Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-22-2015, 11:30 AM
LOFC LOFC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 2
Default Yosemite updated now Pro Tools won't open 96 kHz files

I just updated to Yosemite 10.5.5 and am now getting this error message when I try to open the Pro Tools files I've been working on:

'The current playback engine does not support a sample rate of 96 kHz.'

I'm using the Focusrite Saffire Pro 40. I've updated the drivers for the interface with the Saffire Mix Control. I'm on Pro Tools 11.3.1.

I can't do anything and Mac told me to wait for AVID updates because its a new Yosemite update, am I stuck?! Or am I simples and missing something real easy.

Thanks in advance for any help.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-22-2015, 11:42 AM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 38,538
Default Re: Yosemite updated now Pro Tools won't open 96 kHz files

Lesson #1, never update anything in the middle of a project Lesson #2, ALWAYS have a backup plan(drive imaging, drive cloning, etc). Since you are now committed, I would uninstall and re-install Pro Tools(if you can). And, ma7ybe review the settings in the Focusrite Mix Control Hopefully, a Mac wizard can offer better insight.

Last resort; create a new blank session at 48K and import/convert session data from the 96K session
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-22-2015, 11:43 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,735
Default Re: Yosemite updated now Pro Tools won't open 96 kHz files

Isn't yosem 10.10.5?

Anyway

Hold down the N key on splash.....see if that helps
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-22-2015, 03:24 PM
Michael Carnes's Avatar
Michael Carnes Michael Carnes is offline
Development Partner
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Salt Lake Valley
Posts: 249
Default Re: Yosemite updated now Pro Tools won't open 96 kHz files

Quote:
Originally Posted by LOFC View Post
'The current playback engine does not support a sample rate of 96 kHz.'
I wouldn't be surprised if your playback engine reverted to AirPlay or the internal speakers. Take a look at that setting and I'll bet you find your problem.

I'm on fully up-to-date Yosemite and I work in PT at 96K and 192K without any problems. That's on both a Trashcan and Macbook Pro.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-22-2015, 06:30 PM
gives's Avatar
gives gives is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,594
Default Re: Yosemite updated now Pro Tools won't open 96 kHz files

Quote:
Originally Posted by LOFC View Post
I just updated to Yosemite 10.5.5 and am now getting this error message when I try to open the Pro Tools files I've been working on:

'The current playback engine does not support a sample rate of 96 kHz.'

I'm using the Focusrite Saffire Pro 40. I've updated the drivers for the interface with the Saffire Mix Control. I'm on Pro Tools 11.3.1.

I can't do anything and Mac told me to wait for AVID updates because its a new Yosemite update, am I stuck?! Or am I simples and missing something real easy.

Thanks in advance for any help.
10.10.5 is a mess. I am glad I did not update to it.. I did on my laptop that runs 11.3.1, but got some audio clicks going now with that.. Other than that it seems fine, but WILL NOT run PT 12.1 or 12 that I am aware of due to some license ilok issues. That was announced about a week or so ago. I would revert back to 10.10.4 an you should be fine from a BU clone you may have.
G
__________________
Composer/Sound Designer/Protools 2022.10 Ultimate, Avid MTRX. DADMAN MOM Monitoring, KLANG:quelle 4 Channel Dante™ Network Headphone Amp, DVS,MADI, Mac Studio Ultra, 128 RAM/4TB SSD, Monterey 12.6.2, Digital Perf 11.2.1, Logic Pro X 10.7.6 DOLBY ATMOS Facility/MPSE Motion Picture Sound Editors Avid Certified Professional ProTools/Dolby ATMOS
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-23-2015, 02:20 AM
V5V's Avatar
V5V V5V is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 543
Default Re: Yosemite updated now Pro Tools won't open 96 kHz files

Quote:
Originally Posted by gives View Post
10.10.5 is a mess. I am glad I did not update to it.. I did on my laptop that runs 11.3.1, but got some audio clicks going now with that.. Other than that it seems fine, but WILL NOT run PT 12.1 or 12 that I am aware of due to some license ilok issues. That was announced about a week or so ago. I would revert back to 10.10.4 an you should be fine from a BU clone you may have.
G
Are you sure about that? I thought that Pace was having trouble with the beta of El Capitan, not Yosemite. I don't recall seeing anything about iLok problems with 10.10.5.

Of course, I could be wrong. It's been known to happen from time to all the time.
__________________
Lorin Schultz
V5V Audio
Vancouver, BC Canada
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-23-2015, 10:56 AM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 3,876
Default Re: Yosemite updated now Pro Tools won't open 96 kHz files

Quote:
Originally Posted by Exponential Audio View Post
I wouldn't be surprised if your playback engine reverted to AirPlay or the internal speakers. Take a look at that setting and I'll bet you find your problem.

I'm on fully up-to-date Yosemite and I work in PT at 96K and 192K without any problems. That's on both a Trashcan and Macbook Pro.
I was just about to post that very thing when I saw your response Michael. It has bitten me 3 or 4 times in the past and it was rarely obvious that AirPlay had become the engine. Flip it back to the appropriate hardware and life will be gravy again.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-23-2015, 10:59 AM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 3,876
Default Re: Yosemite updated now Pro Tools won't open 96 kHz files

Quote:
Originally Posted by gives View Post
10.10.5 is a mess.
I'm surprised to read that. Yosemite has experienced ongoing issues with WiFi since its very beginning, issues which were practically gone with 10.10.4, but they've returned again in 10.10.5. Other than that it's been rock solid.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-23-2015, 11:51 AM
zoff zoff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 215
Default Re: Yosemite updated now Pro Tools won't open 96 kHz files

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric Lambert View Post
I'm surprised to read that. Yosemite has experienced ongoing issues with WiFi since its very beginning, issues which were practically gone with 10.10.4, but they've returned again in 10.10.5. Other than that it's been rock solid.
FWIW I've been using Yosemite since the early dev betas and I've never had the WIFI issues.
__________________
macOS Monterey 12.6 Intel Core i9 MacBook Pro(16,1) 2019, 32 GB RAM Pro Tools Studio 2022.9, RME Babyface Pro
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-24-2015, 07:52 AM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 3,876
Default Re: Yosemite updated now Pro Tools won't open 96 kHz files

Quote:
Originally Posted by zoff View Post
FWIW I've been using Yosemite since the early dev betas and I've never had the WIFI issues.
Not everyone does but if you look at their update history you'll notice that nearly every update included WiFi-related fixes, and some updates dealt with nothing else. In my case, and with others I know, WiFi has been flaky, sometimes terribly so. 10.10.4 seemed fixed. After updating to .5 it's again flaky, though not as bad.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
upgrade to Yosemite now old sessions will not open keenonrush macOS 12 12-17-2014 06:06 PM
WAVES wlc.app Updated for Yosemite. mcoyle macOS 1 10-25-2014 09:37 AM
Updated Quicktime, Pro tools won't open!!! Mot2000x 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 10-24-2008 06:45 AM
Pro Tools won't open since I updated to 10.4.10 crash4 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 06-23-2007 01:06 AM
mac updated now pro tools wont open!! dmartin714 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 03-23-2007 05:31 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:00 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com