Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools | Carbon

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-18-2022, 09:20 AM
martthie_08 martthie_08 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 352
Default Syncing Pro Tools Carbon to external timecode

I still have a HDX rig that works with Sync HD but really want to use my Carbon for mobile gigs. What are the best options to slave ProTools to external timecode provided by the video crew?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-18-2022, 10:14 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,270
Default Re: Syncing Pro Tools Carbon to external timecode

Quote:
Originally Posted by martthie_08 View Post
I still have a HDX rig that works with Sync HD but really want to use my Carbon for mobile gigs. What are the best options to slave ProTools to external timecode provided by the video crew?
Lockstep from Figure 53 is the best LTC to MTC translator I've found (better than the really unreliable one from Source Connect.) Bonus is it's free
https://figure53.github.io/studio/

So you point to an audio input on your system that is getting LTC coming from the vid crew (this has to be an additional audio interface not being used by Pro Tools -- could be even system input) and then redirect the MIDI timecode Lockstep generates to any MIDI port or IAC MIDI (software MIDI built into macOS.) Then set Pro Tools to listen to that MIDI port for MTC.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2024.6, HDX 2, MTRX/SPQ, RME BBF Pro + MADIface ProS1 x 2, Fire Max11 x 2, Dock, iPad Air5 Mac Mini 14,12, 12 core, macOS 13.6.7RAM 32GB, SSD 4TB, GPU 19 coreQNAP TVS-872XT 148TB TB3
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-23-2022, 01:34 AM
martthie_08 martthie_08 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 352
Default Re: Syncing Pro Tools Carbon to external timecode

Quote:
Originally Posted by BScout View Post
Lockstep from Figure 53 is the best LTC to MTC translator I've found (better than the really unreliable one from Source Connect.) Bonus is it's free
https://figure53.github.io/studio/

So you point to an audio input on your system that is getting LTC coming from the vid crew (this has to be an additional audio interface not being used by Pro Tools -- could be even system input) and then redirect the MIDI timecode Lockstep generates to any MIDI port or IAC MIDI (software MIDI built into macOS.) Then set Pro Tools to listen to that MIDI port for MTC.
fantastic, thank you so much, I will check it out!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Audio Timecode with protools, syncing with video [email protected] Pro Tools 26 10-03-2021 03:40 AM
Carbon Delay Comp with external hardware? tomhartman Pro Tools | Carbon 2 09-04-2021 08:41 AM
Carbon - External Source Monitoring [email protected] Pro Tools | Carbon 5 01-29-2021 01:50 PM
Import syncing timecode stamped audio in Pro Tools? illution1 Pro Tools 2018 1 03-22-2019 03:53 AM
Syncing Timecode DAT to PT? IO Composer Post - Surround - Video 6 10-20-2003 10:58 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:32 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com