Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-26-2014, 03:32 AM
tuomassamout tuomassamout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Finland
Posts: 2
Default Exported wav files clipping in premiere?

Hello everyone!

I've been working on the audio post of a documentary mainly intended for internet release. On the main bus I'm using the avid D3 limiter/compressor with the brickwall setting and -1.0 threshold. I've been really careful feeding the main bus and not letting anything actually hit the limiter.

I'v used two different meters on the main bus(avid Mastermeter and Mloudnessanalyzer) and both show the highest peaks at -2.0

All seems to work perfectly. The problem comes when the editor imports the final wav file to premiere and it's clipping.

I've checked the final wave with pro tools, audacity and cakewalk sonar and it's clipping in none of them.

The editor assures that there is no gain boosting going on in premiere. Could there be differences in headroom between PT and premiere?


I'm running out of ideas and would really appreciate the help.

cheers,

-Tuomas
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-26-2014, 05:07 AM
Carl Kolchak Carl Kolchak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: U.K.
Posts: 2,201
Default Re: Exported wav files clipping in premiere?

Does the editor have the stereo channels panned hard left, and hard right?

If they're both panned in the centre, they're summing together in mono, rather than being discrete channels - that would cause the level to apparently rise, and clip.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-26-2014, 05:33 AM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Exported wav files clipping in premiere?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carl Kolchak View Post
Does the editor have the stereo channels panned hard left, and hard right?

If they're both panned in the centre, they're summing together in mono, rather than being discrete channels - that would cause the level to apparently rise, and clip.
If I had to put money on it this would be my bet
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-26-2014, 09:14 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,799
Default Re: Exported wav files clipping in premiere?

While I agree with the above, it's been my experience that video editors require audio that does not exceed -20 dbfs (db full scale). I have an 002 Rack, which Avid has calibrated as 0 = -14 dbfs. Using Waves WLM meter on my Master to keep peaks at -21 dbfs works out to approximately a 7 db reduction in the signal coming out of Pro Tools. The editors at the TV station I do most of my work at now don't have to lower my files, they say the files are near perfect calibration for their FCP rigs.

Have your editor lower the files you sent by 7 to 10 db or use a metering plug-in to do the same at your end.

Cheers,
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at reasonable rates
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-26-2014, 09:49 AM
Carl Kolchak Carl Kolchak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: U.K.
Posts: 2,201
Default Re: Exported wav files clipping in premiere?

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Weed View Post

Have your editor lower the files you sent by 7 to 10 db or use a metering plug-in to do the same at your end.

Cheers,

I really would not recommend doing anything along those lines.

O.P. said the file is clipping in Premiere - that's a different kettle of fish than not meeting broadcast specs.

If you start encouraging the editor to mess around with your levels, you're going to be constantly trying to hit a moving target, and QC will probably keep bouncing the program back to you - you'll fix it, the editor will tinker with it, and you're back to square one.

It goes without saying that the mix should be done in a properly calibrated environment, and when doing so, you barely have to look at the meters, as the mix would be painfully loud if it were 10dB over.

But make sure you have delivery specs, know where conversational dialogue aught to be, and what maximum peaks are allowed.

Read this thread, and look up info on the CALM act : couple of threads here, and another here.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-31-2014, 09:21 AM
tuomassamout tuomassamout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Finland
Posts: 2
Default Re: Exported wav files clipping in premiere?

Hello,

Thanks everyone for the help, turned out the editor did have the tracks panned center. :)

Really appreciate the help and cheers for the links Carl, helped me figure out some monitoring issues in a temp room we are working in at the moment.

-Tuomas
__________________
Mac mini i7 2014, 16Gb ram, OSX 10.9.3, Focusrite saffire pro 24 DSP, Pro tools 11
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-31-2014, 09:39 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,961
Default Re: Exported wav files clipping in premiere?

Also, if you mean "Focusrite D3" by saying "Avid D3", that is a compressor and not really a limiter. Anyway, that -20dB is widely used for transfers -- however, it is not peak value but a RMS value.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PPQ of MIDI files exported from Pro Tools John_Toolbox MIDI 16 03-03-2011 06:13 AM
"POP" at End of Exported Files? Styles Bitchly Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 05-25-2006 08:16 PM
QT7 won't play MIDI-1 files exported by PT7! EricWillhelm MIDI 9 04-12-2006 01:37 PM
Mp3 Exported Files terraform 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 05-06-2002 04:51 AM
Problems with WAV files exported from PT 5.15.1 Siegfried Meier Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 9 03-20-2002 04:14 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:06 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com