Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-21-2013, 10:44 AM
JGlen JGlen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Arnold, Ca.
Posts: 69
Default Virtual instruments not responding to keyboard

Good morning all!

I had Pro Tools 10 10.2.3 for a little over a week now (after using Sonar for the past several years). So far I've had great luck learning the Pro Tools way of doing things, except this;

I'm using an M-Audio Keyrig 49 USB midi keyboard to play the virtual instruments in Pro Tools. My first project, I just plugged-in the keyboard to an USB port, fired-up the computer, opened PT, inserted an Instrument Track (stereo) and like magic it worked as expected. This first project still works as expected.

However, starting a new project (without changing any set-ups) my keyboard will not trigger any sound from any virtual instrument. I can mouse-click on the VI virtual keyboard and the VI works as expected.

I've tried creating several new projects with no-joy. But, my original first project works just fine.

I've referenced the help file to no avail.

Anyone care to offer any solutions? Thanks!

Jay
__________________
ADK Quad Pro, Intel Core i7 3770 IVB 3.5 Ghz, Windows 7 64
Seagate 500G Sata 600 OS Drive, Seagate 1 TB Sata 600 Audio Drive, 8 gigs of ram, 700 watt Coolermaster Silent Pro power supply. Apollo Quad Interface, Burl B2 ADC, Dangerous D-Box, UAD 2 Duo, Avalon 737, UA 610 MK II, UA 1176 LN Hardware, Focal CMS 65 monitors, and a bunch of other stuff.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-21-2013, 11:32 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,735
Default Virtual instruments not responding to keyboard

So on ur new track setup a vI like the one u setup on the first session

Up near the top of the instrument track u will see the controller section - u can assign where the midi commands are coming from and which one are going to trigger the sounds on that specific track

Any questions look up the instrument track in the ref manual - especially if u can't see the instrument track controls
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-21-2013, 12:25 PM
JGlen JGlen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Arnold, Ca.
Posts: 69
Default Re: Virtual instruments not responding to keyboard

Thank you YYR123 for your response.

I'm not sure what was going on, but, after trying again all seems to be working as expected now.

In the I/O section of the Instrument Track the only options given are;

Interface, Bus, and plug-ins.

I do have the Keyrig 49 selected under Set-up/midi/input devices.

However, even with the I/O on the Instrument Track set to "no input" all is working fine.

I assume I do not need to select an input in the Track I/O because I'm using a USB midi channel and not a standard midi connection thru my RME Fireface 400 interface. M-Audio Keyrig 49 is a plug & play device so maybe that is why it does not show-up in the track I/O.

Hopefully, it will keep working. Thanks so much!
__________________
ADK Quad Pro, Intel Core i7 3770 IVB 3.5 Ghz, Windows 7 64
Seagate 500G Sata 600 OS Drive, Seagate 1 TB Sata 600 Audio Drive, 8 gigs of ram, 700 watt Coolermaster Silent Pro power supply. Apollo Quad Interface, Burl B2 ADC, Dangerous D-Box, UAD 2 Duo, Avalon 737, UA 610 MK II, UA 1176 LN Hardware, Focal CMS 65 monitors, and a bunch of other stuff.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Keyboard control of Virtual Instruments Terry Wetzel Windows 17 05-22-2013 06:57 AM
USB Keyboard not responding mirovaz macOS 4 01-21-2013 07:36 AM
How to control Virtual Instruments via external Midi-Keyboard? Sonic-B Virtual Instruments 5 05-23-2011 03:36 AM
Not responding to midi keyboard ggrill macOS 2 01-20-2011 02:48 PM
Using Virtual Instruments without Midi Keyboard hendrixrocker2 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 09-13-2010 04:08 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:59 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com