Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 09-12-2008, 03:32 PM

Default Advice for audiobook production?

Hey Folks:

I'm a nationally published author of a recent Americana/WW II history book (shameless plug available upon request) and have been tasked with narrating the audiobook. I have some voiceover experience, and thankfully the miracle of Pro Tools and Macintosh enables me to do most of this work from my home studio.

I'd like to come up with a sort of "signature sound" for my vocals that would be reminiscent of the 1930's era - yet not too tinny or modern. The preamps on my Digi002 strike me as somewhat plain and don't seem to have the gain to drive my Shure SM7B mic.

I thought I might look into a single-channel tube preamp like the UA Solo 610 or 710. My current gear: PT LE 7.3, AT4050 and SM7B mics, Waves Gold, PreSonus Digimax, Dual G5 2.0 GHz Mac.

Your thoughts on microphones, preamps, compression, plugins, etc would be much appreciated. I'd like this audiobook to stand out from the crowd (even though it's quite likely to be played back through some MP3 player at 75 mph on the interstate).

With appreciation,

Jack
Old 09-12-2008, 04:40 PM

Default Re: Advice for audiobook production?

Hi Jack,

I'd simply use some EQ (cutting of some bass and
some of the high frequencies, too), may putting a 'crackle'
on it if you want it to sound like a record or shellac record.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uRXiBlpraNQ

Maybe using a tape saturation effect, too.

Check out http://masseyplugins.com/

I didn't manage to install it by now (some technical issues)
but it's said to be good.

... All in all I wouldn't make it too complicated and let the