Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-22-2011, 05:01 PM
stvbn@yahoo.com stvbn@yahoo.com is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 107
Default New to PTHD2 system; best advice to get most out of system

I have just made the jump to an HD2 system (from a 002/PT9 system -five year user) and would like to hear from those who could offer their best advice for getting the most out of the HD system. I have 192 I/O with the system.

I would be most interested in plugin advice/usage Rtas/tdm, any other advice on mix engine usage, and track count "voices." Main use of system is music/ multitrack mixing (up to 50 tracks some stereo), not recording.

thanks in advance ,

-SteveB.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-22-2011, 06:11 PM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,612
Default Re: New to PTHD2 system; best advice to get most out of system

Just start using it til something doesn't work and then get back to us!!!
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-22-2011, 06:53 PM
drumster drumster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 463
Default Re: New to PTHD2 system; best advice to get most out of system

Congrats on the new system! You'll find it quite a step above the 002 with PT9. The first thing to be aware of is that voices are handled much differently in HD than they are in native. With an HD 2 system, you probably won't have enough processing to run all TDM plugins so I'd recommend running RTAS plugins on all individual channels and using TDM on Auxes to save on voices. If you do choose to use TDM plugins on individual channels just make sure they come after any RTAS plugins.

One of the biggest benefits of TDM is the ability to use TDM only plugins, so if you don't already have them, I'd recommend getting HEAT, Dave Hill's RA plugin, and the Eventide Anthology II Bundle. Also, if you use Waves plugins now is a good time to crossgrade to TDM for 50% off. The Studio Classic Collection and CLA Classic Compressors are great having in both formats.
__________________
Lynx Hilo Thunderbolt
2013 Retina Macbook Pro 2.7 16 GB of RAM
PTHD 11.3.1 OSX 10.10.1
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-23-2011, 09:33 AM
stvbn@yahoo.com stvbn@yahoo.com is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 107
Default Re: New to PTHD2 system; best advice to get most out of system

Drumster,

Thanks for the input, may I ask why tdms should follow rtas in processing?

]-SteveB.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-23-2011, 02:32 PM
drumster drumster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 463
Default Re: New to PTHD2 system; best advice to get most out of system

The reason for putting TDM plugins after RTAS is to conserve the number of voices going in and out of the TDM mixer. It's when you start mixing TDM then RTAS, then back to TDM ect. that you start burning extra voices.
__________________
Lynx Hilo Thunderbolt
2013 Retina Macbook Pro 2.7 16 GB of RAM
PTHD 11.3.1 OSX 10.10.1
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-23-2011, 09:24 PM
Barry Johns Barry Johns is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 3,565
Default Re: New to PTHD2 system; best advice to get most out of system

Forget TDM plugs for the most part, only use TDM if you feel compelled to track through the plug.
__________________
HD Native Pcie, PTHD 11, PT12 Vanilla, Omni, Lynx Aurora 16, 192 I/O (16 in/8 out), 24 Fader D-Command, lots of preamps and compressors.

MacPro 5.1 (12) Core (2009 MacPro 8 Core Upgraded to a 12 Core MacPro), 56 Gig Ram, SSD System & 3 - 2TB Drives, OSX 10.9.5, Windows 10 Via Bootcamp
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-24-2011, 07:49 AM
kopper kopper is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: North Canton, OH USA
Posts: 77
Default Re: New to PTHD2 system; best advice to get most out of system

Then why bother having HD and TDM?
We only use RTAS when needed, such as when there isn't a TDM version.

kopper
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-24-2011, 09:18 AM
Dizzi45Z Dizzi45Z is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UT, United States
Posts: 1,939
Default Re: New to PTHD2 system; best advice to get most out of system

There are times in mixing large projects that I am very grateful to have my HD resources to take some of the load off the computer. It may not seem like a lot with an HD2 system, but it can be helpful in keeping you from having to increase your buffer size to a high amount.
__________________
recording.guru : FREE Pro Tools Tips and 19 Video Basic Training Course
Pro Tools HDX 2022.12
Mac Pro 7,1 3.2 GHz 16-Core Xeon W
160 GB RAM
macOS 11.6.0
Noisebox Studios -Utah Recording Studio
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-24-2011, 07:23 PM
Barry Johns Barry Johns is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 3,565
Default Re: New to PTHD2 system; best advice to get most out of system

Quote:
Originally Posted by kopper View Post
Then why bother having HD and TDM?
We only use RTAS when needed, such as when there isn't a TDM version.

kopper
If you don't already know the answer to that, you probably don't own an HD rig right now.

Note my signature, and I use 95% RTAS plugs.
__________________
HD Native Pcie, PTHD 11, PT12 Vanilla, Omni, Lynx Aurora 16, 192 I/O (16 in/8 out), 24 Fader D-Command, lots of preamps and compressors.

MacPro 5.1 (12) Core (2009 MacPro 8 Core Upgraded to a 12 Core MacPro), 56 Gig Ram, SSD System & 3 - 2TB Drives, OSX 10.9.5, Windows 10 Via Bootcamp
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-24-2011, 08:56 PM
drumster drumster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 463
Default Re: New to PTHD2 system; best advice to get most out of system

Quote:
Originally Posted by kopper View Post
Then why bother having HD and TDM?
We only use RTAS when needed, such as when there isn't a TDM version.

kopper
You must be running much higher than an HD2 then because 2 cards won't get you very far running exclusively TDM plugins. Like Barry, I run alot of RTAS plugins but mostly on individual channels. I save the TDM plugins for tracking as well as for using them on Aux sends and Masters during mixing. Even still though, there are certain native plugins that I have to use on Auxes because there are no TDM versions available i.e. Lexicon PCM Native Reverb.

On a seperate note, I just finished mixing a track recorded at a sample rate of 88.2, and I must say that if that happened more often I'd definitely want an HD3. My HD2 get eaten up twice as quick at that rate, even when using RTAS plugins because of the delay compensation engine. I've considered picking up another accel card, but the going rate of $1500 or more for a used PCIe Accel card is just too overpriced right now.
__________________
Lynx Hilo Thunderbolt
2013 Retina Macbook Pro 2.7 16 GB of RAM
PTHD 11.3.1 OSX 10.10.1
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
advice - which system do I get? gregfrey 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 10-13-2010 10:30 AM
System Advice Please Joel Newport Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 09-01-2006 07:58 PM
Registration of new pthd2 system only by fax/mail quark Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 11-10-2004 07:39 PM
Advice on my system C 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 12-27-2002 01:56 AM
System Help & Advice babbee 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 09-25-2002 01:29 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:52 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com