the cheapest PT Ultimate compatible interface the Red8line?

- If i go the Red8line route, Im assuming I would need the Focusrite PCIe Dante card, but I'm using a hackintosh with a z390 Vision D motherboard, has anyone had any issues connecting these to hackintosh?

- Finally, I'm hoping to only get the Ultimate subscription on a monthly basis when needed, so I would like to keep my current perpetual license, however, I've seen people post in this forum that your perpetual license disappears as soon as you get a subscription. Might be a long shot, but if I got a 2nd iLok and created a separate account for the Ultimate subscription, would this be possible?

I appreciate anyones input!
Old 03-29-2022, 09:51 PM

Default Re: Cheapest route to Pro Tools Ultimate

Quote:
Originally Posted by jason_1995 View Post
I've been using the standard version of Pro Tools for a few years and I'm finally looking to make the jump to Ultimate for surround mixing, however I'm a little unsure about what I need, and wondering what the cheapest route is.