Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Old 05-26-2009, 03:38 AM

Unhappy Confused newbie seeking answers!

Greetings, and thanks for taking time to read my post.

I am fairly new to Pro Tools, although I used a 7.x version back in school several years ago.

Anyway, the story goes as following: I've been mixing, making, recording music since I was a kid. On a very amateur level of course. Recently I felt the need to upgrade from FruityLoops, which I have used for quite some time but never got really acquainted to. I decided to go get me a MBOX 2 Mini bundle and shortly after that upgraded to the most recent version of Pro Tools (8 LE).

I have, however, had several problems with it since the start. I fixed the crashes and whatnot but now the main trouble lies within the program. Don't go all "RTFM!" on me now, because I've tried hard to find the information elsewhere. Read the (outdated) PDF's and searched the web.

Let's get into it then...

Drum loops
So I figured out how to add this built-in plugin named Boom! which seemed like an OK addon but I quickly found that I had no idea how to actually add my drum loop to the editing window, with the tracks and all. Also, is it not possible to replace the drums with my own samples? In that case, will I need a plugin similar to FruityLoops' simple pattern-based loop-making, or is there a built-in way to do this in Pro Tools already?

Piano roll?
Is there a piano roll? Where? I've found the MIDI Editor which looks similar but I can't get regular samples to go in there, it only works with MIDI tracks.

Mic problem