Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-31-2011, 10:43 AM
Epik Productions Epik Productions is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 30
Default SYNC HD Not Working

Hey,

Today for no reason, our SYNC HD will not lock to sync in the active session.

We are tracking at 48k 24bit and have 2 192I/O's loop synced to the SYNC HD.

The locked light on both the SYNC HD and in the Session Setup dialog are blinking and will not resolve. It occasionally pulls up a dialog and says the sync is not locked and that audio will still play thou not synced, then it will randomly say its locked. Shortly after this the "locked" lights will begin blinking again. When this is happening, severe jitter is heard across all audio tracks when monitoring.

When the aforementioned dialog box appears the system is not synced and occasionally the sample rate led on the 192 will flash/blink very briefly and faintly. We had this happen during a session and we had to disconnect the SYNC HD from the chain and loop sync the two 192 boxes (with the first in the chain's internal clock set to be the clock source).

Also, when the SYNC HD is powered on, pressing the power button on the unit will not turn it off. We are uncertain if the button is not actually making contact with what it is supposed to or if it is simply malfunctioning.

Any Suggestions as to what this is, or should we be shipping this off to Avid to fix?


Thanks

-Epik
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-31-2011, 01:38 PM
the dude's Avatar
the dude the dude is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Burbank , Kalifornia, USA
Posts: 1,184
Default Re: SYNC HD Not Working

I just came across a sync hd with same exact problem
it won't even resolve to it own internal clock as reference
the owner sent to some local repair facility at avid recommendation and of coarse they said it was fixed but it wasn't
there is nothing really to fix inside
so the best solution out of warranty is to ask for an advance replacement and this way they swap it for another unit instead of attempting to fix it
it's a bit costly but so is lossing session time

if it's in warranty still ask for an advance replacement unit it will just cost less
__________________

•••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
http://www.studio-techservices.com

าำ
[email protected]m
Mitch Berger Tech Services




We service ALL Avid products no Problem
HD192, 192, Omni, Control Surface, Pre, XMON, 192HD AD & DA / Accel Cards, Everything

ALL NEW HD192 AD -DA modification. the difference is incredible... no need to ship the entire unit , fast turn around

inquiry using link above
Repairs of SSL-Neve- Consoles and Repair ALL Modern & Vintage Gear
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-12-2024, 03:16 PM
Big_Beast_Music Big_Beast_Music is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2022
Location: St. Catherine, Jamaica
Posts: 6
Default Re: SYNC HD Not Working

Ok I was having the same problem just now and all I did was change the Mini Digilink cable and it started working again flawlessly
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sync not working Nathan W. Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 06-08-2011 03:15 PM
Sync i/o not working actualsizeaudio Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 07-22-2005 04:59 PM
Sync I/O Varispeed not working fm_xtk Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 02-04-2005 01:32 PM
Is 9 pin working from the Sync I/O? John McDaniel Post - Surround - Video 1 05-28-2002 08:32 AM
Sync I/O not working with Mix Plus! johnnyv Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 05-08-2002 09:23 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:33 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com