Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > ICON & C|24

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-09-2003, 02:57 AM
Armando Armando is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Parrish, FL USA
Posts: 992
Default ethernet cable length

I'm moving my G4 MDD into a "machine room". How long can the CAT5 cable be?
__________________
Armando
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-09-2003, 12:14 PM
Mario C Mario C is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Salt Lake City
Posts: 325
Default Re: ethernet cable length

I don't know real specs, but we're running cat5 anywhere from 50-100 ft between hubs in our facility.
__________________
Mario C
Metcom Studios
www.metcomstudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-09-2003, 04:41 PM
Armando Armando is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Parrish, FL USA
Posts: 992
Default Re: ethernet cable length

Thanks!
__________________
Armando
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-10-2003, 01:22 AM
m a r k m a r k is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 28
Default Re: ethernet cable length

Unless there is something special about C|24 and cable lengths, keep it under 300 feet and you should be fine...standard ethernet/cat5 spec is 100 meters or about 328 feet. If you don't know how to make a cross-over cable, check this URL :

http://tinyurl.com/7au2

Hope that helps-
m a r k
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cat 5e 350mHz or better ethernet cable? Kristo Kotkas VENUE Live Sound Systems 5 10-02-2013 11:16 AM
DSL phone cable run OR Ethernet cable run stormmusic Post - Surround - Video 9 12-12-2011 10:26 AM
PC ethernet cable length nymo ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 3 01-03-2009 11:15 PM
Where do you connect the Ethernet cable if the DSL Imagine ICON & C|24 1 04-18-2004 12:26 PM
Footswitcing C24 and Ethernet cable fid ICON & C|24 5 09-11-2002 09:16 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:37 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com