Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 02-28-2010, 11:29 PM
Ted Spencer Ted Spencer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 235
Default Re: bounce to disk bass heavy

I also think it's likely that you're hearing some tracks as you mix that are not getting to the bounce, or you're hearing them 'twice'. Make sure every track and effect you're hearing is going to the dedicated bounce source you've chosen, and that nothing in the mix is going anywhere else. In particular you may find some effects returns or submixes or cue busses are routed to your monitor path but not to the main mix bus. That would make them audible as you mix but not in the bounce. Again, IMO, this is overwhelmingly the likely suspect. As others have pointed out, there is no way a properly set up bounce should sound any different on playback.

Having said all of that however, Like Howardk and others I also (almost) never use bounce mode, preferring instead to mix through a stereo aux as a master fader, and then in turn another that feeds a stereo audio track. If nothing else, it makes it easier to stop and resume a partially finished mix if a problem is heard. And a stack of playlists is an easy way to organize multiple passes, versions and stems. Buss compression, limiting, noise reduction etc. can also easily be applied pre-master fader to the mix.

Coming from a background in analog mixing also made this the most intuitive signal path for me.
__________________
Ted Spencer, NYC
tedspencerrecording.com
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-01-2010, 01:34 PM
roberts roberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Toronto, Ont
Posts: 2,438
Default Re: bounce to disk bass heavy

RTD and BTD are the same they phase cancel 100%
FWIW BTD plays session automation more accurately when using session with very automation.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-01-2010, 02:20 PM
carl_laruso carl_laruso is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 41
Default Re: bounce to disk bass heavy

this sounds suspiciously like you have "sound enhancer" selected on your itunes (why it even exists is a mystery as it sounds BAD)

drove me mad for a couple of days after i updated it once - honestly thought i was going crazy

hope it helps..... you can just turn it off in the playback preferences

C.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-01-2010, 06:42 PM
jaglance jaglance is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: acton ca usa
Posts: 27
Default Re: bounce to disk bass heavy

thanks again for all the replies. operator error as it turns out. a routing issue, too embarrassing to detail. did get the heads up from the posts. no more gnashing of teeth or rending of garments.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-02-2010, 12:48 AM
midnightrambler midnightrambler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,607
Default Re: bounce to disk bass heavy

Good stuff, the DUC at its best

Now who wants a heated about about HD vs LE? . . .. (ahem)
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-15-2010, 11:47 AM
aaron268 aaron268 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 14
Default Re: bounce to disk bass heavy

I have the same thing If i get my mix the way I like it with my studio headphones on, bounce it, listen to it on itunes on computer speakers, or cd on bigger stereo.
Then I realized I have the same difference between my studio headphones, and external studio monitors while listening to the mix in protools.

Might try using external studio monitors for mixing instead of headphones.
__________________
Windows XP Pro SP3 on Ibuypower PC Intel quad core
Pro Tools M-Powered 8.01
M-Audio Fast Track Ultra
M-Audio Axiom 49 Midi Keyboard
Strike, Waves Musician II v7, iZotope Ozone 4
Various other implements of doom
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-15-2010, 12:02 PM
studiojimi's Avatar
studiojimi studiojimi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,115
Default Re: bounce to disk bass heavy

Quote:
Originally Posted by roberts View Post
RTD and BTD are the same they phase cancel 100%
FWIW BTD plays session automation more accurately when using session with very automation.

what?

i thought it was the other way around

in fact i thought i read it here and i believed it.

who can confirm this?
__________________
CAZADOR RECORDING
PT10.3.10/HD6/192w16in/MTN.LION OS 10.8.5 / Westmere MacPro 8 Core W/20gRAM MAGMA-PE6R4/TDM&RTAS/WAVES Platinum/UA/Eventide Plugs/I usually record at 88.2
With GOD as my partner. . . I need to make my plans LARGER.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bounce to Disk intermittently causes freeze and disk unmount after PT 10.2 Upgrade AllThingsMusicStudio macOS 0 06-28-2012 07:16 PM
Heavy Disk Usage seems strange? fman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 07-17-2007 09:01 PM
heavy bass when bouncing to disk GS2005 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 02-15-2006 07:28 PM
Heavy Metal Hard Rock Bass music Tips & Tricks 3 10-04-2002 06:59 PM
bounce to disk 24->16 loss of bass mjames08 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 09-20-2002 11:59 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:26 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com