Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-25-2022, 05:03 PM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,510
Default You Know You Own Too Many Plugins When....

...you take advantage of a Black Friday deal and buy one you already own. And that's all I'm going to say about that!


Now it's your turn...You Know You Own Too Many Plugins when....
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC


Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-25-2022, 06:28 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 4,903
Default Re: You Know You Own Too Many Plugins When....

…when you discover a plugin that you didn't even know you had. I found today that I actually bought Waves CLA Epic some time ago, and I haven't even tested it out.
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac Mini M1, 16GB RAM. 512GBinternal(3000MB/s),2TB(1300MB/s),2TB(350MB/s)
MacOS 11.6.8. PT 2020.12.1 (2022.12 beta for testing)
Topping D50 DAC, Dynaudio BM6p, 2 x Artist Mix, SSL UC1, EuControl on iPad.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-25-2022, 09:16 PM
itsjustmeee123 itsjustmeee123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: california
Posts: 173
Default Re: You Know You Own Too Many Plugins When....

You realize that almost every bundle you’ve bought over the years comes with sort of compressor or EQ and then you look at your plugin list by type and don’t recognize (or have even used) half of them.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-25-2022, 10:00 PM
audiolex1 audiolex1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2021
Location: Studio City
Posts: 246
Default Re: You Know You Own Too Many Plugins When....

Quote:
Originally Posted by DonaldM View Post
...you take advantage of a Black Friday deal and buy one you already own. And that's all I'm going to say about that!


Now it's your turn...You Know You Own Too Many Plugins when....
That and you have no more room for licenses on the iLok 2 and need to upgrade to the iLok 3 to install and use plugins you opened once and never used it again.
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1. 3.46 12 core, 128 gigs ram, 580 GPU flashed Apple EMI
PT Ult 2021.12, OSX 10.14.6, 3 card PCI-e expansion with 3.2 USB Sonnet card.
OCTO 8 card, Apollo 8 Quad, UAD quad satellite FW.
Almost every plugin
PT Ultimate 2021.12
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-25-2022, 11:33 PM
::F-L-E-X::'s Avatar
::F-L-E-X:: ::F-L-E-X:: is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: UK
Posts: 125
Default Re: You Know You Own Too Many Plugins When....

... when you get RSI from scrolling plugin lists trying to find the plugin you can't remember the name of.

On a serious note, since plugins are virtually worthless on the 2nd hand market, I'd love to donate all my surplus plugins to a charitable or educational organisation. I think every plugin dev should offer this option - without fees or penalties... wishful thinking perhaps!
__________________
www.fluidity-studios.net
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-26-2022, 04:09 AM
thin ice thin ice is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Berkshire
Posts: 899
Default Re: You Know You Own Too Many Plugins When....

I spent some time moving a list of plugins to the unused folder and it is a much nicer experience when mixing now. You can always bring them out again, if you load an old mix that needs one.
__________________
Mac Mini M1 16 GB
OS 12.6.2
PT 2022.10

Mac Pro Quad Core
OS 10.8
PT9HD
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-26-2022, 07:47 AM
::F-L-E-X::'s Avatar
::F-L-E-X:: ::F-L-E-X:: is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: UK
Posts: 125
Default Re: You Know You Own Too Many Plugins When....

Me too... although every time I do an update they're all added back...

My new mantra is to only buy individual plugins that are actually useful - the bundle model is seriously outdated, & only adds to the plethora of useless plugins. I don't know many people who go out & buy a bundle of hardware... so why do the same for software? The scattergun approach of trying to have a plugin for every scenario simply doesn't work - the only winners are the plugin devs.
__________________
www.fluidity-studios.net
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-26-2022, 09:20 AM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,966
Default Re: You Know You Own Too Many Plugins When....

Quote:
Originally Posted by ::F-L-E-X:: View Post
... when you get RSI from scrolling plugin lists trying to find the plugin you can't remember the name of.

On a serious note, since plugins are virtually worthless on the 2nd hand market, I'd love to donate all my surplus plugins to a charitable or educational organisation. I think every plugin dev should offer this option - without fees or penalties... wishful thinking perhaps!
Yeah, it kinda sucks today that you can't even give away plugins without paying a transfer fee. And worse, often times the transfer fee costs MORE than the plugin/bundle since everything is always on sale these days
__________________
Brian

Windows 11 Pro | macOS 12
Pro Tools 2022
benonistudio.com
Youtube Channel - benonistudio
Plugin Deals
@benonistudio
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-26-2022, 11:32 PM
Bob L's Avatar
Bob L Bob L is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 587
Default Re: You Know You Own Too Many Plugins When....

I've bought duplicate plugins. Twice. I've paid the transfer fees to move them to my pals, so scored some "friend points".

I bought Waves Studio Classics Collection because it was cheaper than WUPing them. I had sworn many times that I wouldn't buy their SSL E & G strips, but guess what I own now?

While checking the installs, I found that I had a bunch of Ren plugs that I didn't know I had. Tried some, pretty good on the surface.

My iLok 2 isn't close to full and I don't have scrolling RSI yet, so that's good....

My name is Bob and I'm a plugaholic.
The first step on the road to recovery???
Nah.
__________________
Bob
Without a song
The day would never end
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-27-2022, 11:04 AM
cwsand's Avatar
cwsand cwsand is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 3,819
Default Re: You Know You Own Too Many Plugins When....

Quote:
Originally Posted by thin ice View Post
I spent some time moving a list of plugins to the unused folder and it is a much nicer experience when mixing now. You can always bring them out again, if you load an old mix that needs one.
Exactly what I did!
__________________
Help Us Help You

Chris
__________________________________________________
Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56
FocusritePro 40 (2)
TCE Studio Konnekt 48
Rascal Audio Tonebuss 24
Slate Digital VRS8

Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3P
i7 6700K 4.1 GHz
32GB DDR4
macOS 10.15.7
UAD-2 Octo Core PCIe
Pro Tools Ultimate 2022.12
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ProTools hang when opening plugins or closing plugins KelbyVP Pro Tools 2020 0 01-13-2021 11:45 PM
Ilok only enables Avid plugins, third party plugins no not get activated!?*SOLVED* Kristo Kotkas AAX Plug-ins 6 04-22-2020 02:19 PM
Copy/paste plugins settings doesn't work on certain plugins yazoo Post - Surround - Video 0 08-04-2014 05:46 PM
FS : Plugins alliance, avid, flux, waves plugins, blastwave sound library Roll Buy & Sell 5 03-11-2013 07:20 AM
PLUGINS problem - paid for factory plugins, DON"T WORK!! rhinostylee 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 07-28-2007 11:59 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:48 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com