Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-15-2004, 08:44 PM
Eric Baragar Eric Baragar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 7
Default No firewire device found - 002R - check your cable

Here's what I learned from a recent Digi 002R firewire failure.

My Digi 002R suddenly stopped working to the point where the Apple System Profiler of OSX 10.2.8 could "not detect a firewire device". The Pro Tools CoreAudio driver would not initialize when starting any application used by the driver, i.e., Pro Tools LE, Logic Audio Pro, iTunes, Jam, etc. The driver was giving an error to the effect that the CoreAudio driver was in use by another device.

I tested both firewire ports on my MAC G4 733 Mhz with another device and both ports were OK. This test device used a firewire cable that did not have the same connectors as the 002R firewire cable, so I could not use it to test the 002R.

I spent 4-5 hours troubleshooting on my own before calling Digidesign tech support. Digidesign had not seen this problem before. Before shipping the 002R back for repair, I agreed to try the 002R with another MAC .

I borrowed a MAC and a couple of firewire cables from a friend. Before I tried the alternate MAC, I connected with a different firewire cable and… (drum roll) - it worked!

Somehow, the cable that shipped with the 002R had failed. To double-check, I re-connected with the original 002R cable and it failed… "No firewire device found". The original cable appeared to be in good condition and the link light on the back of the 002R lit up with the failed cable connected, but it no longer worked.

I went back to the alternate cable and the OS detected the 002R, but the CoreAudio driver was still "in use". I tried to reset the firmware with a command from Digidesign: Hold down Command + Option + O + F (Open Firmware) on boot up and type "reset-all" at the prompt and hit enter to reboot.* Still no CoreAudio driver.

I deleted all Pro Tools, CoreAudio, and DAE files I could find and re-installed Pro Tools 6.1 from the install CD.* This brought the 002R back to life, but there was no CoreAudio Setup utility to setup other applications, i.e., iTunes, Jam, etc.

I downloaded and installed the latest version of Pro Tools LE 6.1.2 which automatically installs the matching CoreAudio driver 6.1.2.* This version of the CoreAudio driver installs the CoreAudio Setup utility that allowed me to setup iTunes, Jam, and the other applications requiring CoreAudio.

Problem solved.*

This incident also proves one of my personal troubleshooting rules when dealing with any kind of audio gear. I call it the 90 Percent Rule… "90 percent of the time.. It's a cable." - even when the link light is on.

__________________
Eric Baragar
BigBMusic
http://www.bentwoodrocker.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-16-2004, 06:20 AM
dicknash dicknash is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 14
Default Re: No firewire device found - 002R - check your cable

I had the excact same frigging problem in December. Was so happy to get my 002R in the mail I hugged it for an hour. Then spend 10 hours trying to make it work. I was just about to kick it off the porch and decided as a last ditch effort to go buy another firewire cable.

The cable that shipped with the 002 was bad right out of the box.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-16-2004, 12:43 PM
koko koko is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: The Pole
Posts: 148
Default Re: No firewire device found -002-Cable ?

And here is what I learned;

Even in MacOS X - DEACTIVATE APPLETALK (network preference pane)

I had intermittent "Hardware not found" , dropouts, CoreAudio stalls, sample rate mismatches, etc
I tried various short and long FW cables, I reinstalled PT, upgraded then downgraded...

until I found I had my AppleTalk on "Active"

PS Don't you think the supplied FW cable is too long for its build quality ? And why doesn't Digi add these magnetic polarizers bits ?
__________________
Post Meridian Productions
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Found a full box of PT9, can I check if it's registered? BeatSneaker Pro Tools 9 0 10-25-2013 02:51 PM
Connecting 002R with firewire 400-800 cable RuffinMedia macOS 3 02-23-2012 07:00 AM
2gb,check! firewire audio drive,check! samples.... bump!! MarkusB 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 06-24-2007 02:25 AM
002R Noise when repositionin firewire cable, etc. agent_k 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 12-09-2004 05:33 PM
Digi 002r not detecting Firewire cable - just pops Weatherbox 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 12-07-2004 01:09 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:50 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com