Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1  
Old 10-09-2012, 04:52 PM
frodebass frodebass is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Drammen, Norway
Posts: 8
Default Newbie help with system lock ups

Hi,

i just installed Protools 10 on my windows system.
I also installed the Native instruments Komplete 8 package.

I have downloaded all updates for both, I bought protools with the Mbox interface and I have downloaded and installed the latest driver for this.

Today I tried to start a new project.
I recorded some bass guitar, then opened Kontakt and loaded session drummer and put some midi files from that into the edit window.
Recorded another track of bass, and while looking around in the mixer window my system crashed hard.
It made a constant stutter sound, like a few millisecond sound in a constant loop, and all mouse and key movement froze completely.

All I could do was a hard reset of the whole system.

This has now happened many times, I cannot find out what triggers it other than at random times my system freezes like this. I get no error message, and the CPU and disk meters seam reasonable.

My system is a Dell system with Intel core quad CPU processor at 2.4 ghz
3Gb RAM
Win 7 32 bit home premium with serv pack 1
Nvida Gforce 8800 GTX display adapter
System is using RAID mode on two disks.
I have a WD connected via USB where I have stored the samples from Kontakt
I have been creating project on my main system drive as Protools will not let me use the USB drive.

Anyone know where I should start?

Thanks,

Frode Berg
Norway
Reply With Quote
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Time to lock the system? Ghost In The Attic Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 10-21-2011 10:49 AM
Newbie awaiting new iMac -- with System 10.4.10! Calabama 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 08-14-2007 03:18 PM
New Allenstein system.... Radeon 7500 causes system to lock up.. Siberian 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 14 03-09-2003 07:23 PM
Newbie can't get system running. HELP! Cor Despota Digidesign Hardware & Software 3 03-12-2002 11:03 AM
System Lock Up on Install GaryWard 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 08-29-2001 07:50 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:42 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com