Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-14-2005, 05:05 PM
JOHN9 JOHN9 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 4
Default Opening Mac audio files on my pro tools pc.

What is the most efficient way to open a mac (audio file) on my pc.when i try to open an aiff (from mac) it will not recognize it as a compatable format,everyone tells me its possible but i'm starting to wonder if that's because they're all on mac's,and it will mac to pc,but does not work for my pc pulling in mac stuff,i'was told thatversion 7 software will address this issue but again will that be for only people who have purchased vers. 7? thanks john.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-14-2005, 05:37 PM
s0nguy s0nguy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 718
Default Re: Opening Mac audio files on my pro tools pc.

If you are running v6.7 or higher PT will automatically convert the files for you. You must make sure of the following:

1. Get macDrive 6 or higher...
2. The volume your mac session is on must be copied to a PC hard drive that uses NTFS file system.
3. From inside ProTools, manually open the session file once you copy the mac session to your PC hard drive. It should ask you if you want to convert it to a PC session... click yes.

If you dont have at least PT v6.7 you're SOL..

I had this same problem a while back... do search for my user name..

-S0nguy
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-15-2005, 08:17 AM
steve at Your Heaven steve at Your Heaven is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 657
Default Re: Opening Mac audio files on my pro tools pc.

Separate issues:

1 - getting the files onto a disk that a pc will read. At this point, the easiest way is to just copy the files across a LAN, perhaps onto an external usb or firewire drive that is formatted as FAT32 or NTFS (if a Mac format, you will need the MacDrive or similar program as referred to above). If the files are small enough, you can also burn them to a pc readable format CD or DVD.

2 - If you want/need to convert files to wav format (Protools should work with AIFF files even on a PC), many programs will do this. Protools (even older versions) does it by using the Import Audio command, properly configured.

3 - If you have a complex Protools session that needs to be completely transferred, use 'Save Session Copy In' with the 'Enforce Mac/Pc Compatibility' and other parameters set as you desire. You still need to get this to a readable disk format (#1 above).
__________________
steve
Your Heaven
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Opening Logic files in Pro Tools mazerr 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 12-21-2008 03:37 PM
Opening Acid pro files in Pro Tools 7 canicypher 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 07-16-2006 01:46 PM
Opening Acid pro files in Pro Tools 7 canicypher 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 07-16-2006 01:46 PM
opening pt audio files in other apps? bH101 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 08-19-2004 10:28 AM
trouble opening session: can't locate audio files eddie v Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 10-31-2003 10:44 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:39 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com