Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  ē  Community Terms of Use  ē  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  ē  Community Search  ē  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools | Carbon

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-07-2021, 02:52 PM
tekn0 tekn0 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2021
Location: Chicago
Posts: 22
Default Any 192khz Carbon Users?

I'm just curious if any users are working at 192K with the carbon. What kind of DSP mileage you're getting out of your favorite plug-ins. Hows is the CPU usage? How you're liking the sound.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-09-2021, 08:41 PM
Matt Hepworth's Avatar
Matt Hepworth Matt Hepworth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Utah
Posts: 527
Default Re: Any 192khz Carbon Users?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tekn0 View Post
I'm just curious if any users are working at 192K with the carbon. What kind of DSP mileage you're getting out of your favorite plug-ins. Hows is the CPU usage? How you're liking the sound.
Lots of plugins don't work at 192, but lots do. What's your motivation for 192 instead?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-30-2021, 02:29 PM
tekn0 tekn0 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2021
Location: Chicago
Posts: 22
Default Re: Any 192khz Carbon Users?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt Hepworth View Post
Lots of plugins don't work at 192, but lots do. What's your motivation for 192 instead?
Fold back aliasing, and fold back distortion. I use lots of saturation, overdrive, and distortion plug-ins. These types of plug-ins sound horrible at low sample rates.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-09-2021, 02:13 AM
darkwavo darkwavo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2021
Location: Amsterdam , Netherlands
Posts: 89
Default Re: Any 192khz Carbon Users?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tekn0 View Post
Fold back aliasing, and fold back distortion. I use lots of saturation, overdrive, and distortion plug-ins. These types of plug-ins sound horrible at low sample rates.
Interesting. Iím loving Carbon - the interface sounds fanstastic to me, and Iím coming from a Burl mothership / HDX rigÖ
Iím running at 96k and it sounds super balanced and resolved.
I prefer it to 48k, which Iíve also been using.

To add to your question , is anyone doing 32 bit sessions ?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-09-2021, 07:38 AM
K Roche's Avatar
K Roche K Roche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wilds of Wyoming
Posts: 1,838
Default Re: Any 192khz Carbon Users?

Quote:
Originally Posted by darkwavo View Post
Interesting. I’m loving Carbon - the interface sounds fanstastic to me, and I’m coming from a Burl mothership / HDX rig…
I’m running at 96k and it sounds super balanced and resolved.
I prefer it to 48k, which I’ve also been using.

To add to your question , is anyone doing 32 bit sessions ?
I have pretty much just been doing 24 bit 48 k also.
I suppose I could try 32 bit if I do I will report back

I have not heard back anything on the 2021.10 I/O issue where if launch at a different sample rate it will loose the I/O settings OR am I the only one experiencing this ?
problem discussed here
https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=415747&page=3
__________________
System :
Avid Carbon interface , PT Ultimate 2022.6 .....Mid 2020 iMac 27" 3.8GHz 8-core i7 10th Gen processor,,128GB 2666MHz DDR4 memory,,2TB SSD storage,,Radeon Pro 5700 XT with 16GB of GDDR6 memory,, on Monterey 12.5.1

"Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding" Albert Einstein

Enjoy the Journey
.... Kev...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-10-2021, 10:22 AM
tekn0 tekn0 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2021
Location: Chicago
Posts: 22
Default Re: Any 192khz Carbon Users?

I have been using 32 bit. As advertised the converter is native 32 bit. I'm not sure if I can tell a difference. But I do feel like there's a hint more dynamic range. This could be good or bad depending on what you're going for.

I figure I have the computer and the space, and I bought the Ferrari interface. Might as well drive it fast. :)

I really like the sound of this thing. It's one of the reasons I bought it. The pres and converters sound so balanced. Everything has a slight bit of thickness and weight to it surprisingly. Cheaper boxes never have this balanced sound to me. The carbon does. I was looking at more transformer-based stuff originally, but the carbon kept catching my ears.

Last edited by tekn0; 09-05-2022 at 07:52 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-14-2021, 01:03 AM
darkwavo darkwavo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2021
Location: Amsterdam , Netherlands
Posts: 89
Default Re: Any 192khz Carbon Users?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tekn0 View Post
I have been using 32 bit. As advertised the converter is native 32 bit. I'm not sure if I can tell a difference. But I do feel like there's a hint more dynamic range. This could be good or bad depending on what you're going for.

I figure I have the computer and the space, and I bought the Ferrari interface. Might as well drive it fast. :)

I really like the sound of this thing. It's one of the reasons I bought it. The pres and converters sound so balanced. Everything has a slight bit of thickness and weight to it surprisingly. Cheaper boxes never have this balanced sound to me. The carbon does. I was looking at more transformer-based stuff originally, but the carbon kept catching my ears. The match of carbon and HEAT at high sample rates is a joy to work with.
Agree with you about the weight and balanced tone of Carbon . Itís special. I actually am preferring the pure but solid tone over the systems Iíve used in the past including the Burl- which was over 10k$$$ for converters alone!

Awesome machine the Carbon !
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-26-2021, 02:10 PM
tekn0 tekn0 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2021
Location: Chicago
Posts: 22
Default Re: Any 192khz Carbon Users?

Quote:
Originally Posted by darkwavo View Post
Agree with you about the weight and balanced tone of Carbon . Itís special. I actually am preferring the pure but solid tone over the systems Iíve used in the past including the Burl- which was over 10k$$$ for converters alone!

Awesome machine the Carbon !
Absolutely! I was definitely looking at all the transformer options. But I just loved the sound of the carbon. And like I said above, HEAT adds any of that mojo I need. :)

I just wish they made it so you could track live with HEAT on. They disable it for some reason. Hopefully, in an update, they change that.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-13-2022, 05:57 PM
Mikey MTC Mikey MTC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 568
Default Re: Any 192khz Carbon Users?

Quote:
Originally Posted by darkwavo View Post
To add to your question , is anyone doing 32 bit sessions ?
All sessions are 32 bit, in terms of mixing. Some portions are 64 bit.

The 32 bit session option only refers to recording new files and/or when other files get rendered into the session due to sample rate mismatch, etc.

I still don't see the point of actually analog recording 32 bit files, given 24 bits provides more dynamic range than any converter, or our ears can capture. (As long as we don't clip our 24 bit recording)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Any Carbon users who were using UAD Apollo before? Oblivion777 Pro Tools | Carbon 72 04-03-2021 04:51 PM
Does H.E.A.T. only work at 192Khz studiojb Pro Tools 2020 11 05-05-2020 10:38 PM
192khz recording capt kirk Pro Tools 9 1 02-12-2012 10:16 AM
I cant go to 192KHZ KINGDRAGON Tips & Tricks 2 01-30-2010 12:57 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:44 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com