Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post    Community Terms of Use    Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search    Community Search    Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Third Party Interfaces

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-01-2019, 12:40 PM
justinhill justinhill is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Horley UK
Posts: 160
Default Thumbs up to the Presonus Quantum 4848

I've just completed my chalk-to-cheese upgrade by replacing my old 003 rack+ interface with a Quantum 4848. This is the first product I've ever bought from Presonus.

I can't recall ever having a smoother, simpler install experience. Plugged it in, downloaded the driver installer, ran it and then launched Pro Tools. No re-start, no mucking about, no nothing. And the same with the free UC Console app. Downloaded it from the app store onto my iPad, launched it and there - instantly - was the interface with all its input and output meters. RTA mode is fun too - although the lag is probably too much for it to be really useful.

Obviously the greater part of my power gain has been replacing my Macbook Pro with a 12 core Mac Pro - but the Quantum 4848 seems to have a really lean driver. The Sound On Sound review I read mentioned this. I'm running a fairly complex 96k session with lots of plug-ins, including the dreaded Ozone 8 stuff, with a 64 sample buffer and everything's fine.

Now to download my free copy of Studio One Professional and bundled plugins...
__________________
--
Justin

Apple Mac Pro 6,1 late 2013 2.7Ghz 12-Core XeonE5, 64GB RAM, D300 Graphics, OSX Mojave 10.14.6/Pro Tools Ultimate 2022.4/Presonus Quantum 4848 Thunderbolt 2/Digidesign C|24/Focusrite ISA430 MkII/SPL GoldMike
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-01-2019, 07:34 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,845
Default Re: Thumbs up to the Presonus Quantum 4848

Having recently heard the Quantum in use, I agree that its a really good sounding interface
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-02-2019, 08:25 AM
junkgear's Avatar
junkgear junkgear is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,642
Default Re: Thumbs up to the Presonus Quantum 4848

Glad to hear the 4848 is working out for you.
I have the Quantum 2 and agree that Presonus has their act together as far as ease of use and performance. These are great interfaces at good prices.
__________________
Will

System Details
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-02-2021, 10:15 PM
MixerGuy MixerGuy is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: LA CA USA
Posts: 968
Default Re: Thumbs up to the Presonus Quantum 4848

still running well?

i'm considering a PreSonus*Quantum 26x32 for a mobile Mac laptop rig with ProTools.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-03-2021, 12:07 AM
justinhill justinhill is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Horley UK
Posts: 160
Default Re: Thumbs up to the Presonus Quantum 4848

Yes, still very happy with it. Only glitch has been that following a forced replacement of my iPad I can't get the app to work any more. The app has metering and an RTA but isn't hugely important to me. It's some sort of compatibility issue with the iOS version and the Quantum firmware version which I couldn't get resolved with Presonus.
__________________
--
Justin

Apple Mac Pro 6,1 late 2013 2.7Ghz 12-Core XeonE5, 64GB RAM, D300 Graphics, OSX Mojave 10.14.6/Pro Tools Ultimate 2022.4/Presonus Quantum 4848 Thunderbolt 2/Digidesign C|24/Focusrite ISA430 MkII/SPL GoldMike
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-24-2022, 02:51 PM
Todd Todd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 15
Default Re: Thumbs up to the Presonus Quantum 4848

I'm considering purchasing a 4848. I already have an Apollo x4. Will these work together in a thunderbolt daisy-chained aggregate device configuration?

I'm just looking for a bit of reassurance before I pull the trigger.

Thanks for any help.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-25-2022, 12:47 AM
justinhill justinhill is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Horley UK
Posts: 160
Default Re: Thumbs up to the Presonus Quantum 4848

Quote:
Originally Posted by Todd View Post
I'm considering purchasing a 4848. I already have an Apollo x4. Will these work together in a thunderbolt daisy-chained aggregate device configuration?

I'm just looking for a bit of reassurance before I pull the trigger.

Thanks for any help.
I know Presonus claims you can do that with multiple Presonus devices but I guess you'd have to ask them if it'd work with an Apollo. (their support is pretty good actually). I've never tried attaching anything to the thunderbolt through port on my unit I'm afraid.
__________________
--
Justin

Apple Mac Pro 6,1 late 2013 2.7Ghz 12-Core XeonE5, 64GB RAM, D300 Graphics, OSX Mojave 10.14.6/Pro Tools Ultimate 2022.4/Presonus Quantum 4848 Thunderbolt 2/Digidesign C|24/Focusrite ISA430 MkII/SPL GoldMike
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-28-2022, 10:29 AM
Justin1524 Justin1524 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 668
Default Re: Thumbs up to the Presonus Quantum 4848

Thanks for posting your review.

I too am excited about this interface once the (hopefully) new Mac Mini's come this year. Time to replace the cheesegrater! I'm wondering if I can combine the Quantum 4848 with a MOTU 112D Thunderbolt interface as an Aggregate device in Core Audio. Why? Because the 112D has AES I/O and I have several pieces of AES capable gear. Seems like it should be doable and maybe then ditch my AVID blue interfaces and HD native card to the highest bidders.

I'm wondering if I'll notice better AD conversion but mostly I'm jazzed about the low native latency. It could be a very very fun year!
__________________
Justin (Proud Pro Tools Ultimate PERPETUAL license owner)
Admin
www.elevenrackpresets.com
Studio: 2021 Mac Studio Ultra M1 20 Core CPU, 48 Core GPU, 64GB Ram, 4TB SSD boot | Pro Tools Ultimate 2021.12 | PreSonus Quantum 4848 interface | Digi PRE, FR OctoPre MKII, Mackie Onyx 800R, Panasonic WZ-AD96M and DA7, Eleven Rack, Apogee Big Ben, Mercury, Rode K2, Slate VMS ML-1. Laptop: Dell Inspiron 5559, i7-6500U 2.6Ghz, 16 GB RAM, 15.6" 1920x1080 1TB SSD
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-28-2022, 07:20 PM
itsjustmeee123 itsjustmeee123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: california
Posts: 132
Default Re: Thumbs up to the Presonus Quantum 4848

Im thinking about getting the 4848 as well. Its about time to lose my digi 192 and from what Ive heard, I believe I would just be able to use the DB25 connectors that I already have hooked up to the 192. And Im hoping that since the 4848 has Thunderbolt, I could use CoreAudio as well.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-29-2022, 01:03 AM
justinhill justinhill is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Horley UK
Posts: 160
Default Re: Thumbs up to the Presonus Quantum 4848

Quote:
Originally Posted by itsjustmeee123 View Post
Im thinking about getting the 4848 as well. Its about time to lose my digi 192 and from what Ive heard, I believe I would just be able to use the DB25 connectors that I already have hooked up to the 192. And Im hoping that since the 4848 has Thunderbolt, I could use CoreAudio as well.
That should work. The 4848 is wired Tascam-style (aka AES59), which I think is what the 192 has?

CoreAudio works well. I can play something in iTunes or off the web or whatever while I also have a Pro Tools session open and nobody seems to get upset.
__________________
--
Justin

Apple Mac Pro 6,1 late 2013 2.7Ghz 12-Core XeonE5, 64GB RAM, D300 Graphics, OSX Mojave 10.14.6/Pro Tools Ultimate 2022.4/Presonus Quantum 4848 Thunderbolt 2/Digidesign C|24/Focusrite ISA430 MkII/SPL GoldMike
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone try the Presonus Quantum yet!? digiot Third Party Interfaces 8 06-02-2021 10:13 PM
Presonus Quantum 2 + Monitoring Latency - Solution here? tj7 Pro Tools 12 15 01-03-2020 02:45 PM
WTF!!! Are my thumbs to big? Goldencd Pro Tools 9 18 02-28-2011 05:12 PM
Big thumbs up for 8.0.4! tamasdragon 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 08-02-2010 01:10 AM
intel 815E motherboard / thumbs up or thumbs down? gabadilla 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 10-19-2001 12:09 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:46 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com