Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-12-2009, 02:00 PM
DJ BurninLz DJ BurninLz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3
Default PLEASE HELP! Just upgraded to Pro Tools 8, AUDIO DRIVER PROBLEM

Well i had Pro Tools 7 installed on my PC when it had Xp, and i recently upgraded it to Vista so i had to upgrade to Pro Tools 8 as well..

Im hooked up through my Mbox 2

Now everythings installed and everything, and i can hear audio from my monitors out of just pro tools, but the Digidesign audio driver isnt installed on my computer for sum reason? I cant select it in the Audio Output Drivers menu because its just not there.

So if i say click on a song to open in windows media player it says:

Quote:
Windows Media Player cannot play the file because there is a problem with your sound device. There might not be a sound device installed on your computer, it might be in use by another program, or it might not be functioning properly.
Can anybody please help? it would be greatly appreciated

Email: LLoydBanks023@yahoo.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-12-2009, 02:06 PM
JMS40 JMS40 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Gnashville
Posts: 6,347
Default Re: PLEASE HELP! Just upgraded to Pro Tools 8, AUDIO DRIVER PROBLEM

There is no Wave driver for Vista yet. Only ASIO.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-12-2009, 02:07 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,523
Default Re: PLEASE HELP! Just upgraded to Pro Tools 8, AUDIO DRIVER PROBLEM

The Wave driver is for XP only. What was your reason for moving to Vista? XP is better suited for PT. The Wave driver is just one of the reasons.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2022 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-12-2009, 02:18 PM
DJ BurninLz DJ BurninLz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3
Default Re: PLEASE HELP! Just upgraded to Pro Tools 8, AUDIO DRIVER PROBLEM

Quote:
Originally Posted by JMS40 View Post
There is no Wave driver for Vista yet. Only ASIO.
thanks for the help guys

yet? meaning its in the works?


and where does that leave me? So pretty much ill have to wait till it comes out to have ne other sound except for outta pro tools?

and i switched becuz my comp wuz full of spyware and what not and I have vista on my laptop so i figured it switch it since i like it alot
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-12-2009, 02:22 PM
JMS40 JMS40 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Gnashville
Posts: 6,347
Default Re: PLEASE HELP! Just upgraded to Pro Tools 8, AUDIO DRIVER PROBLEM

Yes, Digi has stated here a rewrite of the Wave driver is in the works.
If you have an onboard soundcard, you can keep it assigned to system sounds. Many of us here do that anyway... even with XP.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-12-2009, 05:45 PM
DJ BurninLz DJ BurninLz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3
Default Re: PLEASE HELP! Just upgraded to Pro Tools 8, AUDIO DRIVER PROBLEM

Quote:
Originally Posted by JMS40 View Post
Yes, Digi has stated here a rewrite of the Wave driver is in the works.
If you have an onboard soundcard, you can keep it assigned to system sounds. Many of us here do that anyway... even with XP.
alright thanks man
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-12-2009, 09:09 PM
T-Diddy T-Diddy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 37
Default Re: PLEASE HELP! Just upgraded to Pro Tools 8, AUDIO DRIVER PROBLEM

How does one set a soundcard to be assigned to system sounds?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-12-2009, 09:13 PM
JMS40 JMS40 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Gnashville
Posts: 6,347
Default Re: PLEASE HELP! Just upgraded to Pro Tools 8, AUDIO DRIVER PROBLEM

Vista Sound Properties.
Set the onboard soundcard as default Windows device.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-04-2009, 09:39 AM
Hyphen Hyphen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1
Default Re: PLEASE HELP! Just upgraded to Pro Tools 8, AUDIO DRIVER PROBLEM

Hello all, I am having the same issue as well, my case being that my operating system is Windows XP and not Vista. I previously had Pro Tools 7.3.1 which worked fine but after upgrading to PT 8, there is no audio in any program or windows for matter, the only exception being Pro Tools itself. I've also tried going into the control panel and the digidesign driver is no longer available in hardware drop down list. It's not a major problem, since I am able to use pro tools without any issues, its more a matter of convenience since I can't listen to anything outside of PT 8. Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-04-2009, 10:31 AM
jmitchell1532 jmitchell1532 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 764
Default Re: PLEASE HELP! Just upgraded to Pro Tools 8, AUDIO DRIVER PROBLEM

Are you trying to listen to non-PT sounds through your digi hardware?
__________________
Jon

HP Pavilion P6000, AMD Athlon II X2 240 (2.8GHz), FOXCONN 2AB1 MoBo, 16GB DDR3, NVIDIA GeForce 8400GS, Two WD Caviar Black Internal500 gig, One WD External 300 Gig, Windows 7 Ultimate 64-Bit, SD2, Metal Foundry, Focusrite Saffire 6, PT 9.03 (stable), Gibson Les Paul Studio (Drop D), Fender Tele (nashville tuning), hand built Carvin Bolt (finished!)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Audio Driver Problem on HP Laptop with Pro Tools 9 larsmeijer Windows 4 09-19-2011 03:26 PM
8.04 MBox 2 Audio Driver problem Qusic 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 07-10-2010 09:52 AM
Audio Driver problem adlib311 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 12-19-2009 01:36 PM
Audio or Driver problem? laboya 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 08-16-2006 08:36 PM
Upgraded to 10.3.7...Big audio problem!! Help!! Lofty11 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 12-19-2004 06:23 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:19 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com