Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2021

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #31  
Old 11-25-2021, 01:28 PM
JJRivers JJRivers is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2021
Location: London
Posts: 14
Default Re: M1 Max MacBook Pro Monterey, Kontakt Crashing Pro Tools

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheQEG View Post
I have almost identical Macbook pro setup but the crashing seems to occur on any virtual instrument where my library is kept on an external drive (i.e. Kontakt, Spitfire-BBCSO). Instruments where the library is on the MBP HD see to work.

Anyone else seeing the same trend?
All of my samples and NI sample libraries are stored on the 2TB MacBook Pro Hard Drive. Ive doubled checked also inside of Native Access under Content Location in preferences and reinstalled the Kontakt Factory Selection that keeps crashing. Previously I did use external drives.

The strange thing is though that I can get "The Giant" sample library instrument to work and not the others. I have no idea why its only that one but how come only that library works and the rest immediately crash Pro Tools? I understand NI and Monterey etc isn't compatible right now, but if this one can work then why can't the other libraries?
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 11-26-2021, 02:20 AM
MattBeckley MattBeckley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2021
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 3
Default Re: M1 Max MacBook Pro Monterey, Kontakt Crashing Pro Tools

Quote:
Originally Posted by JJRivers View Post
All of my samples and NI sample libraries are stored on the 2TB MacBook Pro Hard Drive. Ive doubled checked also inside of Native Access under Content Location in preferences and reinstalled the Kontakt Factory Selection that keeps crashing. Previously I did use external drives.

The strange thing is though that I can get "The Giant" sample library instrument to work and not the others. I have no idea why its only that one but how come only that library works and the rest immediately crash Pro Tools? I understand NI and Monterey etc isn't compatible right now, but if this one can work then why can't the other libraries?
All my libraries are also on my internal drive.
Again, protools itself seems to work fine, and all my plugins seem to work fine in Ableton, which leads me to believe the bottleneck is the Aax protocol.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 11-26-2021, 04:07 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,932
Default Re: M1 Max MacBook Pro Monterey, Kontakt Crashing Pro Tools

AAX itself is almost as efficient than Apple's homebuilt AU, the problem is many plugins (like infamously Kontakt for example) are VST plugins wrapped in AAX shell.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 12-01-2021, 10:07 AM
fretfingers fretfingers is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 173
Default Re: M1 Max MacBook Pro Monterey, Kontakt Crashing Pro Tools

Has anyone made any progress here? Reading through this thread it seems some people are using Kontakt in Pro Tools just fine on M1 Pro and M1 Max. I'm really curious to know what the difference is.
__________________

Pro Tools Ultimate 2021.10 - macOS Big Sur 11.6
10 Core iMac Pro
64GB RAM - Radeon Pro Vega 56 8176 MB
UA Apollo x8

Last edited by fretfingers; 12-01-2021 at 10:37 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 12-01-2021, 10:09 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,932
Default Re: M1 Max MacBook Pro Monterey, Kontakt Crashing Pro Tools

I am not so keen to test on anything until Apple delivers 12.1 update. This current 12.0.1 is a disaster in every way. Would also be great if Avid gave us a christmas present and release Apple Silicon native PT software (and iLok too).
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 12-01-2021, 10:48 AM
massivekerry massivekerry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 238
Default Re: M1 Max MacBook Pro Monterey, Kontakt Crashing Pro Tools

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
AAX itself is almost as efficient than Apple's homebuilt AU, the problem is many plugins (like infamously Kontakt for example) are VST plugins wrapped in AAX shell.
Janne, you repeatedly assert that Kontakt AAX is a wrapped VST. Lord knows I'd like to believe that, since it'd be convenient. But where is the reference that you can back it up with? I've looked through the internet over the last few months and can't find where it's buried. If you could point us towards the source of that info, it'd be much appreciated. and we'll all hope that in their big Silicon-native recode, that NI makes a "real" AAX version (and one of KK as well), if so.
__________________
Kerry Smith
http://apothekerry.com

12-core 3.46GHz Cheese Grater, 64GB RAM, HD | Native, HD I/O
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 12-01-2021, 11:01 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,932
Default Re: M1 Max MacBook Pro Monterey, Kontakt Crashing Pro Tools

Quote:
Originally Posted by massivekerry View Post
we'll all hope that in their big Silicon-native recode, that NI makes a "real" AAX version
Yes we all hope for that, and have been hoping for years already. If you ask them, they do not reveal technical details but if you delete Kontakt VST plugin because you do not have a VST host, it stops working. How about that. Or maybe I have had bad luck.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 12-01-2021, 04:14 PM
massivekerry massivekerry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 238
Default Re: M1 Max MacBook Pro Monterey, Kontakt Crashing Pro Tools

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Yes we all hope for that, and have been hoping for years already. If you ask them, they do not reveal technical details but if you delete Kontakt VST plugin because you do not have a VST host, it stops working. How about that. Or maybe I have had bad luck.
Seems like bad luck. I deleted all VST and AU installs I could find on my computer, and my PT template with many Kontakt instances still loads, and the tracks are playable.

It has felt better in the last year or two (unless I'm using one of the tempo-synced Instruments) but I'll still hope it's better when they do the big (and necessary) re-code.
__________________
Kerry Smith
http://apothekerry.com

12-core 3.46GHz Cheese Grater, 64GB RAM, HD | Native, HD I/O
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 12-01-2021, 04:19 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,932
Default Re: M1 Max MacBook Pro Monterey, Kontakt Crashing Pro Tools

Yea, they need to. But they have been so successful with AAX version that... how to put it... there are less Kontakt users on PT platform than any other platform
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 12-01-2021, 05:10 PM
massivekerry massivekerry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 238
Default Re: M1 Max MacBook Pro Monterey, Kontakt Crashing Pro Tools

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Yea, they need to. But they have been so successful with AAX version that... how to put it... there are less Kontakt users on PT platform than any other platform
eh, I always just figured that German devs just liked German DAWs more... because they grew up with them or something. Stupid thought on my part, but maybe they did think that AAX might go away at some point. AAX-DSP sure didn't fare well.
__________________
Kerry Smith
http://apothekerry.com

12-core 3.46GHz Cheese Grater, 64GB RAM, HD | Native, HD I/O
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Has anyone tried Pro Tools 2021.7 on the Monterey Betas? off the wall macOS 28 11-17-2021 11:21 AM
Kontakt 5.6.6 crashing PT 12.8.0 noiseboyuk AAX Plug-ins 2 09-07-2017 01:28 PM
Kontakt crashing PT HD 12.4 - help? jonathan jetter Pro Tools 12 1 12-30-2015 03:26 PM
PT 10.3.3 crashing with Kontakt 5 in OSX 10.8.2 Sandborg macOS 3 01-16-2013 03:22 PM
XPAND! Crashing Pro Tools LE 7.3.1 On My Macbook! HELP! UrbanJoe Virtual Instruments 0 01-23-2008 05:14 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:23 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com