Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-18-2013, 10:22 AM
djmichael.london djmichael.london is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Los Angeles / San Antonio
Posts: 161
Default Buying PT 10

A friend of mine has decided to sell his PT 10 since he no longer needs it. Deciding it might be time to move from 7.4.2 to 10 I want to buy it. Problem is he doesn't have to dongle for it any more. Question is can I go onto avids site and buy a new one for it. PT was loaded on his brothers laptop who has left to military which is why he can't find the dongle.
__________________
MichaeLondon

Mac : IMac 3.0 ghz/OSX 10.6.8/Mbox Mini/PT 7.4.2

DAW : Pro Tools 7.4.2 - Mbox Mini

www.myspace.com/michaelondon
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-18-2013, 11:05 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,363
Default Re: Buying PT 10

The ilok license is the asset you are actually buying. The seller needs to sort this out with Avid before you move forward. If you go to the Avid site to purchase the ilok asset, you will pay full price for Pro Tools
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2021 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-18-2013, 11:24 AM
Sparky1 Sparky1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Saskatoon, SK, Canada
Posts: 740
Default Re: Buying PT 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by djmichael.london View Post
Problem is he doesn't have to dongle for it any more.
Do you currently own a USB dongle of some sort for software licenses?

Sparky
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-18-2013, 12:11 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Buying PT 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by djmichael.london View Post
A friend of mine has decided to sell his PT 10 since he no longer needs it. Deciding it might be time to move from 7.4.2 to 10 I want to buy it. Problem is he doesn't have to dongle for it any more. Question is can I go onto avids site and buy a new one for it. PT was loaded on his brothers laptop who has left to military which is why he can't find the dongle.
Umm the Dongle IS the liscense. Chances are if the iLoks missing the the license is also.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-18-2013, 01:36 PM
Sparky1 Sparky1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Saskatoon, SK, Canada
Posts: 740
Default Re: Buying PT 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by sunburst79 View Post
Umm the Dongle IS the liscense. Chances are if the iLoks missing the the license is also.
Could he not use an existing USB dongle that he has for software licenses (if he has one) -> and transfer the Avid license to that?

Sparky
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-18-2013, 02:05 PM
djmichael.london djmichael.london is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Los Angeles / San Antonio
Posts: 161
Default Re: Buying PT 10

Didn't need a dongle with 7.4 so I don't have one.
__________________
MichaeLondon

Mac : IMac 3.0 ghz/OSX 10.6.8/Mbox Mini/PT 7.4.2

DAW : Pro Tools 7.4.2 - Mbox Mini

www.myspace.com/michaelondon
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-18-2013, 02:12 PM
kolargol kolargol is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: tokyo
Posts: 14
Default Re: Buying PT 10

the dongle Ilok are sold everywhere so u can buy one and transfering the licence
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-18-2013, 02:15 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,526
Default Buying PT 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sparky1 View Post
Could he not use an existing USB dongle that he has for software licenses (if he has one) -> and transfer the Avid license to that?
If you don't have the dongle that currently has the license, there's no way to transfer it.


Buttdialed by me & Tapatalk
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Mojave 10.14.6.

Pro Tools Ultimate 2021.3, HD Native, Focusrite Red 8Pre (Mac)
Pro Tools 2020.12, Mbox3 (Win)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Buying a used Mac Pro. Drew Mazurek Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 13 03-09-2011 11:06 AM
buying a PT 7 PC UK fabpab 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 01-04-2006 05:52 AM
Buying A. Simon General Discussion 2 09-29-2003 07:37 PM
HELP! I am buying a Dell Laptop with intent on buying a DIGI 001 as well xian$ 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 01-18-2003 11:53 AM
Buying Mix 24: Which CPU should I buy? Chris Tveitbakk Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 11-01-2002 03:09 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:18 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com