Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 07-20-2023, 04:02 PM
skylar_battles skylar_battles is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2023
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 365
Default Re: Adding Playlist View to MIDI Tracks

Yes, it is a necessity!

This might be helpful:

https://www.reddit.com/r/protools/co...the_clip_list/
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-21-2023, 12:13 PM
chompers2022 chompers2022 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2022
Location: philly
Posts: 57
Default Re: Adding Playlist View to MIDI Tracks

so crazy. its the simplest feature request that would only help. no downside. cmon
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-26-2023, 09:55 AM
Cymian Cymian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2023
Location: Nashville TN
Posts: 8
Default Re: Adding Playlist View to MIDI Tracks

Thanks to everyone that responded.

Skylar: That is an interesting workaround that you offered to the thread. I have been experimenting with it. It’s not perfect but is does help my workflow. I personally haven’t used the CLIPS LIST much with my work but now I have a reason to use it. Also, the Command Option K (Cntl Alt K – Windows) hint to show the “auto-created” clips made during Punch Ins helped too. Thanks.

I’m using ProTools Studio 2023.6 Windows version. I don’t claim to be a ProTools expert, so I like to simplify things. One way to do this would be:

1. Loop record on the MIDI track

2. Select the MIDI clips created during the loop record from the CLIPS LIST of the Edit Window

3. Drag them to the TRACKS LIST of the Edit Window
- This will create a new MIDI track for each MIDI loop recorded in the main Edit Window. It will look similar to Playlist View. You can Mute and Solo each track as needed.

4. Assign output from each new MIDI track to the input of the original Virtual Instrument
- In my case the outputs from each new MIDI track did not perfectly route to the original virtual instrument/drums but that was easy to resolve.

5. Use one of the new MIDI tracks or create a new MIDI track as a comping target.

6. Copy, Paste, Merge, Fix and Consolidate to the MIDI comping target track as needed.

Of course, depending on the situation, there are lots of ways to do this.

Any other suggestions are also appreciated. I am curious how everyone else worked around this problem. I agree with everyone and hope Avid improves the MIDI editing in the future. MIDI editing just seems simpler in other DAWs.

Cymian
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-26-2023, 10:01 AM
skylar_battles skylar_battles is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2023
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 365
Default Re: Adding Playlist View to MIDI Tracks

The only thing I'd add is that you can select the all of the MIDI tracks and hold Option Shift to route them to the correct virtual instrument all at the same time, but everything you said is pretty much what I do as well.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-10-2023, 06:32 PM
Xensori Xensori is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Nashville
Posts: 17
Default Re: Adding Playlist View to MIDI Tracks

+1 on this feature. I've usually edited midi elsewhere and would like to do this all in the PT workflow, so I searched and found (here) the feature indeed isn't present and I'm not crazy. Appreciate the workarounds. I suppose that having track folders now could make that a bit more palatable. It's a slightly sick feeling to know that this isn't implemented in the normal playlist workflow yet, though.
__________________
ADK Windows 10 / RME / ATH M50s

Pro Tools Shortcuts App for iOS and Android
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 11-16-2023, 03:41 PM
skylar_battles skylar_battles is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2023
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 365
Default Re: Adding Playlist View to MIDI Tracks

Reviving this - biggest MIDI "issue" in PT IMO workflow-wise compared to any other DAW. Can we expect implementation for this at some point in a future version?
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate 2024.3.1
MacBook Pro 16"
Apple M2 Pro with 12‑core CPU, 19‑core GPU, 16‑core Neural Engine
32 GB unified memory
1TB SSD storage
Ventura 13.6.7
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 11-16-2023, 05:34 PM
Dizzi45Z Dizzi45Z is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UT, United States
Posts: 2,034
Default Re: Adding Playlist View to MIDI Tracks

Avid,

Please make this one a priority. It is so tedious finding workarounds because this feature is missing.
__________________
recording.guru : FREE Pro Tools Tips and 19 Video Basic Training Course
Pro Tools HDX 2023.9
Mac Pro 7,1 3.2 GHz 16-Core Xeon W
160 GB RAM
macOS 11.7.4
Noisebox Studios -Utah Recording Studio
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 11-20-2023, 06:29 PM
Cymian Cymian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2023
Location: Nashville TN
Posts: 8
Default Re: Adding Playlist View to MIDI Tracks

The sounds from the crickets are deafening. I'm afraid that this fruit will die on the vine........Again

Cymian
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 11-20-2023, 06:44 PM
skylar_battles skylar_battles is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2023
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 365
Default Re: Adding Playlist View to MIDI Tracks

Let’s hope not! This feature really is that important for those using MIDI to produce. None of this Pro Tools Sketch stuff (respectfully) can be nearly as important as just integrating a MIDI comping feature. Logic seems to have a similar issue where you cannot use their “quick swipe” system for MIDI or instrument tracks but Ableton has identical MIDI and audio comping which is pretty cool. I encourage anyone with a support plan to call and mention it Also if anyone with a social media presence in these communities could mention it that might be helpful. For what it’s worth, Avid Link hasn’t been working for me lately so I can’t check the status of feature requests there. It’s always been quite slow compared to just using this forum.
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate 2024.3.1
MacBook Pro 16"
Apple M2 Pro with 12‑core CPU, 19‑core GPU, 16‑core Neural Engine
32 GB unified memory
1TB SSD storage
Ventura 13.6.7
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 11-21-2023, 12:07 PM
massivekerry's Avatar
massivekerry massivekerry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 708
Default Re: Adding Playlist View to MIDI Tracks

Quote:
Originally Posted by skylar_battles View Post
Let’s hope not! This feature really is that important for those using MIDI to produce. None of this Pro Tools Sketch stuff (respectfully) can be nearly as important as just integrating a MIDI comping feature. Logic seems to have a similar issue where you cannot use their “quick swipe” system for MIDI or instrument tracks but Ableton has identical MIDI and audio comping which is pretty cool. I encourage anyone with a support plan to call and mention it Also if anyone with a social media presence in these communities could mention it that might be helpful. For what it’s worth, Avid Link hasn’t been working for me lately so I can’t check the status of feature requests there. It’s always been quite slow compared to just using this forum.
I dunno. I am concerned with the development of Sketch. It feels like existing users' music-making concerns have been back-burnered in a big push for new users, with different ideas of how music should be assembled.
__________________
Kerry Smith
http://apothekerry.com

Mac Studio Ultra : 128GB RAM : Ventura 13.6.6 : Carbon : PT Ultimate 2024.3.1 : S1 : Metagrid Pro
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to stop playlist view from turning all tracks the same color? ryanstewartguitar Pro Tools 10 0 12-11-2012 08:54 PM
View more than 1 playlist in PT9 for comping tracks Raoul23 Pro Tools 9 3 12-15-2010 08:45 AM
Resizing tracks in Playlist view davegibbon 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 03-08-2010 05:26 PM
PT8 - No Playlist View for MIDI Tracks? weezerboy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 12-23-2008 07:48 PM
View All "Playlist" Tracks... Loudnoize Ent. Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 12-11-2004 12:18 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:49 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com