Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-01-2006, 05:32 AM
ModaRecords ModaRecords is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: NY NY
Posts: 110
Default calculate tempo remix

Hi I have always used Logic and set tempo by making a object 1 bar or so and using adjust tempo by object then timestretching to fit the tempo I neeed. Ussually its a vocal track. Whats the best way of doing this in PT7 as im using PT7 more and more for midi? Ifv I have a vocal track , and select 1 bar how can i know the tempo, and then take the whole track and make it tempo I need for remix?

Thx in advance as always..:)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-01-2006, 06:41 AM
Muzoid Muzoid is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: southeast VT
Posts: 525
Default Re: calculate tempo remix

Do you have the original mix and the instrumental and accapella?

Easier to calculate tempo on the inst, then line up the main and acca to match that.

After you have that sorted out, then you can do any time compression/expansion on the vocals as desired.

I've done this for years.

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-01-2006, 06:51 AM
Ozzie Ozzie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 318
Default Re: calculate tempo remix

Use "Identify Beat" look it up in the manual for an indepth explanation.

Regards
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-01-2006, 07:32 AM
ModaRecords ModaRecords is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: NY NY
Posts: 110
Default Re: calculate tempo remix

im confused on how to do this.. can you give me a quick run down? thx in advance..:)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-01-2006, 09:02 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,582
Default Re: calculate tempo remix

i don't do this much so forgive me if i'm wrong but.........

make a selection that encompasses 1 bar, press command I and enter measure1 in the start and measure 2 in the end and hit ok. PT will calculate the tempo based on that. the the bigger your selection the more accurate it'll be.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-01-2006, 09:49 AM
woodsdenis woodsdenis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 506
Default Re: calculate tempo remix

make sure you have conductor track on when you do this
__________________
Denis

Mac Pro 3.3 hexacore
24 gb RAM
Lion
PT 10 HD Native
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-02-2006, 04:07 AM
Muzoid Muzoid is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: southeast VT
Posts: 525
Default Re: calculate tempo remix

simple idea is something like this but varies depending on the material...

If it's highly percussive (drums are well defined in the mix)...

Find 1st easily identifiable beat (say it's a kick at Bar 1 Beat 1, if you're really lucky), zoom in, place cursor, apple-I (identify beat), designate at 1.1.

go to end of song, if it's hip-hop and it's all 8 bar sections, go to beginning of last 8 bar section, find kick on 1, place cursor exactly as you did before, identify beat (count measures so you know what bar/beat this is) and voila PT calculates the tempo and you have a grid to work with.

do that with the instrumental, line up the main to the inst, nudge till perfect, then line up acca to main. You can do all sorts of stuff like panning the main to one side and the acca to the other and nudge the acca till the vocal seems to sit right together,

Good Luck. If you still need help, email me.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-03-2006, 02:48 AM
ModaRecords ModaRecords is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: NY NY
Posts: 110
Default Re: calculate tempo remix

Thx to everyone.. can you also suggest what the best is to use to alter the tempo of the vocal to the new tempo I want after I know the original tempo? thx..:)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-03-2006, 08:48 AM
MAXIMUSIC MAXIMUSIC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: FL, USA
Posts: 702
Default Re: calculate tempo remix

Quote:
Thx to everyone.. can you also suggest what the best is to use to alter the tempo of the vocal to the new tempo I want after I know the original tempo? thx..:)
There are many options:

Plugins:
Serato Pitch'n'Time
Waves Time Shifter
Speed
Digi TimeStretch

Applications:
Ableton Live
Celemony's Melodyne

I've been getting great results with Waves Time Shifter, it's the one with less audio artifacts.
__________________
Life is good !!
Marcello Azevedo
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Calculate tempo does not match tempo ruler sssonic Pro Tools 9 1 11-07-2011 10:34 AM
remix tempo issue please help helider Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 3 10-20-2009 12:38 PM
Remix question, changing tempo? Gothboy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 11-13-2007 05:04 PM
How to calculate Tempo DOUBLE EDGE 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 17 09-28-2006 01:14 PM
Remix tempo ModaRecords Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 05-21-2004 07:54 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:19 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com