Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-06-2005, 02:28 AM
Loudnoize Ent. Loudnoize Ent. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 485
Default M-Audio Firewire 1814 or Digi 002r?

I'm thinking of getting either another LE w/002 (currently own the MBox) or PT M-P with the Firewire 1814. Has anyone ever used the 1814 with any other software before and how does it compare to the 002 re: Pre's, Latency, Overall Unit?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-06-2005, 02:07 PM
Loudnoize Ent. Loudnoize Ent. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 485
Default Re: M-Audio Firewire 1814 or Digi 002r?

You mean there's been no one?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-06-2005, 05:17 PM
Loudnoize Ent. Loudnoize Ent. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 485
Default Re: M-Audio Firewire 1814 or Digi 002r?

Anyone!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-06-2005, 05:53 PM
danhops danhops is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 62
Default Re: M-Audio Firewire 1814 or Digi 002r?

No experience with either, but I'm taking the plunge on the M-Audio route.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-06-2005, 07:53 PM
edytnbch edytnbch is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 87
Default Re: M-Audio Firewire 1814 or Digi 002r?

does the new pro tools support rewire????
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-06-2005, 07:57 PM
danhops danhops is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 62
Default Re: M-Audio Firewire 1814 or Digi 002r?

Yes it does. Go to the software comparison chart.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-06-2005, 10:19 PM
dissolve dissolve is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 67
Default Re: M-Audio Firewire 1814 or Digi 002r?


Well the Digi 002r will have some more flexibility with interfacing. The Firewire 1814 only has -10 dBu inputs, while the Digi 002r's inputs can be switched from -10 dBu to +4dBu. +4 dBu is essential if you're interfacing with pro gear. The M-Audio Pre's are probably about the same quality as the Focusrite Pres on your Mbox, and M-Audio A/D Conversion is decent. Who knows maybe there will be a shoot out in some of the recording mags in the near future.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-07-2005, 12:13 PM
jonnyc jonnyc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 40
Default Re: M-Audio Firewire 1814 or Digi 002r?

The great thing about having the m-audio gear is that fact that is pro tools mpowered bites you can use any other software you want.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-07-2005, 12:56 PM
The Mighty Burner The Mighty Burner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: NYC
Posts: 447
Default Re: M-Audio Firewire 1814 or Digi 002r?

If you guys are on the Mac platform...be careful.

I had purchased the audiophile firewire interface a few months back after selling my 002r and it was, hands down, the buggiest piece of hardware I have ever encountered.

Not only was it just about impossible to get the device to play nice (or even boot up and work), it routinely crashed my system and even almost rendered one of my firewire drives unusable. I hadn't even installed any DAW.

I shouldn't have known when the unit came with a piece of paper warning, "do not hot plug this firewire device. Hot plugging the device could result in permanent damage to your firewire port or system".

I had to wipe my system clean and do fresh installs of all my hardware/software to get my firewire drive working again and the bugs out of my system. I later heard from a friend at Sweetwater that M-Audio products are notoriously unstable on the Mac platform.

I went out and got an Mbox, and I haven't had one problem since.

I have heard, however, that the M-Audio stuff is rock solid on PCs. Go figure...it's usually the other way around!

Anyways....when I tried, it was pretty obvious that they didn't have their drivers together for the mac...so use caution! Call a dealer and get some feedback...

hope this is usefull....and BTW

...anyone want to buy my M-Audio firewire audiophile?
__________________
The Burner
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
M-Powered and M-audio Firewire 1814? fredfish Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 0 02-17-2009 01:21 PM
003 vs. M-audio firewire 1814 legacygone 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 01-11-2008 07:41 AM
M-audio Firewire 1814 - anyone using it successfully? Richard901 General Discussion 5 05-28-2007 11:26 PM
M-audio Firewire 1814??? sethbrand Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 2 03-13-2007 10:55 PM
002R vs M-Audio 1814 CrAkD 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 08-05-2006 12:41 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:35 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com