Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-08-2001, 09:25 PM
Matt Stutter Matt Stutter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Wellington, NZ
Posts: 571
Default Exporting Markers?

We'd really like to be able to export out markers.

Any ideas how? Or would it be a great feature request? We use them for "marking" or spotting where fixes need to be, or effects to be laid and share sessions around with editors.

Tips or agreement welcome.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-11-2001, 09:29 AM
Jules Jules is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,565
Default Re: Exporting Markers?

Agree!
Music / band backing track templates, say with sophisticated tempo changes.. WTF happens to em when you wanna dump the material into say a "Mix" template later on - all is gone and its just more tedius stuff to re-do ... This bugs me mucho too.

Jules

[This message has been edited by Jules (edited May 11, 2001).]
__________________
Jules
London, UK
Come hang with us here!
www.gearslutz.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-13-2001, 07:21 PM
Matt Stutter Matt Stutter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Wellington, NZ
Posts: 571
Default Re: Exporting Markers?

So Digi - that's a well valid request from the Music Department combined with our Post request....

When? Or how??

5.1.1?? (also, when??).
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-13-2001, 08:46 PM
uno1234 uno1234 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,459
Default Re: Exporting Markers?

this would be nice.

it would be also cool to move the first marker (a special "song start" marker), and have the rest of the markers be able to line up in a relative position (as an option, of course).
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-14-2001, 01:21 PM
Matt Stutter Matt Stutter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Wellington, NZ
Posts: 571
Default Re: Exporting Markers?

Oooo Oooo, and while we're there a hot key to "return to first marker".

Or is there one and I've missed it?

Regards,
m.

(just keeping it to the top of the pile, our prayers will be answered, won't they digi?).
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-14-2001, 09:10 PM
DaveP DaveP is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 166
Default Re: Exporting Markers?

While we are dreaming, how about an option to conform Marker locations. For those of us that work in Post. When we get a video conform all the markers are out the window. And how about 999 instead of 99 markers. 99 is way too limiting for post work, especially when they also must be shared with memory locations.

Dave P
__________________
Dave Paterson
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-14-2001, 09:34 PM
uno1234 uno1234 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,459
Default Re: Exporting Markers?

I'd like to be able to organize markers in different categories, much like I organize my different addresses in my Palm.

Think about it: song structure, cue points, pre-roll, track heights... whatever. Fully customizable. You can "show all", or just show one category. You then can show different rulers for each category (and only show the categories you want), or you can "show all" on the ruler, so all the markers show up on the same ruler!

And you should be able to renumber the markers! (or give it any number you choose...). This would be a major time saver when restructuring the song.... or if you left out a chorus marker and you still want the marker numbers to run in order. (You could also put all your preroll/postroll markers in the 20s, your track height markers in the 30s, etc, for convenience).

Whew! That'd be nice.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-14-2001, 11:10 PM
Matt Stutter Matt Stutter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Wellington, NZ
Posts: 571
Default Re: Exporting Markers?

Do we want colours with that too?? (or "colors" for the US readers).

But yeah - sorting would be great.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-15-2001, 08:54 AM
Peter Steinbach Peter Steinbach is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: San Francisco, CA USA
Posts: 332
Default Re: Exporting Markers?

Another voice in the wind....
Can we please have the ability to "lock" markers? I use the markers track often to select regions to be deleted. Say I "Tab shift tab" to select an area in the markers track, then shift-click on an audio track to select the same area. If I hit "delete", the markers die as well as the audio. Poo.
-p
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-15-2001, 10:40 AM
Guruman Guruman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Dallas, TX, USA
Posts: 110
Default Re: Exporting Markers?

Here's one,

why not allow us to move all of our markers at once. for instance, if I have a long ad-lib VO session like an audio book or an instructional something or other, I would LOVE to be able to remove all of the "umms" and "uhhs" in shuffle mode where all of the audio scoots up and have the markers move up as well. Even the ability to select all of the markers and do anything other than delete them all at once would be a plus.

Also, dig the idea about markers in categories. Cool man.
__________________
-Guruman
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Beat Markers Appearing As Elastic Audio Markers Fabdickson Pro Tools 9 1 03-06-2012 05:03 PM
How to turn all Event Markers into Warp Markers ??? fman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 15 04-29-2011 01:46 PM
Exporting Markers to New Session Gilliss Tips & Tricks 5 01-26-2007 08:40 PM
Importing/exporting markers bassist 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 12-17-2005 12:31 PM
exporting markers as text? AdamFrick Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 06-05-2001 06:33 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:01 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com