Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-27-2022, 04:52 PM
mikeyman's Avatar
mikeyman mikeyman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: L.A.
Posts: 650
Default New Monitor

hello folks ,
my monitor is on the blink and i need to get a new monitor.Ill be using the monitor for Pro Tools and just normal stuff like U Tube videos and searching the net.I was looking at 4k monitors that are curved ,wide screen curved monitors ect. Any ideas of what monitor to get would help me .I don't do gaming.Not sure i should get a 4k monitor or what kind of monitor works good with Pro Tools...thanks ,Mike
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-27-2022, 07:01 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,875
Default Re: New Monitor

Pro Tools is still not optimized for 4K screens so that might not work so well(at least for us Windows users). As for curved screens, I'm still on the fence on whether they cause any odd reflections. For the last several tears, I have stuck with 1920x1080, but am also interested in the ultra-wide screens as an option. Personally, I'd die if I were stuck with a single screen and have run 2(and sometimes 3). Currently running a pair of 32" monitors stacked(the lower one is laid back like you would for a touchscreen, though it isn't).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-27-2022, 10:40 PM
mikeyman's Avatar
mikeyman mikeyman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: L.A.
Posts: 650
Default Re: New Monitor

i wonder if i had an ultrawide monitor if i could get more faders on the screen with PT's
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-28-2022, 06:26 AM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,370
Default Re: New Monitor

Also running 1080P here (three monitors). Works.
__________________
Desktop: PT 2020.5 / Win11 / Intel 11th Gen i9 5.1GHz / 64Gb DDR4-3600 / Gigabyte Z590 Vision D / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 2020.5 / Win10 / older HP ProBook with i7 quad / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Legacy (works!): PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI001
Click for audio/video demo
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-28-2022, 10:44 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,799
Default Re: New Monitor

I had a 29 inch Dell UltraSharp monitor which was 21:9 and ran it at 2460x1440. After 6 years it started to have an issue along the very bottom of the screen. I would have happily replaced it with another UltraSharp, but could not find one with that aspect ratio and DVI Dual Link input, needed for my KVM switch. I bought an ASUS Designo MX299Q 29 inch, 21:9 monitor. It too runs at 2460x1440. Not quite as good as the Dell, but fine for my needs. As always, YMMV.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at reasonable rates
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-28-2022, 01:17 PM
mikeyman's Avatar
mikeyman mikeyman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: L.A.
Posts: 650
Default Re: New Monitor

that Asus is a nice one
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-28-2022, 09:05 PM
mikeyman's Avatar
mikeyman mikeyman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: L.A.
Posts: 650
Default Re: New Monitor

good article
https://www.musicradar.com/news/best...sic-production
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-28-2022, 09:07 PM
mikeyman's Avatar
mikeyman mikeyman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: L.A.
Posts: 650
Default Re: New Monitor

i found this one
https://www.dell.com/en-us/shop/dell...or-accessories
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-28-2022, 09:44 PM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 2,629
Default Re: New Monitor

Before settling on either an ultra wide or curved monitor, go and sit in front of one.

Ultra wide is ok depending on size and positioning, but personally, I wouldn’t use a curved display. The distortion on the image is unbearable.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-29-2022, 10:35 AM
mikeyman's Avatar
mikeyman mikeyman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: L.A.
Posts: 650
Default Re: New Monitor

thats strange i don't think i have heard anybody say that about the distortion.Most say it is easier on the eyes.I will go down and take a look at them..thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can Studio Monitor Express & Transport act as digital monitor controller? briancares Artist Series 1 02-04-2014 05:23 AM
MBox 2 Pro Monitor knob has stopped changing monitor levels Rumandolin 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 04-21-2013 09:13 AM
Pro Tools 10 / CPU Monitor low -> System Monitor high mpeg5 Pro Tools 10 0 12-09-2011 08:45 AM
Dual Monitor / hardware playback with NTSC monitor TheBriceShow Post - Surround - Video 2 02-21-2005 05:58 PM
Monitor Latency and monitor thru headphones output... jeronimo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 04-06-2001 08:30 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:59 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com