Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-30-2009, 03:13 AM
theo_celano theo_celano is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 10
Default macbook pro firewire issues

hi ive got a brand new 15" macbook pro, the problem is it only has one firewire port. i need both my mbox 2 pro and an external hardrive plugged into firewire. i saw it was not recommended to use a USB 2 external hardrive...

what do you suggest? surely there are lots of users using macbook pros

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-30-2009, 04:24 AM
theo_celano theo_celano is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 10
Default Re: macbook pro firewire issues

i didnt search the forums before posting this. sorry
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-30-2009, 07:22 AM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,368
Default Re: macbook pro firewire issues

Search for "daisy chain" for connecting multiple firewire devices.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
MacBookPro14,3 - Intel Core i7 3.1 GHz, 16 GB
MacOS 12.3.1 running Protools 2021.12
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-30-2009, 08:23 AM
bikegerm bikegerm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Nashville
Posts: 4
Default Re: macbook pro firewire issues

Hey Theo... I also have a 15" macbook pro I purchased last march and I'm running a mbox 2 pro. I purchased a sonnet technologies "FireWire/USB ExpressCard/34 (FWUSB2-E34) = $69.95". It has (2) firewire 400 ports and (1) USB port. This way I use the built in firewire 800 port for a firewire 800 hard drive. Then one of the sonnet 400 ports goes to the 400 port on my mbox pro. This way I'm using the 800 port to it's potential and not feeding it the 400 output on the mbox. I also read digi doesn't recommend putting a 400 to 800 cable on the mbox so it put that potential problem to rest.

I'm also running 8.0.3 with Snow Leopard 10.6.2

Later...
Randy
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-30-2009, 10:52 AM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,368
Default Re: macbook pro firewire issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by bikegerm View Post
Hey Theo... I also have a 15" macbook pro I purchased last march and I'm running a mbox 2 pro. I purchased a sonnet technologies "FireWire/USB ExpressCard/34 (FWUSB2-E34) = $69.95". It has (2) firewire 400 ports and (1) USB port. This way I use the built in firewire 800 port for a firewire 800 hard drive. Then one of the sonnet 400 ports goes to the 400 port on my mbox pro. This way I'm using the 800 port to it's potential and not feeding it the 400 output on the mbox. I also read digi doesn't recommend putting a 400 to 800 cable on the mbox so it put that potential problem to rest.

I'm also running 8.0.3 with Snow Leopard 10.6.2

Later...
Randy
The current 15" Macbook Pros do NOT have an ExpressCard slot. Only the 17" model have that now. Previous 15" models (pre unibody I think) did have the ExpressCard slot and both FW400 and FW800 ports too.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
MacBookPro14,3 - Intel Core i7 3.1 GHz, 16 GB
MacOS 12.3.1 running Protools 2021.12
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-30-2009, 01:42 PM
theo_celano theo_celano is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 10
Default Re: macbook pro firewire issues

thanks for the replys. its a massive shame that apple didnt bother with the expresscard slot OR more firewire slots.

has anyone got experience of daisy chaining with this kind of set up? i hope it works ok or ill be seriously upset about shelling out £1200
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-30-2009, 03:56 PM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,368
Default Re: macbook pro firewire issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by theo_celano View Post
thanks for the replys. its a massive shame that apple didnt bother with the expresscard slot OR more firewire slots.

has anyone got experience of daisy chaining with this kind of set up? i hope it works ok or ill be seriously upset about shelling out £1200
Umm, just about every Macbook Pro, IMac, Mac Mini users using a firewire interface for Protools is daisy chaining the hard drive and the interface unless they have a ExpressCard slot for another firewire port. It works. You just might need to get the FW800 (9pin) to FW400 (6 pin)adapter cable.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
MacBookPro14,3 - Intel Core i7 3.1 GHz, 16 GB
MacOS 12.3.1 running Protools 2021.12
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-01-2010, 12:20 PM
theo_celano theo_celano is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 10
Default Re: macbook pro firewire issues

thanks alot for your time, i know this has been covered already but i wanted a bit of confirmation. thanks again
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Macbook/Macbook Pro - No Firewire 400 Obsidian Dragon 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 01-21-2010 02:44 PM
MacBook Pro issues Maars 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 09-28-2009 06:52 PM
MacBook Pro Issues m_atrix13 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 11 09-17-2009 01:55 PM
Issues With New MacBook Pro...! KingAce 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 02-08-2008 04:52 PM
2 Firewire devices.1 firewire port (macbook pro) TBF Entertainment Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 10 09-16-2006 01:28 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:50 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com