Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-17-2012, 11:16 AM
scrnplyr's Avatar
scrnplyr scrnplyr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Calabasas, Calif
Posts: 105
Cool Midi Drums and bass (Xpand2) lose sync-aye carumba

Greetings,

I started a session on PT 10.0.1 with Midi drums, bass, analog guitar and a couple of scratch vocals. During the vocal overdubs a strange thing happened - the drums and bass would lose sync with the guitar and vocals, but only in the middle of the song. If I start the song at the beginning the sync is fine. If I start it 2 bars after the start of the song or anytime after that, the drums and bass lose sync.

I'm using a new Mac Pro Tower OS 10.6.8 and I've had an Avid tech already run thru several possible issues and his response was "this has never happened before." Since it's Saturday and I won't hear back from him until Monday, I figured this forum was my best chance at some good suggestions.

Although I'm new to ProTools 10, I used digi 001 for several years successfully on a PC (remember Millennium?) and thought moving to Mac would make my life very easy...lmao!!

As an aside, I'm not thrilled with the way AVID charges for basic support esp in the first couple of months. If someone like myself - who's been producing and engineering on analog and digital for 30 years - is confused, I can only imagine what beginners and intermediates are going through (there, now I feel better).

Thanks in advance

Aj
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-17-2012, 12:37 PM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: Midi Drums and bass (Xpand2) lose sync-aye carumba

Can you reproduce the issue on a newly created session?
__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-17-2012, 05:48 PM
Fabdickson Fabdickson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 83
Default Re: Midi Drums and bass (Xpand2) lose sync-aye carumba

Did You Look To See If You Inadvertently Added A Tempo Change After You Recorded The Gits And Vox?

Look In The Tempo Ruler, In The "Views" Drop Down Menu...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-02-2012, 11:24 AM
scrnplyr's Avatar
scrnplyr scrnplyr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Calabasas, Calif
Posts: 105
Default Re: Midi Drums and bass (Xpand2) lose sync-aye carumba

filo,

I was able to reproduce this problem with the loops in Xpand. The interesting thing is if I create my own drum track using the midi pencil there's no problem. Same with an audio track, no problem with those - just the drum loops in Xpand. Very frustrating.

Thanks
__________________
AJF


Now: MacPro Tower OS 10.8 - PT10.3.5- MBox Pro - MACKIE preamp for monitoring only - WAVES PIs - a couple of AKG Mics - MAudio Key49
Then: ProTools 5-ish digi001 on a PC running Windows Millennium
BD (before digital)-from Tascam 8-track to Neve 64 - ran live audio for Club 88 in LA (Decline of Western Civilization) and Stage East in N Hollywood

"...this puts things into perspective...too much ****** perspective..." David St Hubbins and Nigel Tufnel standing over Elvis' grave.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-02-2012, 11:32 AM
scrnplyr's Avatar
scrnplyr scrnplyr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Calabasas, Calif
Posts: 105
Default Re: Midi Drums and bass (Xpand2) lose sync-aye carumba

Fab,

That's a great suggestion. I noticed this happened on 2 other sessions, but I didn't check this particular one. The thing that's odd is I did not create the flag but I notice them popping up at times and now I realize they can cause a change reaction of problems.

I'll let you know if this works. Thanks
__________________
AJF


Now: MacPro Tower OS 10.8 - PT10.3.5- MBox Pro - MACKIE preamp for monitoring only - WAVES PIs - a couple of AKG Mics - MAudio Key49
Then: ProTools 5-ish digi001 on a PC running Windows Millennium
BD (before digital)-from Tascam 8-track to Neve 64 - ran live audio for Club 88 in LA (Decline of Western Civilization) and Stage East in N Hollywood

"...this puts things into perspective...too much ****** perspective..." David St Hubbins and Nigel Tufnel standing over Elvis' grave.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Midi drums out of sync rocman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 14 03-19-2012 01:48 PM
MIDI DRUMS/BASS. how to eq, reverb, delay etc. MUKULIA DESIGN Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win) 6 02-22-2010 02:15 PM
Xpand2 midi patterns used with Drums in Ballad Guitar session template Brian Mac Virtual Instruments 2 06-21-2009 09:27 PM
Syncronizing Midi Bass & Stereo Drums? dts.music Tips & Tricks 1 01-27-2007 09:43 PM
How do I record bass/drums through MIDI into Protools?????!??!? Shan Plourde General Discussion 2 01-20-2001 12:46 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:10 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com