Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-07-2011, 10:44 AM
stormmusic stormmusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Brooklyn, USA
Posts: 377
Default DSL phone cable run OR Ethernet cable run

slightly off topic post BUT anyone have advice/knowledge as to which would carry signal better?

Studio is downstairs and DSL modem is upstairs. My choices are run a phone line downstairs and move modem OR leave everything upstairs and run a long ethernet cable down.

Thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-07-2011, 11:06 AM
C C is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: LA, CA, USA
Posts: 926
Default Re: DSL phone cable run OR Ethernet cable run

Assuming the rules are the same in the US as they are in the UK. DSL loses signal the longer the cable run particularly after leaving the 'main' socket.

While the same is true of ethernet the effect is much less pronounced over a shortish run. From memory deterioration begins after 500ft for ethernet and about 50ft for DSL. It's been a long time since I've had to know the actual figures though so may be wrong.

Ceri
__________________
--
Ceri Thomas
Personal Site
Mix Tech/Assistant Sound Editor
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-07-2011, 02:06 PM
Audio_Vision Audio_Vision is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Posts: 318
Default Re: DSL phone cable run OR Ethernet cable run

What C said. About 100 meters is the limit per segment for 100Base-T or 1000Base-T.
__________________

Digital Media Engineer
Discovery Communications
http://corporate.discovery.com/
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-07-2011, 02:56 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: DSL phone cable run OR Ethernet cable run

a long pice for Cat5e or better (as in 6, 6A or, 7 each progressively more expensive) will be fine to run down stairs
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-07-2011, 03:27 PM
Postman Postman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: where land meets sky
Posts: 2,375
Default Re: DSL phone cable run OR Ethernet cable run

DSL can run something like 6000 feet between repeaters on utility poles. That's how they can run DSL lines in rural areas. Once it gets into your house it will be more limited but I would think it could go downstairs without any problem.

But, a qualtiy Cat 5e (or better) will probably be more versatile in your place, like if you were to use satellite links between floors. Run a spare line or two while you're doing it, maybe even consider a fibre line.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-08-2011, 07:42 AM
inf0l inf0l is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 23
Default Re: DSL phone cable run OR Ethernet cable run

Go for ethernet!

For DSL, longer distance from repeater equals a reduction in speed, and a DSL cable is more easily affected by outside interference than an ethernet cable.
I would suggest connecting your DSL line to a gigabit router and run Cat6 cables to your studio.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-08-2011, 10:22 PM
stormmusic stormmusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Brooklyn, USA
Posts: 377
Default Re: DSL phone cable run OR Ethernet cable run

thanks people!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-10-2011, 02:39 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: DSL phone cable run OR Ethernet cable run

if you havent gotten your parts yet:
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...A1VMQDY5N961JZ
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-10-2011, 09:05 PM
Postman Postman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: where land meets sky
Posts: 2,375
Default Re: DSL phone cable run OR Ethernet cable run

Yeah, that'll make a great stock stuffer! (the ad copy asks "Ordering for Christmas?")

If you want to be legal, though, this isn't the right stuff to just string around. It is not plenum rated. Friggin fire codes.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-12-2011, 10:26 AM
tom_lowe tom_lowe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,082
Default Re: DSL phone cable run OR Ethernet cable run

Quote:
Originally Posted by Postman View Post
Yeah, that'll make a great stock stuffer! (the ad copy asks "Ordering for Christmas?")

If you want to be legal, though, this isn't the right stuff to just string around. It is not plenum rated. Friggin fire codes.
You can get CAT5/e and CAT6 cable which has RJ11 connections instead of RJ45, so you can run longer lengths from the microfilter to where you place the modem, then run ethernet from there. I run a 20M cable with no significant loss of connection speed.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cat 5e 350mHz or better ethernet cable? Kristo Kotkas VENUE Live Sound Systems 5 10-02-2013 11:16 AM
PC ethernet cable length nymo ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 3 01-03-2009 11:15 PM
Where do you connect the Ethernet cable if the DSL Imagine ICON & C|24 1 04-18-2004 12:26 PM
ethernet cable length Armando ICON & C|24 3 06-10-2003 01:22 AM
Footswitcing C24 and Ethernet cable fid ICON & C|24 5 09-11-2002 09:16 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:15 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com