Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-09-2023, 09:20 PM
gthm's Avatar
gthm gthm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: NJ/NY
Posts: 242
Default Constant "The installation failed" errors!

It's been a few of days and I get this error every time I try to install something, like plugins, currently. I thought it happened with plugin installers from one company but then saw that it is from all that I've tried.

(LUCKILY I didn't get this error when installing Pro Tools 2022.12! That went smoothly!)

Looked online but the closest thing to my situation is when a macOS installation fails, you get the same error but that is a whole other thing to fix.

This must be simpler, any ideas??

See attachment:
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Cannot install message.jpg (33.9 KB, 0 views)
__________________
Pro Tools 2024.3.1
macOS 14.5
iMac (24-inch, M1, 2021)
(16GB RAM, 1TB SSD internal)
Samsung T7 x a few
Samsung 980 Pro x 2 (in Acasis TB/USB 4 enclosures)
Apogee Ensemble Thunderbolt (my hero)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-09-2023, 10:47 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 19,784
Default Re: Constant "The installation failed" errors!

Systems Settings>Privacy&Security "Allow applications downloads from" needs to be set to "App store and identified developers"

Does your account have admin privileges? Look in the System Settings>Users & Groups panel to make sure.

Is each software package you are trying to install claimed to be compatible with Ventura on an Apple Silicon Mac? Recent macOS versions sure can break some plugin installers.

Hard to know what else might be going on.

Any other errors on this system?

Did the Mac boot to normal multi-user or safe mode? (Do you see red text saying "safe boot" on the screen before you log in?)

Is the drive the Mac is booted on the internal SSD or an external drive? Have you added multiple boot installs on the internal drive? Added APFS containers/volumes there?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-10-2023, 10:29 AM
gthm's Avatar
gthm gthm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: NJ/NY
Posts: 242
Default Re: Constant "The installation failed" errors!

It was something simple, kind of hidden though.

In the new/revised System Settings you can play with some Installer features.

System Settings>Privacy&Security>Files&Folders>Installer> Downloads Folder (ON/OFF)

My "Downloads Folder" was set to OFF for some reason.

Darryl, thanks for always chiming in to help man!

Here is a pic also:
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screenshot 2023-01-10 at 2.18.46 AM.jpg (28.6 KB, 0 views)
__________________
Pro Tools 2024.3.1
macOS 14.5
iMac (24-inch, M1, 2021)
(16GB RAM, 1TB SSD internal)
Samsung T7 x a few
Samsung 980 Pro x 2 (in Acasis TB/USB 4 enclosures)
Apogee Ensemble Thunderbolt (my hero)

Last edited by gthm; 01-10-2023 at 10:30 AM. Reason: c
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-11-2023, 01:52 PM
technerd technerd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 48
Default Re: Constant "The installation failed" errors!

Apple is slowly overdoing it with its security settings.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Application Manager "installation failed because another installation is in progress" bradliff macOS 0 07-02-2015 12:53 PM
"Failed Installation" errors with Application Manager 2.3.3 General Stalin Pro Tools 12 5 05-17-2015 04:21 PM
Installation Failed The installer can't install some files in "/". Dean@mac 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 03-10-2011 12:41 AM
M-Audio Essential 8.0 Installation failed after "Running package scripts" VocalStudio Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 0 12-29-2010 09:59 AM
M-Audio Essential 8.0 Installation failed after "Running package scripts" VocalStudio Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 12-29-2010 09:36 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:09 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com