Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-20-2011, 08:05 AM
bornheim bornheim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 13
Question Additional processor qualifications for PT's 9?

Are there plans to test more/different processors to be compatible with PT's 9?

Reason being is, for the last 5 years I've been working with an 002/LE on a 24" iMac with a 2.16 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo (T7400), & would love to make the leap to 9, but see that in the realm of qualified iMacs (per the Avid Knowledge Base), this processor isn't supported.

I know in the past (I started out on an 001 back in '99!), after a Digi update/upgrade, over time, additional computers, processors, etc. were added to the "list of compatibility."

Any chance that the iMac/Intel processor I'm on will run/support PT's 9?

'Preciate whatever info/enlightenment you can throw my way - thanks!

Michael
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-20-2011, 08:30 AM
getz76 getz76 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,491
Default Re: Additional processor qualifications for PT's 9?

I think we have observed that they tend to test what they have. They may not test a lot of legacy machines. Your processor is a bit dated, but not that far off from the older white MacBooks.

Are you running Pro Tools LE 8? If so, you should be fine to run Pro Tools 9.
__________________
| Logic Pro 9 | Reason 6.5 | Pro Tools 10 | MOTU UltraLite mk3 | RME ADI-2 | Summit Audio 2BA-221 x 2 | MOTU 8pre x 2 |
| Mac Pro (4,1) 2.26gHz Xeon x 2 16gB OS X 10.7.4 | Macbook Pro (8,2) 2.2gHz i7 Quad 16gB OS X 10.7.4 |
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-20-2011, 10:00 AM
bornheim bornheim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 13
Default Re: Additional processor qualifications for PT's 9?

Yep ... runnin' 8.0.1cs1. Although, months back when I attempted to jump to 8.0.3, I ran into some serious issues (assuming it was due to some incompatible plug-ins ... dunno), so I jumped back to .1cs1 - all was well & work continued on. As I'm sure you can understand, I'm a little gun shy to spend the $'s if the Avid folks haven't "officially blessed" the processor I'm on.

Re-learned a lesson from years back though - don't upgrade for the sake of upgrading.

But PT's 9 ... well that's a different story all together now, isn't it?

Thanks for the input/suggestion ... 'preciate it!

Michael
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-20-2011, 10:10 AM
getz76 getz76 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,491
Default Re: Additional processor qualifications for PT's 9?

I hear you, Michael. Sounds like you are eligible for the upgrade, though, at $250 with your 002's serial number. For $250, I would take the plunge. Worse case, you can just sell the license...

There were folks reporting using older MacBook Pros without a problem, even though they are not qualified. Apple's yearly refresh-rate... makes for tough testing, I am sure.
__________________
| Logic Pro 9 | Reason 6.5 | Pro Tools 10 | MOTU UltraLite mk3 | RME ADI-2 | Summit Audio 2BA-221 x 2 | MOTU 8pre x 2 |
| Mac Pro (4,1) 2.26gHz Xeon x 2 16gB OS X 10.7.4 | Macbook Pro (8,2) 2.2gHz i7 Quad 16gB OS X 10.7.4 |
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-20-2011, 01:16 PM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,374
Default Re: Additional processor qualifications for PT's 9?

I have PT9.0.1 running fine on two different Core2Duo Macbook Pros. One is a 15" 2009 (Pre-Unibody) model and the other is the current 13" unibody model.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
MacBookPro14,3 - Intel Core i7 3.1 GHz, 16 GB
MacOS 12.4 running Protools 2022.5
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-20-2011, 01:59 PM
bornheim bornheim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 13
Default Re: Additional processor qualifications for PT's 9?

Hey Obsidian Dragon ... what type of Intel processors are they?

Trying to determine if there's gonna be a problem because my processor is a T7400, as opposed to a T7200, i3, i5, or i7. That is, if there'd be a problem @ all.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-20-2011, 04:24 PM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,374
Default Re: Additional processor qualifications for PT's 9?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bornheim View Post
Hey Obsidian Dragon ... what type of Intel processors are they?

Trying to determine if there's gonna be a problem because my processor is a T7400, as opposed to a T7200, i3, i5, or i7. That is, if there'd be a problem @ all.

Thanks!
I think I have the T8300 on my 15" Macbook Pro and the T8600 on my 13" Macbook Pro. I think you are over-thinking this. Protools will work on most any Intel based Mac. I even had PT 8.04 running on a 1.6 GHz CoreDuo Mac Mini. When I find it (in storage) I'll load PT9 on it too.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
MacBookPro14,3 - Intel Core i7 3.1 GHz, 16 GB
MacOS 12.4 running Protools 2022.5
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HDX and WIN 7 PC qualifications. riggi Windows 4 06-15-2012 01:29 PM
PT Qualifications paulrgmusic 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 07-14-2009 07:14 PM
Dolby: Certified Mix Room Qualifications RenderBot Post - Surround - Video 13 11-05-2006 04:35 PM
Pro Tools Qualifications 101 - 310P jimmyriserock Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 04-24-2006 10:36 AM
Qualifications online? What the?? ajazzie 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 04-24-2003 07:26 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:11 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com