Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-16-2024, 11:17 AM
Vytis Vytis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Vilnius
Posts: 255
Default Stream Deck + AutoHotKey: Pro Tools hotkey conflicts

Greetings.

I recently acquired a Stream Deck XL and have begun exploring its capabilities using AutoHotKey. I've successfully developed several useful PT automation scripts.

However, I've encountered a snag with certain functions that are easily triggered via shortcuts on my physical keyboard (e.g., Ctrl+Alt+F, Win+Alt+F, Ctrl+Alt+3). These shortcuts do not function as expected when executed from the Stream Deck app or through AHK scripts. For instance, Win+Alt+F should zoom to a selection, yet it mistakenly launches the Microsoft Feedback Hub instead when used from the Stream Deck or an AHK script.

Does anyone have any workarounds or tips for getting the Stream Deck to operate correctly with these shortcuts on Windows 10?

Thank you.
__________________
Vytis Puronas
Re-Recording Mixer / Sound Designer
------------------------------------
IMDB Credit List
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-16-2024, 01:11 PM
Vytis Vytis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Vilnius
Posts: 255
Default Re: Stream Deck + AutoHotKey: Pro Tools hotkey conflicts

Oh no, seems like there is no solution... That's a pitty.

https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=410980&nojs=1
__________________
Vytis Puronas
Re-Recording Mixer / Sound Designer
------------------------------------
IMDB Credit List
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-17-2024, 08:15 PM
guitardom guitardom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 6,810
Default Re: Stream Deck + AutoHotKey: Pro Tools hotkey conflicts

Any shortcuts involving the alt key will not work. Its a limitation within PT that has been around forever and we have complained about for years. You may look to see if any of the commands you need are available within the PT menu options and you can access them that way w AHK.
__________________

pro-tools-pc.com


TRASHER Pro Tools Utility(updated 4-11-2024)

HD Native, Avid 16x16, Eleven Rack, Focusrite Clarett 8preX, UA Quad Apollo TB.

Intel I9 14900k
Win 10
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-22-2024, 05:38 PM
Cruz Azul Cruz Azul is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Australia
Posts: 39
Default Re: Stream Deck + AutoHotKey: Pro Tools hotkey conflicts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vytis View Post
Oh no, seems like there is no solution... That's a pitty.

https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=410980&nojs=1
Hey Vytis - seemingly no answer for this one (which is pretty crazy!). I'm in the same position as you - Streamdeck on Windows. I've assigned a few shortcut keys but nothing like the power of macros on Cubase, Logic, Mac, Studio One, Soundflow etc which is very frustrating.

I've spent some time with the Avid Control app and some of the operations are useful. But the clunky (imo) layout is a bit of a pain and you're still really limited (EG - can't open a specific plugin from your list or Quantize to a specific value).

I've used PT for years but I recently purchased Cubase to see if I can make the jump across with improved shortcuts/workflow.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-27-2024, 11:27 AM
Prabha Prabha is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Santiago, Chile
Posts: 121
Default Re: Stream Deck + AutoHotKey: Pro Tools hotkey conflicts

This windows Pro Tools issue with the alt key is a pitty!! also got stream deck and got quite frustrated.

Interestingly enough I own a Tipro programmable keyboard and it works OK when using shortcuts that have the Alt key. The difference in it, is that the commands are written into the keyboard memory, and tht seems to be a difference for PT.

Its very discouraging to see all the many issues that are ignored by avid when it's about PT and windows. They blame windows when all other DAWs are eble to perform such simple tasks.
__________________
PC i714700K 5.8Ghz 32Gb ram Nvidia1050
Win 11
SSL MX4
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stream Deck+ vs. Loupedeck Live musiclee Pro Tools 7 03-08-2024 06:07 AM
Shortcuts for ProTools Intro using Stream Deck. yokeepout Windows 3 08-04-2023 07:04 AM
stream deck, macros, windows & Pro Tools not working Prabha Pro Tools 2020 5 10-05-2022 11:02 PM
Pro Tools ALL Groups hotkey unfirth Tips & Tricks 4 08-15-2021 10:37 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:51 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com