Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools | Intro Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-21-2024, 03:00 PM
tomoc_99 tomoc_99 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: san jose
Posts: 19
Default revision control on pro tools

I read in the pro tools manual about sessions verses projects and I am confused. If I want to save a currently solid version of a session do I have to convert to a project to be able to use the tool for revision control? i.e have a past revision to be able to bring up if after a bunch of changes that I either want to revert to old version or just want to look at the settings for a previous revision?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-22-2024, 06:44 AM
tope d's Avatar
tope d tope d is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 638
Default Re: revision control on pro tools

Quote:
Originally Posted by tomoc_99 View Post
I read in the pro tools manual about sessions verses projects and I am confused. If I want to save a currently solid version of a session do I have to convert to a project to be able to use the tool for revision control? i.e have a past revision to be able to bring up if after a bunch of changes that I either want to revert to old version or just want to look at the settings for a previous revision?
Hi There!

Pro Tools Sessions are the ones that can be saved locally on any drive/location. Now Pro Tools Projects are cloud based and will require you to sign in to be able to save one. No need to convert the sessions to projects in your case.

Hope this helps!
__________________
-Tope

To create a support case with Avid Support, go to https://www.avid.com/learn-and-suppo...-music-support

www.topedomingo.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-22-2024, 10:29 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 7,161
Default Re: revision control on pro tools

As Tope said SESSIONS are saved Locally, PROJECTS are saved in the Cloud.

Save your work as Sessions and, as you go forward, do "Save As" or "Save Copy In". If using Save Copy In, be sure to Check whatever you want included in the copy.

Look in the Reference Manual to understand the difference between Save As and Save Copy In and decide which fits what you want/need to do.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at reasonable rates
Demos: brucehayward dot com
SonoBus
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Options for Remote Direction
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 10 which revision to use?? Raoul23 Pro Tools 10 3 04-04-2014 01:03 PM
revision FOH Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 08-03-2007 09:07 AM
New Revision? emluper VENUE Live Sound Systems 3 03-28-2006 09:58 PM
which revision should i get is g the last one gould Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 0 02-22-2006 10:00 PM
What will the next Pro Tools revision bring? Lee Blaske Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 12 01-28-2003 04:39 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:49 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com