Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-26-2003, 11:53 AM
badperson badperson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,025
Default question for those who use their 001/002 rigs professionally

are you planning eventually on moving up to HD or a maybe even a used Mix Plus system? If so, why or why not?

bp
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-27-2003, 04:32 AM
Bob Legs Bob Legs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Brisvegas
Posts: 333
Default Re: question for those who use their 001/002 rigs professionally

when guys come in the studio and go, "oh. I have one of those at home [img]images/icons/rolleyes.gif[/img] " it would be nice to have then [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-27-2003, 05:07 AM
clusterer clusterer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: vienna
Posts: 575
Default Re: question for those who use their 001/002 rigs professionally

i would movin´up to HD or something; perhaps in conjunction with control 24. i´m doing a lot of post, so the tdm/hd version would offer me much more possibilties for film sound. and 24 channel/faders also would make me having direct access to all that channels used while making film sound, which would also be very economical...

and then is the thing, i guess tdm- or hd mixers are working with higher bit depth.........

i only need some more clients, some mo money.....
__________________
G. Rasek - recording engineer - www.overdub.at - european VO talents via source-connect - PTHD
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-27-2003, 05:55 AM
soundsurfr soundsurfr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Smithtown, NY, USA
Posts: 965
Default Re: question for those who use their 001/002 rigs professionally

Quote:
are you planning eventually on moving up to HD or a maybe even a used Mix Plus system?
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">No.

Quote:
If so, why or why not?
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">Overkill. I don't do post production, and my clients (mostly TV producers) are happy with the sound of my mixes. I'm always looking for improvement, but I can get big improvement by spending a few thousand on an Avalon mic pre or Apogee converters as opposed to spending $6-$10K on a bare-bones TDM system.

If it ever becomes cost effective, I'll make the switch, but right now, it's not on my wish list.
__________________
Soundsurfr
MAC Mini, 2.3GHz dual-core i5, 8GB DDR3, 500GB Hard drive, 288MB DDR3 SD RAM
M-Audio Firewire 1814
Yosemite OS
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-27-2003, 06:00 AM
Paul Curtiz Paul Curtiz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Posts: 1,023
Default Re: question for those who use their 001/002 rigs professionally

Ditto Soundsurfr.
And I do post for commercials. No complaints.
I've got a rig which works great, allows me to make money and not work to pay the bank.
My advertising customers couldn't hear the difference anyway.
I might get an 002R, but the jump to HD...no thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-27-2003, 06:30 AM
rustle rustle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: London UK
Posts: 28
Default Re: question for those who use their 001/002 rigs professionally

I work in TV post too and the 001 does its job just fine. In an ideal world I'd love to have all the extras you get with HD but my income just doesn't support the investment.
Not all TV projects have megabucks to spend and so look for a sound designer who can undercut the big expensive studios and that's where I come in.
If I ever had the money I'd definitely go for it but I echo the sentiments of working for myself and not my bankers.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-27-2003, 07:33 AM
N-G-NEER N-G-NEER is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Jacksonville Beach, USA
Posts: 545
Default Re: question for those who use their 001/002 rigs professionally

I use both and I must admit that for awhile I couldn't see the difference. A couple of weeks ago I had a client whoo we recorded tracks for and he wanted these to be the essence of a "Live" comedy album. Well by the time I loaded up the necsassary tracks and added all the plugins I needed to create the senario, I was throughing errors everyware! It took a good number of passes to get this thing out to a mastering deck.
I knew I wanted the upgrade but until that point I was unsure of how necsassary it was. I do a lot of post on a TDM sys and have figured out how to work arount much of the issues. But when I get some cash rolling in It's HD for Me.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-27-2003, 11:33 AM
rogerhavoc rogerhavoc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 471
Default Re: question for those who use their 001/002 rigs professionally

It's my plan to keep my 002 and go bigger (HD) when i get more clients (Clients=Money). Check out my latest work as a Composer/Audio Engineer for Plugin for MS PowerPoint...
www.crystalgraphics.com

[img]images/icons/cool.gif[/img] [img]images/icons/cool.gif[/img] [img]images/icons/cool.gif[/img] [img]images/icons/cool.gif[/img]
__________________
www.whitenoiselab.com

MacPro 3.5 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5 - Pro Tools Ultimate + HD Native + HD OMNI
MacBook Pro 2.9 GHz i7 16GB Ram (Retina, 15-inch, 2016) - Pro Tools Ultimate + Apollo Twin
iMac 27" 3.4 GHz i7 32GB Ram (Late 2012) - Pro Tools Ultimate + Mbox Pro (3rd gen)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-27-2003, 11:45 AM
Allen Hallada Allen Hallada is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Sun Valley, ID
Posts: 6,686
Default Re: question for those who use their 001/002 rigs professionally

Quote:
Originally posted by Paul Curtiz:
Ditto Soundsurfr.
And I do post for commercials. No complaints.
I've got a rig which works great, allows me to make money and not work to pay the bank.
My advertising customers couldn't hear the difference anyway.
I might get an 002R, but the jump to HD...no thank you.
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">Way to go Paul. I feel the same way. The 001 hooked with a professional external converter is hard to beat. Especially with the processing power of these new PCs. I had a seasoned session player from Nashville tell me that my vocal chain sounds as good as anything he has heard come out of Emerald. He was amazed.

Soundelux U99>Great River MP-2NV>Cranesong HEDD 192>Digi 001 , PTLE 5.3 with Waves Platinum for a heck of alot less than a bare bones HD system.

Just my thoughts.
Allen [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-28-2003, 10:37 AM
arcarsenal arcarsenal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 201
Default Re: question for those who use their 001/002 rigs professionally

allen, have you ever heard the FMR RNP in comparison to your grace pres? most people compare the rnp the grace, and i was wondering, how close could they be if one is like, 500 dollars more and only 1 channel?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about using 11rack and 11plugin at same time for dual rigs tomc3084 Eleven Rack 7 02-19-2013 04:48 PM
Question about user created patches/rigs DMannDann Eleven Rack 2 01-11-2013 07:45 PM
Expansion Pack rigs question mikefont Eleven Rack 6 02-10-2011 02:48 PM
Can the digi001 be used professionally rajpal 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 11-06-2010 04:41 PM
question for those who use their 001/002 rigs professionally badperson 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 06-27-2003 12:19 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:05 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com