Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-05-2021, 12:50 PM
originalscottyg originalscottyg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Detroit
Posts: 984
Default Offline AAF "Render Sources" unable to delete

I'm having a strange issue with offline "Render Sources" after importing a referenced AAF.

I occasionally get AAFs that refuse to relink media for whatever reason. Usually, after importing session data from the AAF, then attempting and failing to relink the audio (using multiple approaches; match name only, uncheck match duration, etc.), I select all of the offline media in the clips bin and remove from the session. Then request a new AAF from the editor.

This time, after removing all of the offline files from the clip bin, I am left with hundreds of "Render Sources" that are offline. These files don't show up in the clips bin, and there is no way to delete them from the Workspace. The Workspace shows the path of these media files as being on the editor's raid volume.

It's not a huge dealbreaker or workflow stopper; I just have to "Skip All" every time I open the session. But it's annoying and I've never seen this behavior before.

Has anybody seen this and/or know of a solution or a way to delete the references to these from my session?

FYI, this session was created in 2021.3, but the problem persists when I open the session in 2020.11.


MacbookPro i9 2.3GHz 32GB RAM
macOS 10.14.6
PT Ultimate 2021.3 (and 2020.11)
HD Native TB + Omni
Attached Images
File Type: png Screen Shot 2021-04-05 at 3.37.34 PM.png (85.0 KB, 0 views)
__________________
Scott Gatteño

Last edited by originalscottyg; 04-05-2021 at 01:24 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-05-2021, 02:53 PM
Ray JB Ray JB is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 539
Default Re: Offline AAF "Render Sources" unable to delete

I'd be interested to find out if you are using the option Only include clips on the timeline in the import session window when you bring in the AAF?

I've had a few strange AAF's that were referencing a vast bunch of stuff that was not effectively playing in the session. Using this option seemed to clean up at least some of it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-06-2021, 09:52 AM
originalscottyg originalscottyg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Detroit
Posts: 984
Default Re: Offline AAF "Render Sources" unable to delete

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ray JB View Post
I'd be interested to find out if you are using the option Only include clips on the timeline in the import session window when you bring in the AAF?

I've had a few strange AAF's that were referencing a vast bunch of stuff that was not effectively playing in the session. Using this option seemed to clean up at least some of it.
Yes, I do have the Only Include Clips In Timeline option checked.

I could try creating a new session and importing all the tracks. I am guessing that would clear up the references to Render Sources, since they don't seem to be tied to clips that are actually in the session or referenced in the timeline. But I haven't had a sec to try that yet.
__________________
Scott Gatteño
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unable to Delete "Key" Markers Sid0 Windows 0 10-29-2018 11:22 PM
How do I rack several plug-ins for "offline" render? wevets Windows 5 05-02-2017 10:09 AM
"Unable to bounce offline" fcamardella Pro Tools 12 6 11-25-2016 04:36 PM
"unable to parse audio file" and "OSStatus Error -208" ! reichman Post - Surround - Video 2 03-22-2010 04:46 AM
What's the difference between "online" and "offline" editing ? stuu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 02-21-2002 03:46 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:39 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com