Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid S4/S6

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-26-2023, 05:33 PM
basehead617 basehead617 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: California
Posts: 260
Default Assignable knob -> Jog wheel not working

PT 2023.3 / S6+WSControl 2022.12.1.34

New session, make an audio track..

Hover over pan or fader in mix window for assignable knob access, press knob to lock - press back button (purple) to send to jog wheel.

Jog wheel does nothing to the parameter despite lighting up properly with the LEDs around it..

Am I missing something or is this busted?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-26-2023, 06:00 PM
basehead617 basehead617 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: California
Posts: 260
Default Re: Assignable knob -> Jog wheel not working

Scratch that.. the jog wheel itself is dead… Was working yesterday

Tried forcing firmware but no help there.. will contact support.. any recent jog wheel component issues Eddie? (new system)


Diagnostics for automation module when you do Encoder shows Counter Rotate/Raw 0/0000 and nothing happens when using the wheel..
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-30-2023, 03:25 PM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 4,339
Default Re: Assignable knob -> Jog wheel not working

I literally have never heard of it stop working. It uses a high-quality bourns encoder that we have used for decades. Did you power cycle the module?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-30-2023, 06:50 PM
basehead617 basehead617 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: California
Posts: 260
Default Re: Assignable knob -> Jog wheel not working

Quote:
Originally Posted by EddieJones View Post
I literally have never heard of it stop working. It uses a high-quality bourns encoder that we have used for decades. Did you power cycle the module?
It’s been power cycled, i’ve re-flashed the firmware, etc..

According to the diagnostics (if it’s Encoder) it’s simply not sending any values. Video on my case shows this. when in Jog or Shuttle the ffwd and rewind LEDs both light up as do the buttons in the UI, but the knob does nothing..

Could it have an unseated wire? It worked for one day.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Assignable Knob with Dock Jog Wheel in Cubase daveotero Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control App 12 05-02-2022 09:45 AM
S6L 5.6.0 -- Assignable Knob AlainJRoy VENUE Live Sound Systems 1 02-13-2018 01:42 PM
5-MC Assignable Knob Mike Hybrid System 5 1 08-23-2017 06:38 PM
wheel command: Assignable knob ?? crustn Artist Series 9 06-27-2015 09:14 PM
Only one assignable knob? Xill Artist Series 1 11-01-2011 11:30 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:02 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com