Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-16-2006, 03:38 PM
JonnyGinese JonnyGinese is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 1,069
Default When do you NEED plugin delay compensation?

Hey guys,

I see all this talk about delay compensation stuff when I don't really notice any plugin delay(on most stuff)... When i put L3-Multimaximizer or L3-Ultimaximizer on i notice it becasue that delays the track liek 150ms. But besides taht i dont notice it. Guitar Rig, Amlitube, the new digirack stuff... I can't notice anything. Is all the delay compensation that you are talking about prettymuch only for the UAD core cards and synths?... I'm not saying that we don't need it or anything.. But I'm wondering when i should notice the delay you talk about.
__________________
-AIM: RS Recordings -Skype: RSRecords
| Pro Tools 8 Native | Windows 7 64-bit| Q6600 @ 3.0ghz | 8GBs RAM | Digi002r |
Studio Site: Red Sneaker Records
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-16-2006, 04:53 PM
dodo dodo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 658
Default Re: When do you NEED plugin delay compensation?

put enigma on a track insert.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-16-2006, 06:21 PM
JonnyGinese JonnyGinese is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 1,069
Default Re: When do you NEED plugin delay compensation?

hmm... ok... i see... But its only like that on the huge plugins right... Like the digi rack stuff doesn't have any latency the II or III series. does it?
__________________
-AIM: RS Recordings -Skype: RSRecords
| Pro Tools 8 Native | Windows 7 64-bit| Q6600 @ 3.0ghz | 8GBs RAM | Digi002r |
Studio Site: Red Sneaker Records
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-16-2006, 08:01 PM
will the moor will the moor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 724
Default Re: When do you NEED plugin delay compensation?

all plugins induce delay.

I think if the delay it creates is less than your current buffer length, PT will compensate for it - or it will compensate up to that amount for plugs with a longer delay. So if you're set at 512 and you have a plugin that induces a 125 sample delay, PT takes care of it. If you use a plugin that has 800 sample delay, the track will be 288 samples off (plug delay minus PT buffer length). Or something like that.

Hopefully some one will correct me if I'm wrong.

If you're not hearing a problem, I wouldn't worry about it.


Will
__________________
http://soundofthatday.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-16-2006, 10:17 PM
doylemusic doylemusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Omaha, Ne
Posts: 812
Default Re: When do you NEED plugin delay compensation?

Quote:
all plugins induce delay.

If you're not hearing a problem, I wouldn't worry about it.

Will
I agree, yuou may not use plugs that cause any issues for you. There are; however, several plugs that do induce latency. Check some Waves plugs (Line MB, Broadband EQ, etc)
__________________
PT Ultimate 2020.3.0
1 HDX Card
Lynx Aurora 16 (2)
Windows 10 Pro 1909
ASUS X-99 II
Intel i7
32GB RAM
Gigabyte GeForce GTX 1050 Ti 4GB
www.doylemusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-17-2006, 03:27 AM
cormacrestrike cormacrestrike is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2
Default Re: When do you NEED plugin delay compensation?

someone showed me this which made me think again about plugin latency.
Take a mono track of acoustic guitar and duplicate it. Keep both tracks at the same level and panned centrally. Put the digirack delay plugin on one of the tracks but set it so it isn't applying any delay but leave it so the audio is running through it. Hit the bypass and start playing the track. Take the plugin out of bypass and notice the difference.

Apparently all plugins introduce some amount of delay but in a mix it's not generally noticed.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-17-2006, 10:28 PM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,557
Default Re: When do you NEED plugin delay compensation?

Quote:
someone showed me this which made me think again about plugin latency.
Take a mono track of acoustic guitar and duplicate it. Keep both tracks at the same level and panned centrally. Put the digirack delay plugin on one of the tracks but set it so it isn't applying any delay but leave it so the audio is running through it. Hit the bypass and start playing the track. Take the plugin out of bypass and notice the difference.

Apparently all plugins introduce some amount of delay but in a mix it's not generally noticed.
What you're hearing in that case is a tone difference caused by the plug-in not a phase difference. Plug-ins that introduce delay will still have the same delay when bypassed. The Digi delays are fully compensated for.

If this wasnt the case, then the workaround for parallel processing drums wouldnt work at all. And I can assure you it does.

PT LE has PDC and it works on 'most' RTAS plugins. Outboard, 3rd party cards like the UAD-1 and Powercore do not get compensated.

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Plugin Delay Compensation kurt 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 34 12-21-2005 12:51 AM
Will PT7 LE have plugin delay compensation? Matiz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 09-17-2005 02:27 PM
plugin delay compensation? vieris Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 06-19-2005 04:25 AM
PlugIn and MIDI Delay Compensation - When ? Detlef Brockmann Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 11-25-2001 05:33 PM
plugin delay compensation liquid Digidesign Hardware & Software 0 08-13-2001 07:11 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:49 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com