Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-27-2021, 10:11 PM
BasilF BasilF is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 35
Default A Strange Problem

Let's say that I create a tune. I work on it. I open up a different track to work things out and then bounce it to the main track. What has started to happen is that the bounced track is three 8th notes behind. Adjusting it is no problem but there's more. In the secondary track, if I bounce it to another track and then bounce that one to the main tune, there is no issue. It shows as being on the 1. I've been using PT since 2005. This is a new one. Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-27-2021, 11:34 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,918
Default Re: A Strange Problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by BasilF View Post
Let's say that I create a tune. I work on it. I open up a different track to work things out and then bounce it to the main track. What has started to happen is that the bounced track is three 8th notes behind. Adjusting it is no problem but there's more. In the secondary track, if I bounce it to another track and then bounce that one to the main tune, there is no issue. It shows as being on the 1. I've been using PT since 2005. This is a new one. Any ideas?
I find this very difficult to understand. It might be because of the way you use the word 'track'. Outside PT 'track' is often used for a song; a track on an album. In PT a track is a instrument, midi, audio, or aux track in a session. also; "bounce into the main tune", what do you mean. Could you clarify please?
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac Mini 2018, six-core 3.2gHz i7, 32 gb RAM.
Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 2nd gen, Dynaudio BM6's, Command|8, SSL UC1.
Pro Tools 2020.11.0.157, Mac OS 10.15.7.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-28-2021, 09:21 AM
BasilF BasilF is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 35
Default Re: A Strange Problem

Thanks for responding. Yea, "track" is confusing. You boot PT. You create a new project. We'll call it project A. You work on it. There may be something that you want to work out, like a solo or orchestration. For that, you create another project. In that one, when I bounce to the original project, it's off by three 8th notes. Yet, in the secondary project, if I bounce it to another track and then bounce THAT track to the original project, it's perfectly aligned on the 1.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-28-2021, 09:32 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,138
Default Re: A Strange Problem

Track is something that has a fader in a mix window. Session is something that has one or more tracks. Project is a session that is stored in the cloud.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-28-2021, 09:33 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,918
Default Re: A Strange Problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by BasilF View Post
Thanks for responding. Yea, "track" is confusing. You boot PT. You create a new project. We'll call it project A. You work on it. There may be something that you want to work out, like a solo or orchestration. For that, you create another project. In that one, when I bounce to the original project, it's off by three 8th notes. Yet, in the secondary project, if I bounce it to another track and then bounce THAT track to the original project, it's perfectly aligned on the 1.
OK.
Are you careful that you select exactly the region that you want to bounce, in both bounce procedures? If you are, I'm out of ideas.

(Actually the term 'project' is also a bit of a problem. Of course we all work on projects all the time, but for those who are using Pro Tools First, it could be a cause for confusion, because: Avid, in their wisdom, decided that they would call the two different types of sessions that PTF can have, is called 'project' - it is stored in the cloud, and 'session' - that is stored on your harddisk.)
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac Mini 2018, six-core 3.2gHz i7, 32 gb RAM.
Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 2nd gen, Dynaudio BM6's, Command|8, SSL UC1.
Pro Tools 2020.11.0.157, Mac OS 10.15.7.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-28-2021, 08:39 PM
Robruce Robruce is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 53
Default Re: A Strange Problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Track is something that has a fader in a mix window. .... snip

Hmmm... check page 217 of the PT 2019 manual.

"Track" and "channel" are almost interchangeable terms, that's why there is some confusion.

This might be a more precise definition;

A "channel," or channel strip is the thing with the fader, it routes incoming and recorded audio and MIDI to and from a "track".

A channel strip also controls an Aux or Master fader instance.

A "track" is the audio or MIDI itself.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-28-2021, 09:03 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,138
Default Re: A Strange Problem

"Channel" is mono input or output. "Channel Strip" is just a marketing name for analog console equivalent of putting EQ and dynamics processing into single plugin.

"Track" also comes from analog world, from the days of us dinosaurs when we recorded audio to magnetic audio tape, thus one "channel" was recorded into a "track" of magnetic data.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-28-2021, 09:06 PM
Robruce Robruce is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 53
Default Re: A Strange Problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
"Channel" is mono input or output. "Channel Strip" is just a marketing name for analog console equivalent of putting EQ and dynamics processing into single plugin.

"Track" also comes from analog world, from the days of us dinosaurs when we recorded audio to magnetic audio tape, thus one "channel" was recorded into a "track" of magnetic data.
Exactly. The track is the data, the channel is the path.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-28-2021, 09:07 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,138
Default Re: A Strange Problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robruce View Post
Exactly. The track is the data, the channel is the path.
Yes, but my oversimplification of "something that has fader" is the representation of the data. Once you have done recording, you can disable the "channel", as in no input to your track.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-28-2021, 09:14 PM
Robruce Robruce is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 53
Default Re: A Strange Problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Yes, but my oversimplification of "something that has fader" is the representation of the data. Once you have done recording, you can disable the "channel", as in no input to your track.
Hence the confusion.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Strange GUI problem jeff markham macOS 2 12-15-2015 10:14 AM
A big and Strange problem! SpecTech macOS 0 12-17-2010 01:13 PM
Strange Problem PT 6.9.1 Russ M. Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 02-17-2007 06:53 AM
Strange Problem--Please help jessmador 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 12-07-2006 04:39 AM
strange problem lcouri 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 07-22-2001 12:21 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:11 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com