Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-12-2008, 10:41 AM
postman56 postman56 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Canada
Posts: 416
Default System freezing "hanging" up all the time!

Hi guys, any help would really be appreciated.My system seems to freeze up
frequently when I go to change outputs,add buss, usually something on a track.
Mac Silver 867 with Newer Tech 2.0 upgrade processor
I'm running OS10.3.9
QT 6.4.4
Digi TDM Mix Plus 6.4.1
1.5 gig or memory
I've done the usual deleleting of DAE preferences,repair permissions,energy saver etc
Anything else I should look at doing, is it that 6.4.1 is a duck??
Thanks a bunch
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-12-2008, 11:04 PM
Scott Goldberg Scott Goldberg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: SF Bay Area USA
Posts: 1,066
Default Re: System freezing "hanging" up all the time!

I just posted this for someone else, try www.jcdeshaies.com. It's free and it's located at the top of this forum. It wil get rid of your top level databases, and many other things that might mess up your system. You might also check out "Super Duper" which clones your system drive and when you finish, it will automatically repair any permissions, and also do a smart backup which only allows the system drive to be added to, but only any new information that was needed that you may have picked up that day. It doesn't rewrite the whole drive and even better, if you clone an external drive like a firewire drive, you can ALWAYS keep working. LASTE, IT'S ONLY $30.
__________________
Scott Goldberg
Gold Recordings
http://www.goldrecordings.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-15-2008, 02:59 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,827
Default Re: System freezing "hanging" up all the time!

Quote:
Mac Silver 867 with Newer Tech 2.0 upgrade processor
You should be looking at that NewerTech - processor upgrades have been known to be problematic with Pro Tools.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT 10.3.4 hanging on "Save" bleen Pro Tools 10 5 04-21-2013 02:23 PM
PT 10 Hanging on "Initializing Machine Control" kbrewer macOS 1 11-23-2011 03:57 AM
Pro Tools MP 7.4.2 hanging on "Locaating Audio Files" paulmitch Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 5 12-14-2009 01:13 PM
Pro Tools 7.4.2 hanging on "locating audio files" thenewnoise Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 11 12-04-2009 07:25 AM
Session keeps freezing on opening when it is "Restoring Audio Engine Settings" bradykrzemien 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 11-18-2009 10:18 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:23 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com