Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-24-2010, 02:38 PM
sdevino sdevino is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derry, NH USA
Posts: 410
Default Air Plugins crash my PT9 100%

Attempting to instantiate any Air plugin causes PT9 to hang with a SBOD. Console reports a malloc error at the same time. This is true on any of the the demo sessions as well as a clean empty session.

This was a virgin install of PT as no prior versions ever existed on this machine. 2x 2.8 ghz Quad Core Intel Xeon, 8 GB RAM.

Doesn't seem to matter if its a reverb, dynamics or any other.

I am running a MH ULN8 with no other hardware.

Any ideas?

I am running in 32 bit mode.

Steve
__________________
Steve Devino
Granite Rocks Live
Authorized Metric Halo Dealer
1-603-867-6843
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-24-2010, 04:08 PM
Touchwood Studios Touchwood Studios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 868
Default Re: Air Plugins crash my PT9 100%

Hold the shift key while opening the session that will hard bypass all the plug-ins.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-24-2010, 04:20 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Air Plugins crash my PT9 100%

Good advice but I think he's refering to when the session is already open.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-24-2010, 05:09 PM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: Air Plugins crash my PT9 100%

Can you remove all plug-ins but the AIR to the unused folder, delete the prefs, reboot and launch again. What happens?
__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-24-2010, 06:05 PM
sdevino sdevino is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derry, NH USA
Posts: 410
Default Re: Air Plugins crash my PT9 100%

tried that. No help. Thanks for the suggestion.
__________________
Steve Devino
Granite Rocks Live
Authorized Metric Halo Dealer
1-603-867-6843
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-24-2010, 06:19 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Air Plugins crash my PT9 100%

Have you tried repairing permisions? Deleting the prefs? Rerunning the PT9 installer?
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-24-2010, 06:36 PM
sdevino sdevino is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derry, NH USA
Posts: 410
Default Re: Air Plugins crash my PT9 100%

No, yes and yes. Thanks
__________________
Steve Devino
Granite Rocks Live
Authorized Metric Halo Dealer
1-603-867-6843
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-24-2010, 06:53 PM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: Air Plugins crash my PT9 100%

Which playback device are you using?
__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-24-2010, 07:11 PM
sdevino sdevino is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derry, NH USA
Posts: 410
Default Re: Air Plugins crash my PT9 100%

I tried internal audio via the PT supplied aggregate and my ULN8 via the metric halo drivers.
__________________
Steve Devino
Granite Rocks Live
Authorized Metric Halo Dealer
1-603-867-6843
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-25-2010, 03:31 AM
sdevino sdevino is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derry, NH USA
Posts: 410
Default Re: Air Plugins crash my PT9 100%

It seems thesis only an issue in my primary Audio user account. I don't actually use this particular machine for anything other than music anyway.

Anyway I have no issue with air plugins when I install PT in different user account on the same machine.


This also seems to be true for the hard crash problem I am having when I try to create any send on any channel. I spent way too many hours trying to eliminate background processes last night without luck so far.
__________________
Steve Devino
Granite Rocks Live
Authorized Metric Halo Dealer
1-603-867-6843
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Two T-Racks V1.3 EQ-plugins Crash. Arno Peeters Pro Tools 9 1 12-03-2010 12:40 PM
Plugins that crash / don't crash PT 8 not on Digi's compatibility grid alex s 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 12-27-2009 03:23 AM
various plugins CRASH Pro Tools HD rig jacobfarron Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 04-30-2008 08:01 AM
ProControl + plugins = crash!? Will Russell Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 09-10-2001 04:58 AM
Plugins Crash Dennis Scott Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 02-19-2001 01:53 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:00 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com