Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-18-2004, 03:50 PM
Cliffy_Boy's Avatar
Cliffy_Boy Cliffy_Boy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 5,091
Default UA-2-610 with a tube mic

I've got the mic ( ADK TC - thank you Keith) and want to upgrade my Joe Meek to the UA-2-610. Is this too much tube at one time?
__________________
Cliff Stendel
-iMac 5K 32g
-PT12. HDX
-HD I/O 8x8x8. -HD Omni -Avid S3


-API 2500 -API 5500 -UA 2-1176 -UA 2-610
-Neve 1073, Chandler LTD-1 -Eventide H8000FW -Lexicon PCM96
-Bricasti M7. -Joe Meek channel.


-Waves Mercury, Flux all, Softube All, Plugin Alliance all, McDSP all, Sonnox All, MH production, Wave Arts,a bunch more
-Moog Voyager XL, Nord Piano, Hartmann Neuron, ARP Axxe, Gibson Les Paul, Mesa Boogie Roadster, Kemper, Taylor T5 and T5-12
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-18-2004, 04:02 PM
Bastiaan Bastiaan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nederland
Posts: 6,916
Default Re: UA-2-610 with a tube mic

They used it with great result in the good old days (lotsa tubes i mean..not the combo you are talking about).

I dont think you can get too much tubes in your path, especially not when using a G5...

If it is a real tube-device (not the starving tube) then it should be fine IMHO.
__________________
What's that?
- That's the machine that goes "pling".


Bastiaan
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-18-2004, 04:05 PM
lemix's Avatar
lemix lemix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 10,894
Default Re: UA-2-610 with a tube mic

Cliffy,

It's really a personal taste/subjective kind of decision. I'd normally pair tubes with fast, accurate electronics in the preamp.
If you are after a fat, not too responsive attack type of sound...well borrow the UA-2-610 and hear it for yourself. I've never used it...are there options for impedance/tube drive/saturation ??
>>Your Mac is "fast"..so all tubes will be cool... <<
BTW...almost 3K...congrats !
later,
__________________
cheers,
Andrew


W7 pro 64_i7 3930K_16GB_ Nuendo 6.5.4-7.1.3 / PT 12.4 ------Mac Mini OSX Lion_PT 10.xx
Allen&Heath GS R-24M_ full rack of vintage analog boxes _UAD2_Nugen_iZotope_Melda_Waves_Plugin Alliance_DMG and more
2.0 and 5.1 monitoring
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-18-2004, 04:17 PM
Cliffy_Boy's Avatar
Cliffy_Boy Cliffy_Boy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 5,091
Default Re: UA-2-610 with a tube mic

Quote:
especially not when using a G5...

Bastiaan, weren't you in the States when the Mac thread started...and mercifully ended?
__________________
Cliff Stendel
-iMac 5K 32g
-PT12. HDX
-HD I/O 8x8x8. -HD Omni -Avid S3


-API 2500 -API 5500 -UA 2-1176 -UA 2-610
-Neve 1073, Chandler LTD-1 -Eventide H8000FW -Lexicon PCM96
-Bricasti M7. -Joe Meek channel.


-Waves Mercury, Flux all, Softube All, Plugin Alliance all, McDSP all, Sonnox All, MH production, Wave Arts,a bunch more
-Moog Voyager XL, Nord Piano, Hartmann Neuron, ARP Axxe, Gibson Les Paul, Mesa Boogie Roadster, Kemper, Taylor T5 and T5-12
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-18-2004, 04:19 PM
Eddie D Eddie D is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 280
Default Re: UA-2-610 with a tube mic

Im just wandering if it would muddy up the sound? Im not sure what it would sound like. I just heard tubes running into tubes tends to give a muddy sound. I would like to know more about this myself.

Congrats on the MIC!! very sweet
__________________
Who Ever said this would be Easy!!!
www.myspace.com/sightthrusound
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-18-2004, 04:19 PM
Cliffy_Boy's Avatar
Cliffy_Boy Cliffy_Boy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 5,091
Default Re: UA-2-610 with a tube mic

3k - I finally figured it out. My posts have been going up quicker since I've been goofing around on the Mac forum with the easy ones! Starnge forum, the Users are different all the time. No gang like here.
__________________
Cliff Stendel
-iMac 5K 32g
-PT12. HDX
-HD I/O 8x8x8. -HD Omni -Avid S3


-API 2500 -API 5500 -UA 2-1176 -UA 2-610
-Neve 1073, Chandler LTD-1 -Eventide H8000FW -Lexicon PCM96
-Bricasti M7. -Joe Meek channel.


-Waves Mercury, Flux all, Softube All, Plugin Alliance all, McDSP all, Sonnox All, MH production, Wave Arts,a bunch more
-Moog Voyager XL, Nord Piano, Hartmann Neuron, ARP Axxe, Gibson Les Paul, Mesa Boogie Roadster, Kemper, Taylor T5 and T5-12
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-18-2004, 04:21 PM
Cliffy_Boy's Avatar
Cliffy_Boy Cliffy_Boy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 5,091
Default Re: UA-2-610 with a tube mic

Swell - now I've managed to even hijack my own thread
__________________
Cliff Stendel
-iMac 5K 32g
-PT12. HDX
-HD I/O 8x8x8. -HD Omni -Avid S3


-API 2500 -API 5500 -UA 2-1176 -UA 2-610
-Neve 1073, Chandler LTD-1 -Eventide H8000FW -Lexicon PCM96
-Bricasti M7. -Joe Meek channel.


-Waves Mercury, Flux all, Softube All, Plugin Alliance all, McDSP all, Sonnox All, MH production, Wave Arts,a bunch more
-Moog Voyager XL, Nord Piano, Hartmann Neuron, ARP Axxe, Gibson Les Paul, Mesa Boogie Roadster, Kemper, Taylor T5 and T5-12
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-18-2004, 04:29 PM
Bastiaan Bastiaan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nederland
Posts: 6,916
Default Re: UA-2-610 with a tube mic

Being in the states doesnt mean i cannot read the DUC.....they DO have pc's there....you know....

Though they did went a little overboard with soem stuff there...


I wanted to take the METRO to Washington DC from Vienna (wich is strange because i always though Vienna is in Austria...but who am i...), so i parked my car on the carpark and tried to get a smartrip card for $10. Easy job you think? Not in the US. All i had was $20 bills, and the sign said that $20 bills couldnt be used. OK...i go plastic. Mastercard. Accepted worldwide...ok...swiped the card....enter zipcode...i enter 6814 (dutch numerical part of my zipcode/postcode) and it informs me they need 5 numbers. So...i asked the guards who where walking around there. They saiod i need to type in my zipcode. "But i am not a US resident"...grrrrr....so ihad to ask and ask people who walked by to ask if they could change a $20 biill in 2 $10 bills....

Quiting and go back wasnt really an option since i needed this smartrip smartcard pass thingy to get my car out of the parking. No manned exits, so i reallly needed the card.....grrrr.

that's one of my little adventures in the US
__________________
What's that?
- That's the machine that goes "pling".


Bastiaan
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-18-2004, 04:51 PM
lemix's Avatar
lemix lemix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 10,894
Default Re: UA-2-610 with a tube mic

Quote:
Swell - now I've managed to even hijack my own thread
Oohhh..the sure and easy way to rack 'em up ...

Quote:
Starnge forum, the Users are different all the time. No gang like here.
Aha..Cliffy likey the gangy...eh?
Get rid of that fruitbox NOW !!

a
__________________
cheers,
Andrew


W7 pro 64_i7 3930K_16GB_ Nuendo 6.5.4-7.1.3 / PT 12.4 ------Mac Mini OSX Lion_PT 10.xx
Allen&Heath GS R-24M_ full rack of vintage analog boxes _UAD2_Nugen_iZotope_Melda_Waves_Plugin Alliance_DMG and more
2.0 and 5.1 monitoring
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-18-2004, 04:58 PM
lemix's Avatar
lemix lemix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 10,894
Default Re: UA-2-610 with a tube mic

Quote:
Im just wandering if it would muddy up the sound? Im not sure what it would sound like. I just heard tubes running into tubes tends to give a muddy sound. I would like to know more about this myself.

Eddie,
I wouldn't necessarily call it "muddy". That is a wide definition...
A quality mic (Telefunken U47) into a quality pre (Tubetech or Fern) will not sound muddy !!
I was simply mentioning "slow", that is the transient attack description.

cheers,
__________________
cheers,
Andrew


W7 pro 64_i7 3930K_16GB_ Nuendo 6.5.4-7.1.3 / PT 12.4 ------Mac Mini OSX Lion_PT 10.xx
Allen&Heath GS R-24M_ full rack of vintage analog boxes _UAD2_Nugen_iZotope_Melda_Waves_Plugin Alliance_DMG and more
2.0 and 5.1 monitoring
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
presonus tube pre amp "tube" Edson Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 01-19-2007 10:20 AM
ART Tube DPSII Stereo Tube Pre? Matt Whritenour 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 12-26-2003 02:39 PM
Antares Tube vs. Tube MP superbass73 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 01-23-2003 07:19 AM
behringer tube pre or blue tube?? help me ????? dreeam 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 04-25-2001 10:56 PM
2 Tube or not 2 Tube.... Arno Peeters Tips & Tricks 24 01-02-2001 11:02 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:50 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com