Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > MBOX Studio

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 04-21-2024, 10:51 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 19,675
Default Re: Mbox Studio Playback WAV

Right, yes sorry you gave easily enough info to know it's not the playback software. And so still this makes no sense.

I'm not saying it's not happening but I cannot make sense of any way this could happen. Again especially if you are using the same software outputs then you get the same monitoring signal treatment (and I know yes you have turned them off). As far as I know there is no per-app monitor control settings/per-app monitor profiles that could be causing stuff here (I'm thinking of things that might be there in Mbox Control and not properly be turned off even if they say they are).

Things like bouncing to a PCM/WAV file, at the same sample rate as sessions etc. might be worth doing in other cases but here you know the output to the other interfaces with these WAV files do not suffer from problems.

I'd just be returning it if possible, the problem can remain a mystery.

If you purchased this retail can you ask the seller to let you do a test with your unit and a demo unit in the store? Just use their computer if possible. Somebody else on DUC had a really weird interface problem (not an Mbox Studio) and I was really impressed how much their retailer tried to help them out with testing demo units etc.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-22-2024, 06:46 AM
legacygt777 legacygt777 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 133
Default Re: Mbox Studio Playback WAV

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
Right, yes sorry you gave easily enough info to know it's not the playback software. And so still this makes no sense.

I'm not saying it's not happening but I cannot make sense of any way this could happen. Again especially if you are using the same software outputs then you get the same monitoring signal treatment (and I know yes you have turned them off). As far as I know there is no per-app monitor control settings/per-app monitor profiles that could be causing stuff here (I'm thinking of things that might be there in Mbox Control and not properly be turned off even if they say they are).

Things like bouncing to a PCM/WAV file, at the same sample rate as sessions etc. might be worth doing in other cases but here you know the output to the other interfaces with these WAV files do not suffer from problems.

I'd just be returning it if possible, the problem can remain a mystery.

If you purchased this retail can you ask the seller to let you do a test with your unit and a demo unit in the store? Just use their computer if possible. Somebody else on DUC had a really weird interface problem (not an Mbox Studio) and I was really impressed how much their retailer tried to help them out with testing demo units etc.


"Right, yes sorry you gave easily enough info to know it's not the playback software. And so still this makes no sense."

It doesn't make sense.

"I'm not saying it's not happening but I cannot make sense of any way this could happen. Again especially if you are using the same software outputs then you get the same monitoring signal treatment (and I know yes you have turned them off). As far as I know there is no per-app monitor control settings/per-app monitor profiles that could be causing stuff here (I'm thinking of things that might be there in Mbox Control and not properly be turned off even if they say they are)."

I have manipulated, factory reset, and gone through the manual extensively with the Mbox Control. I also have wiped out Mbox software and reinstalled.







"I'd just be returning it if possible, the problem can remain a mystery."

Here's the situation. I bought a an Mbox Studio last month and I was having these issues. I decided to buy a new one just to make sure the open boxed one was not the issue. And I am having the audio issues.

I went ahead an installed the drivers and software on a sperate machine (my laptop) with Win 10. And the same WAV files are playing back fine.

So there is an issue with my new PC and possibly Win 11. However, my new PC is doing fine with the Eleven Rack (minus the editor) and Mbox 3 Mini.




"If you purchased this retail can you ask the seller to let you do a test with your unit and a demo unit in the store? Just use their computer if possible. Somebody else on DUC had a really weird interface problem (not an Mbox Studio) and I was really impressed how much their retailer tried to help them out with testing demo units etc"

I'm going to call Avid tomorrow since my Mbox Studio is under warranty.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-25-2024, 06:39 PM
legacygt777 legacygt777 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 133
Default Re: Mbox Studio Playback WAV

I called avid customer support and they talked to me and took my information and never called me back.

Really sad. I've owned every Mbox generation and am a current pro tools subscriber.

This is the first time I've had terrible service from Avid.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT Studio 2023.6 starts up with different playback engines bobbriessinck Pro Tools 0 06-29-2023 04:12 AM
Desktop PCs w/ Win11 for Pro Tools Studio/MBOX Studio forumuseraccount1234 Pro Tools 0 04-01-2023 05:18 PM
MTRX Studio+DVS playback engine talkbacksound Pro Tools | MTRX & MTRX Studio 1 03-06-2022 05:06 AM
Blu Ray playback calibration in studio subwoof Post - Surround - Video 1 07-26-2013 03:35 PM
PAL Firewire Video Playback in an NTSC Studio _ ! How ? TommyT Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 02-04-2010 07:35 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:47 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com