Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 12-07-2021, 09:35 AM
priorytools priorytools is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,252
Default Re: Shortcut to close hidden tracks and groups?

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Read the manual(Help files) on how to show/hide the Tracks List and Clips List.
Or, click on the tiny arrow at/near the lower left corner. How much shorter than a single mouse click do you need?
DAVE.
With all due respect, that's not really very helpful. . In the manual, which I am looking at right now, I can find no other way of show/hide clips list other than the little button, oh, or going up into the views menu.
Am I missing something ? Is there a a key command already?
In answer to your "one mouse click" question, when ones hands are on faders mixing, a key command or button press is so much more useful than a mouse click. .
__________________
~ 2019 Rack Mac Pro 3.2 GHz 16 core 384 GB RAM Catalina 10.15.7 / Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.12.0 / HDX 2 + UAD2 PCIe OCTO+QUAD / HD I/O's x 4 + 1 x 96io / Digidesign Pre's x 3 / Avid S6 M10-24 -V20.11.1.10 ~
~ Mac Pro 8 core - clover - 13 GB ram - 10.6.8 / HD5 / Pro Tools 9.0.6 / Magma PE6R4 ~ ARCHIVE RIG

~ Mac Pro (Early 2009) - 2 x 2.26 GHz Quad-Core-32 GB RAM-10.13.6 / Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.10 / Apollo 16 / Avid S3 ~

Last edited by priorytools; 12-07-2021 at 09:46 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-07-2021, 12:12 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 38,153
Default Re: Shortcut to close hidden tracks and groups?

No disrespect is taken and none was intended. It actually was helpful as now you know that A-there is no shortcut. And B-a solution(even though it wasn't what you hoped for). Many of my suggestions may seem obvious or elementary, but many come here with little to no knowledge and I try to offer solutions for all levels of experience

Now here is a solution you may not have considered. You can save Windows configurations and save them on your marker list(but not on the Marker Lane). Doing this allows for keyboard show/hide of anything you like, including the Tracks list by using the numeric keypad. I have my "usual" view saved as "location" 50 and my Tracks and Clips lists open in "location" 51. So, on the numeric keys, I can hit .50. to show my usual view(both lists closed) and hit .51. to show both lists. I also went digging and I concur that there is no other/existing shortcut. That leaves us with the location method, or the mouse click. For those with short keyboards(missing the numeric keypad), I highly recommend adding a USB keypad(they are cheap and those keys come in really handy)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-08-2021, 05:36 AM
priorytools priorytools is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,252
Default Re: Shortcut to close hidden tracks and groups?

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
No disrespect is taken and none was intended. It actually was helpful as now you know that A-there is no shortcut. And B-a solution(even though it wasn't what you hoped for). Many of my suggestions may seem obvious or elementary, but many come here with little to no knowledge and I try to offer solutions for all levels of experience

Now here is a solution you may not have considered. You can save Windows configurations and save them on your marker list(but not on the Marker Lane). Doing this allows for keyboard show/hide of anything you like, including the Tracks list by using the numeric keypad. I have my "usual" view saved as "location" 50 and my Tracks and Clips lists open in "location" 51. So, on the numeric keys, I can hit .50. to show my usual view(both lists closed) and hit .51. to show both lists. I also went digging and I concur that there is no other/existing shortcut. That leaves us with the location method, or the mouse click. For those with short keyboards(missing the numeric keypad), I highly recommend adding a USB keypad(they are cheap and those keys come in really handy)
Ok. Thanks for your reply Dave.
That's all very time consuming. .
I have just achieved my goal.
I have assigned F11 to open & close the tracks/groups list & F12 to open & close the track list. .
It was remarkably simple.
Of course I now notice this thread is in the Windows area of Pro Tools software. .
Anyway. .
Have a cool Yule. .
__________________
~ 2019 Rack Mac Pro 3.2 GHz 16 core 384 GB RAM Catalina 10.15.7 / Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.12.0 / HDX 2 + UAD2 PCIe OCTO+QUAD / HD I/O's x 4 + 1 x 96io / Digidesign Pre's x 3 / Avid S6 M10-24 -V20.11.1.10 ~
~ Mac Pro 8 core - clover - 13 GB ram - 10.6.8 / HD5 / Pro Tools 9.0.6 / Magma PE6R4 ~ ARCHIVE RIG

~ Mac Pro (Early 2009) - 2 x 2.26 GHz Quad-Core-32 GB RAM-10.13.6 / Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.10 / Apollo 16 / Avid S3 ~
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-08-2021, 07:00 AM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 38,153
Default Re: Shortcut to close hidden tracks and groups?

Quote:
Originally Posted by priorytools View Post
Ok. Thanks for your reply Dave.
That's all very time consuming. .
I have just achieved my goal.
I have assigned F11 to open & close the tracks/groups list & F12 to open & close the track list. .
It was remarkably simple.
Of course I now notice this thread is in the Windows area of Pro Tools software. .
Anyway. .
Have a cool Yule. .
Most excellent! It actually doesn't take any time at all if you build it into templates, but your solution is equally dandy. Happy Holidays
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-31-2022, 06:21 PM
abc1mce2's Avatar
abc1mce2 abc1mce2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: The Motor City
Posts: 422
Default Re: Shortcut to close hidden tracks and groups?

Windows configuration has been my method since I saw its uses on a Groove 3 video years ago. I used it in Windows and now I use it in macOS. It's part of my workflow.
__________________
What is more relaxing than Music?
Pro Tools Carbon is here!
My HDX is on the way out


Gigabyte Z490 Vision D - BIOS F21b
Intel Core I9 10850K Windows11 / macOS 10.15.7 Hackintosh / 32GB of Rams
Avid Carbon/HDX 2022.4 Ultimate - 16x16 - 8x8x8 HD I/O - PT Dock - PT Control - Artist Mix (2)
Universal Audio UAD2 Pci-E and Satellite USB Octo v.9.15.1 - SOLO 610 - Twin-finity
Antelope Trinity - 10M
Grace Design M905
Bricasti M7 (2)
Lexicon PCM96
Burl B2 Bomber ADC
Dangerous 2Bus
Neumann KH805 - KH310
Yamaha NS-10M
Avantone Mixcubes
Etc, etc, etc.

Last edited by abc1mce2; 02-02-2022 at 12:07 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hidden Shift command keyboard shortcut daeron80 Pro Tools 10 3 05-15-2012 07:22 AM
Should mixer/edit groups still work if tracks are hidden? Ru_C Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 01-25-2008 10:49 AM
Hidden shortcut for autorename? Frank Kruse Post - Surround - Video 1 06-01-2007 08:59 AM
show hidden track in CF groups? KimSira ICON & C|24 2 10-04-2006 08:37 AM
Is there a shortcut for adding or deleting tracks from existing track groups? melodymanpop 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 05-13-2001 11:31 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:09 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com