Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-05-2004, 09:14 PM
decibel decibel is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 69
Default How Does Pro Tools Look On The 23\" Apple Display

How Does Pro Tools Look On The 23" Apple Display?


I am wondering if Pro Tools looks too small on the 23" as opposed to the 20". I guess this is pretty subjective, so any opinions would be appreciated.

thanks,
andy dodd
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-05-2004, 09:20 PM
Chief Technician's Avatar
Chief Technician Chief Technician is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,981
Default Re: How Does Pro Tools Look On The 23\" Apple Displ

On the now "old" 23 inch display, it looks fabulous.

You can have 24+ faders in your mix window, without narrowing them, and no scrollbar!

I'm working in post, and you can have a 1 minute spot on your timeline, zoomed so that the entire spot fits in your edit window, and reasonably see where most of your hits are without scrolling.

I haven't used it on a 20, so I can't compare it to that directly.
__________________
Jonathan S. Abrams, CEA, CEV, CBNT
Apple Certified - Technical Coordinator (v10.5), Support Professional (v10.6 through v10.10)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-05-2004, 10:35 PM
Mt.Everest Mt.Everest is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 1,154
Default Re: How Does Pro Tools Look On The 23\" Apple Displ

I find it a little too small actually. Im leaning into the screen more now, than when I had a large CRT monitor. Its razor sharp and perfectly even, which is great, but the rez is a bit small for my tastes. If the 23" is going to be more than 2 to 3 feet away from you, I would try to look at it in person before buying. You can bring a screen capture from your current setup to your apple dealer to see how it looks.

Also, the consensus around here seems to be the old 22" is the perfect rez for protools.

MT
__________________
PT|HD4 Accel PCIx w Magma Chassis & 192 I/O
PT HD 9.0.5 - Mac Pro 8-Core 2.4Ghz Westmere 10.6.8
PT|HD 9.0.5 - MacMini Core-Duo, 10.6.8 - ProFire 2626
•••DON'T BELIEVE THE HYPE•••
•Use & Trust ψ Cancellation!•
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-05-2004, 10:47 PM
Infa Infa is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Francisco, CA. U.S.A.
Posts: 1,023
Default Re: How Does Pro Tools Look On The 23\" Apple Displ

I don't know DUDE ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, I running dual(2) 23" Apple Cinema Displays, and it's just plain EXCELLENT !!! What do you mean to small ? Or resolution ???? All you do is open your windows bigger, until (no matter what size screen you got) your whole screen is filled up !!! It looks the same,,, there's just MORE to look at !!!!.. I used to have the 22" one,,,, honestly they're roughly the same damn thang.... But it is sooooooo perfect having your Edit Window on one whole monitor, and your Mix Window on another whole monitor.... Just unbeatable............ And to answer your question,, which I already did,,,, the 23"'s are a MUST !!!!! Yes,, ProTools looks GREAT on the 23" Apple Displays....... (at least my 6.4 HD 3 Accel does.)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-05-2004, 11:58 PM
Mt.Everest Mt.Everest is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 1,154
Default Re: How Does Pro Tools Look On The 23\" Apple Displ

Quote:
What do you mean to small ? Or resolution ????
What i mean is the pixel to screen size ratio. Its NOT true that you just open your windows bigger. The more pixels they fit on the screen the smaller or 'finer' the output is. Its like when you can change rez preferences on a monitor. The screen physically stays the same size but the objects become bigger or smaller. The 23" crams a few too many pixels for my taste onto the screen.

check out this thread for more.

MT
__________________
PT|HD4 Accel PCIx w Magma Chassis & 192 I/O
PT HD 9.0.5 - Mac Pro 8-Core 2.4Ghz Westmere 10.6.8
PT|HD 9.0.5 - MacMini Core-Duo, 10.6.8 - ProFire 2626
•••DON'T BELIEVE THE HYPE•••
•Use & Trust ψ Cancellation!•
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-06-2004, 12:35 AM
Infa Infa is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Francisco, CA. U.S.A.
Posts: 1,023
Default Re: How Does Pro Tools Look On The 23\" Apple Displ

I do understand WHAT it is your actually saying... I just can't find it being to small to myself,,,, it feels just right,, and BETTER than before.,,,,, So,,,, I was saying "What do you mean" as a "I disagree" thing,, ya know.....(friendly wise of coarse) But hey,, if so,, for you,, can't you just change the resolution , and find a ratio that makes it feel the same way as before to you,, but be on the bigger screen??? And which screen are you useing now??
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-06-2004, 12:37 AM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,491
Default Re: How Does Pro Tools Look On The 23\" Apple Displ

LCD screens look best when used at their "native" resolution.. changing to a lower (or higher) resolution would make the screen/image look like doo doo.

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-06-2004, 12:53 AM
Infa Infa is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Francisco, CA. U.S.A.
Posts: 1,023
Default Re: How Does Pro Tools Look On The 23\" Apple Displ

And "lower" is what makes them look bigger?? And "higher" is what makes 'em look smaller??? Or no?? Vice Versa???
'Cause he wants to make 'em look "bigger".....
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-06-2004, 11:10 AM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,491
Default Re: How Does Pro Tools Look On The 23\" Apple Displ

A lower resolution (say 800 x 600) would mean the image would appear larger.

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-06-2004, 11:48 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,596
Default Re: How Does Pro Tools Look On The 23\" Apple Displ

If you run a 17" @ 1280x1024 it's very close to the same PPI as the 23".
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
27" Apple LED Display Siegfried Meier Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 08-23-2010 09:08 PM
KVM Extender for Apple 30" Display Andi R Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 11-17-2005 03:38 AM
30" Apple Cinema Display OmniMedia 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 06-29-2004 12:39 AM
Apple 20'' Display poppy Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 01-16-2004 07:00 PM
Apple Cinema Display, Pro and Con GT40sc General Discussion 17 03-17-2002 10:25 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:48 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com