Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-30-2008, 03:30 PM
gbross gbross is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 132
Default What happened to the 7.* compressors in PT 8?

I am running PT 8 LE on an XP machine.

Where are the "standard" compressors that I have been using for years? These are the compressor plug-ins that came with PT 6.* LE and PT 7.* LE.

Can I download them from somewhere? Where? Will they work with PT8?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-30-2008, 03:48 PM
wolfskin wolfskin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Posts: 447
Default Re: What happened to the 7.* compressors in PT 8?

All digirack (stock) plug-ins are automatically installed with the PT8 installer.

Which 'standard' compressor are you looking for specifically?
__________________
Windows XP Pro SP3 & Vista Ultimate SP1 / 002R v8.0 w/ MPT2
AMD X2 4800+ Dual Core / 1000 FSB / 4 GB RAM
www.wolfskinrecords.com
www.voodoopilot.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-30-2008, 03:58 PM
SeedGuy SeedGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 416
Default Re: What happened to the 7.* compressors in PT 8?

They can be found in the unused plug-ins folder. \Program Files\Common Files\Digidesign\DAE\Plug-ins (unused)\

Thats if you're talking about EQ II and Dynamics II

I think I read somewhere on the DUC that they're not supported by DIGI anymore, but can obviously still be used. May be wrong however.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-30-2008, 11:05 PM
spy2520 spy2520 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 107
Default Re: What happened to the 7.* compressors in PT 8?

all the dynamics 3 plug-ins work for me on xp. Maybe the older ones are unsupported.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-31-2008, 11:00 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,796
Default Re: What happened to the 7.* compressors in PT 8?

Quote:
I think I read somewhere on the DUC that they're not supported by DIGI anymore, but can obviously still be used. May be wrong however.
That is correct - they were phased out with 7.4. Only the 'III' versions are supported in 7.4 and higher.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-31-2008, 12:27 PM
sean shannon sean shannon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 801
Default Re: What happened to the 7.* compressors in PT 8?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigiTechSupt View Post
That is correct - they were phased out with 7.4. Only the 'III' versions are supported in 7.4 and higher.
What sucks about that is that those were useful utility plugins that used almost no CPU, and did the job just fine. Sometimes I need a simple highpass filter, for example, and don't need the flashy GUI of the EQIII, and the old EQII was a perfect, no-nonsense plugin. I also used the Compressor more than about any other plugin. It just worked, with extremely low CPU usage. Especially useful on my laptop.

Why would the decision be made to un-"support" a useful Digi plugin? They are used in a ton of sessions, and opening one will now involve replacing all of those. Why? Tired of the look?
__________________
Check your mix in mono.
www.mixingtheband.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-31-2008, 01:31 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,796
Default Re: What happened to the 7.* compressors in PT 8?

Quote:
Why would the decision be made to un-"support" a useful Digi plugin? They are used in a ton of sessions, and opening one will now involve replacing all of those. Why? Tired of the look?
Because they take time and resources to support - time and resources that could be used for other things.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-01-2009, 12:27 PM
sean shannon sean shannon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 801
Default Re: What happened to the 7.* compressors in PT 8?

Oh. I'm not a programmer, and the plug was already written, so I assumed it was already integrated. I was unaware that it would take extra time and resources to "support" those. That's too bad, they were quick and easy in a high-paced session. Thanks for the clarification.
__________________
Check your mix in mono.
www.mixingtheband.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-01-2009, 01:25 PM
SeedGuy SeedGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 416
Default Re: What happened to the 7.* compressors in PT 8?

Digi spent time creating updated EQ and dynamics plugs, which sound much better than the old ones, just as simple to use, and still use very little resources, so I see no problem here!?

If you have older sessions with the plugs then you can still use them.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-01-2009, 03:48 PM
pennard pennard is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Tasmania - Australia
Posts: 59
Default Re: What happened to the 7.* compressors in PT 8?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sean shannon View Post
What sucks about that is that those were useful utility plugins that used almost no CPU, and did the job just fine. Sometimes I need a simple highpass filter, for example, and don't need the flashy GUI of the EQIII, and the old EQII was a perfect, no-nonsense plugin. .....
Have you tried the AIR KiLLeq
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
using compressors? bonzerboy General Discussion 2 11-04-2012 03:54 AM
Compressors in PT Wango 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 01-03-2009 12:20 PM
compressors Edson 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 12-28-2006 11:52 AM
New URS Compressors George Ware Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 1 10-08-2005 05:30 AM
Wow!!! URS Compressors!!!! Third Eye Studios 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 10-07-2005 05:39 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:00 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com